We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bournemouth
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,760)
Filter reviews
1,761 results
Traveler rating
638
537
299
161
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
638
537
299
161
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view outdoor pool lovely hotel east cliff travelzoo deal restaurant manager large room evening meal reception staff sea front leisure facilities town centre two night stay public areas short break buffet style car parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,761 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a business meeting and this Hotel did not disappoint. The fish and chips we ordered were delicious.

Great sea view with brilliant service and food. It’s a great place to start as I’ve seen the accommodation

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank stevenmaoudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Come back from a family weekend slightly disappointed quite honestly. This probably wasn't worth a 3 Star.

Less staff, less food, no response to emails, no electric car charging (had to spend an hour offsite with a fast charger) and generally looking tired all round now.

Breakfast has been cut back so much now it's pretty poor, with a 'health spa' onsite and even requested skimmed milk was told 'no we have semi-skimmed' fairly bluntly! The coffee machine wasn't the easiest to use and overfilled overtime with boiling water, fruit was poor too.

On the plus side had a sea view room which was excellent, well appointed but very poor shower.

Dinner was an issue in a freezing room which had to be switched for the party, and a shame rather than massive issue there was no car charging points in their massive car park for guests to recharge easily.

The gym is reasonably well equipped with free weights but anyone used to electronic workout will be disappointed.

Overall pretty average, made good by the excellent company........

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MrMagoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Carlton hotel was booked as a surprise wkend get away for our 20th Wedding Anniversary, we arrived on the Fri 17th Jan, the staff were very welcoming on arrival, check in was quick & easy we booked a table too with the receptionist for that evening to ete in the fredericks restauran.
Onto the food review, I had the garlic mushrooms for starters & they were good, for our mains we opted to pay the £5 supplement each & ordered steak for main course which was ok as we were hungry but unfortunately it was over cooked for the size of steak that it was and i was surprised that it did not come with any kind of veg!! Only sides you got was a mushroom & half grilled tomato to go with the steak & chips, If I knew this and there was an option to purchase extras I would have ordered some veg to go with it, on the plus side the cocktails were good
Onto our hotel room, we had a room on the ground foor which was very spacious, the bathroom was a really good size too with a separate bath & shower, the bed was super comfy,we had a really good night's sleep,
Breakfast was good, plenty of variety to choose from & help yourself.
The staff really are lovely here, we would definitely stay again.
I hope my review was helpful.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank angelinawhitlock78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very nice, slightly faded old hotel ideally situated for the main Bournemouth beaches and shops. Wide corridors and comfortable rooms made it a great choice and much better than modern chain hotels. Our stay was made all the more enjoyable by the staff who to a person were excellent.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank StephenR35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another fantastic stay at the Carlton. Laid around the pool in the sunshine. Lovely bar with great views. Room was excellent with a sea view and the staff left a birthday card and chocolates for my wife’s birthday. Fantastic gesture.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews