We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, avoid the single rooms.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
berkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, avoid the single rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I picked this hotel purely on the reviews of TA. Although I can understand why it's scored so highly, my review is based on the single rooms we were given. Reception were very welcoming but the hotel is quite dated and located up quite a steep hill. The single rooms were very disappointing. Very narrow and small and very hot. The en suite although recently upgraded was tiny. However rooms were given fans to help with the heat and had wi-fi and a decent LCD TV with freeview. I did have a peak in some of the double rooms, some with balconies and these looked lovely and spacious.
The health spa was an added feature with a large indoor swimming pool, spa , steam, sauna and gym which was one of the hotels highs.
Breakfast was served on a very pretty patio with a buffet, although adequete was of average quality.
Because of the depressing rooms we decided to move to the bottom of the hill to the Hermitage which was 100% better. However I would recommend this hotel but avoid the single rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovestotravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Zippy

Thanks for the very generous review and for your overall comments about the hotel and its facilities. My apologies about your single room - the hotel is 1850 and 2 of these rooms are a tad smaller than the rest - but less expensive than the 4 star hotel you moved to!! We have already taken out two of these rooms to make into a rather sylish double bedroom and have plans for the remaining two smaller units - join us again and I will ensure you are well look after.

Best wishes and thank you again.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,789
    681
    173
    47
    25
See reviews for
380
1,489
125
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Best Western chain has an excellent reputation for good quality accommodation, and the Connaught in Bournemouth was no exception. In fact, I believe it stands out above it’s BW corporate partners in providing comfort and hospitality. We had a good sized room with a large bay window overlooking the terraced garden. The room was very tastefully decorated, with the high ceilings adding to a feeling of space and grandeur, and spotlessly clean on arrival. In common with most other UK hotels, AC is not supplied, and the rooms can get quite stuffy during unusually hot weather spells, but fans are supplied to lower the temperature. The additional leisure facilities below the hotel are first class, with a well equipped fitness suite, and a truly refreshing pool/Jacuzzi to unwind in after a busy day enjoying the local attractions. One thing to beware of when booking online, is to ensure the breakfast option has been included if required. Unless stated, the Best Available Rate does not include breakfast., and will cost an extra £9.99 per person should you decide to take it, although the manager kindly changed our second night rate to include the breakfast, for just an extra £1.00 per person. All in all, though, our stay was most enjoyable, and the Connaught is a quality hotel we would happily revisit.
.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 12 and 15 on the first floor have deep bay windows, enhancing the room size. Rooms direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
A "great all round review" LyeCon, thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Glad to read that you enjoyed the spa facilities.


Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked a short 4 day break with my boys 17 and 12 whose criteria was good size indoor pool and decent gym and they were not disappointed. Excellent facilities. As a regular traveller I have never stayed in a hotel- with any number of stars - which has such friendly staff and exceptional customer service.

Hotel is immaculate. I missed the luxury fixtures and fittings of a 4 and 5 star hotel but it is significantly above what you expect from a 3 star hotel. We had the Rose Suite which was a nice size for 3/4 but I missed having a bath.

Fantastic break and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Delighted to read that you and your boys had such a lovely time Sue - that you for your lovely review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

this was suppost to be a birthday prezy for the wife before she goes in to hospital. well it was not good. the room was not clean food under the bed and sperm on the bed cover. and this cost £330 for two nights,

Room Tip: if you want to be talked down to by the manager when you conplain then this is you place. and they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank painter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Painter

Having had a long meeting with you this morning about your visit I was somewhat surprised to read that the slipper under the bed was now food and the stain on the bed throw had now become sperm!! I fully accept and apologise that the Rose Suite had not been prepared properly when you arrived and both the general manager and the head housekeeper dealt with the problem immediately and, as I understood from you personally, to your satisfaction. I also apologised to you both regarding the attitude of the general manager but I do think, as we discussed, that this was an unfortunate misunderstanding between you and there was most assuredly no deliberate intention on his part to “talk down” to anyone.

Best wishes and my apologies once more.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Wow, I was told about the resturant in this 'slightly dated' hotel and on arrival thought I had perhaps been sold a dummy. How wrong I was, fantastic food with exemplary service. Probably one of the best restaurants in the area and definately one of the best kept secrets. It was doubly nice to eat 'alfresco' on such a balmy evening. All four of us who attended were delighted by the food and service and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iron0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
And we can't wait for you to return too Iron, thank you so much for your charming review - everyone in the restaurant was so delighted. When the weather is right the garden is such a beautiful setting to enjoy great food and wine.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

For a short-ish break in Bournemouth, this hotel is a really good option. It's reasonably priced for what it offers and it has a friendly feel. The level of service from all the staff we encountered was quite exceptional, significantly above what you would expect from a 3-star hotel. They really seem to enjoy having guests to stay! (Sounds daft, but there are plenty of hotels you can't say that about....)

Our room was a little bit 'compact', and we had a double rather than a king-size bed, which was a shame. But it was comfortable enough and seemed well sound-proofed. A minor problem we had with the plug in the bathroom was dealt with quickly and efficiently.

The hotel has very attractive patio areas at the front and the back which are very pleasant places to enjoy breakfast or a coffee when the sun comes out! (as it finally did when we were there...)

The gym / pool / sauna area on the basement is of very high quality with plenty of equipment and space for the significant number of people using the facilities. The public areas looked attractive and welcoming, although a little short on space (so not an ideal hotel for a family with small children). But the breakfasts were really good (and again, excellent service), and the bar food (which we tried one night) was also reasonably priced and good quality. (The hotel also has a very highly-regarded restaurant, which we didn't try).

It's only a few minutes walk to the beach and the centre of town is very close by as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check when you book if the room has a double or king-sized bed - there seem to be a mixture of both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
A "top class"" 5 Star, comprehensive review Chris, thank you very much from all of us here and yes, we love doing what we do and doing it well!! I'm glad the sun finally made it and it looks as though it is here to stay.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We booked a five night break at the Connaught Hotel for our 40th Anniversary.
Upon arrival we found the staff to be extremly polite and helpful.
We were shown to our room and were extremely pleased, and very grateful, for the helium balloon,chocolates and anniversary card awaiting our arrival, conpliments of the hotel. On our first evening we dined in the hotel restaurant and the food was absolutely first class,as were the breakfasts every morning during our stay.We would definitely recommend anyone to stay at the Connaught Hotel, and we will definitely be visiting again.Thank you to all the staff for making our anniversary and our holiday that extra bit special!!
John & Shirley

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear John and Shirley

It was truly our pleasure to make your day a special one and a 40th wedding anniversary is most certainly special!! Thank you for your lovely review and also for the spelndid review you posted on Trip Advisor for Blakes Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing