We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Money Well Spent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Money Well Spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked this hotel for a special occasssion - we could only afford one night ( not that it was over priced) and wished we could have stayed there all week. We went to the Odeon cinema which was only about 15 minutes walk away and watched Les Miserables on it's second night.

Our room was really outstanding - it was huge with nice clean furnishings and a well proportioned bathroom. There was a lovely sea view looking out of the massive bay window and the memorial to the Red Arrow pilot Flt Lt Jon Egging. The weather was cold and wet but the room was really cosy and warm.

Check in/out times were good and we were told we could arrive much earlier on the day and still used the facilities until our room was ready. Breakfast consisted of a large choice with good table service by the staff. All hotel staff ( reception, room maids and the lady hoovering the hallway ) were very polite and helpful. There was a party on when we were their but once upstairs we'd never know - perhaps the hotel has a policy of grouping party guests near to and directly above their own party rooms to minimise noise to other guests ?

There were some complimentary bottled waters and sweets in the room as well as the usual tea, coffee and biscuits. The hot chocolate was particularly tasty.

Will definately be booking another stay here.

(I've rated the spa as average as I didn't go to see it.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    315
    191
    101
    83
See reviews for
240
429
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Room ok, next to beach, staffs friendly, can have breakfast with the view of sea from window. will come again if with business. Not sure about the rate tho. 10min walk from town centre. 3 courses dinner is fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent New Year 2012/13 at the Menzies Carlton having selected it because it offered some extra activities.

Having previously advised the hotel that i required a gluten free diet, both at the time of booking and the day before arriving I was annoyed that having driven for about 5 hours to get there on arriving I ordered a sandwich in the bar and was told they did not have gluten free bread! Having suggested they go and get some it was found. The supply and availability of the gluten free bread became a bit of a saga throughout the stay but it actually became a bit of a game.

The hotel is in an excellent position, the rooms were absolutely spotless and kept so by a very hard working staff.

If you want an excellent massage at a very reasonable cost go and see Amy in the Spa. Superb service and a lovely person. The hot tub was fine but the swimming pool having recently been refilled was a bit too cold for me, but over younger souls seemed to be enjoying it.


I would imagine that no matter what language you spoke somebody at the hotel would speak it and if the hotel had a problem this was it. Everybody was charming and fell over themselves to be helpful but in some cases their enthusiasm wasn't quite matched by their understanding of English expressions. Us foreigners from East Anglia talk funny!

So you had one member of staff telling a quest something and another member of staff telling another guest something completely different, even if it was the same question. But I consider this a fault of the management not briefing staff properly. Nothing major, but once again it became humorous.

The food in the restaurant was very good overall but i have to agree with other reviews that breakfast was not good enough for a hotel of this standard. You never knew what was going to be available, it wasn't a question I believe of giving different options each day, rather the ordering was not up to scratch.

Hot food should be hot, not tepid and as I pointed out to I assume the restaurant manager if i can handle the food at the bottom of the bain-marie (I had put it on my plate first) then the unit was not up to temperature. They are electric ones so they hadn't run out of chaffing fuel, but something was wrong. One day their was fresh fruit, the next day there wasn't.

In fairness they did offer to cook fresh for us from the kitchen but that shouldn't be necessary.

The entertainments, bingo, casino night, quiz, race night etc. were all well run with some excellent prizes but unfortunately poorly attended. That was not the hotels fault. When three people won the prize of a free night at the hotel in the bingo there was not a draw for a winner, no they got two more vouchers so each got the prize. It is gestures like that that impress me.

The bottom line is that we liked it enough to immediately book and pay for a weeks stay in May before we left and to put our names down to go back next New Year.

If you want to have a nice stay at a hotel that still has individual character, where staff really seem pleased that you are there, where everything is kept clean and tidy, then I thoroughly recommend this hotel. But go with a sense of humour!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view with balcony - bit cold in winter but we think in May it will be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlutenFreeLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I reviewed this hotel in 2009 and was not complimentary about the room,the bar area or the breakfast. I have recently returned and I must say I was very impressed with what I found. My room was very comfortable,well appointed and up to date. The bar was buzzing the night I was there and the buffet breakfast excellent. Staff were courteous and helpful and the hotel a delight!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popesterNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed as a family for 1 night. Great location on seafront and not too far from town. We found the hotel staff exceptionally helpful, friendly and professional. They made us feel very welcome with our young family. At first they couldn't locate our booking, and offered us tea in the lounge while they sorted it out. It didn't take long to sort and we were soon in our room. It was a huge room with a sea view - plenty of space for the children as well. There was a cot for our baby but no bed for our 3 year old. We queried with reception but they sorted immediately. Within 5 minutes the housekeeping set up a fold away bed with perfectly folded sheets! Room very clean as was hotel. Loads of towels and pristine sheets on the beds. Hotel very traditional in decor but very nice and charming. We had breakfast which offered plenty of choice and was very nice. Again staff very efficient and polite which makes all the difference.
The only issues we had were: freezing cold water in indoor pool. I took our daughter here a couple of years ago and we used the pool then and it was very cold. It is still freezing for some reason so isn't ideal for younger children. The other issue are lots of steps! The bedroom we had was up a flight of stairs with no lift access. Also steps at front and rear entrances. Not ideal for prams!
We enjoyed our stay though and would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband, our gran-daughter and myself stayed 4th-6th january 2013. Great room 223, huge bed, little bed for our gran-daughter. Large bathroom and great tea & coffee facilities. We ate in the restaurant for our first night 7.00pm was the first available time the 2nd night we had room service which was well presented and good value for children £8.50 for 3 courses. Free parking but we were on a quiet weekend when we stay again we will have to book a parking bay. The restaurant is firs class all staff in black and white, white linen tablecloths etc. Lots of toiletries attention to detail. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast faultless. The only complaint was the indoor pool could have been warmer, please note pool manager. Just noted the jacket and tie rule. Normally my husband always wears jacket etc. but so many hotels do not bother anymore but if this is the case then when booking this needs to be made clear.
But 10/10 Carlton

Room Tip: If you want a view then ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Middleton70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here in June and also December. We chose the hotel originally because they do except well behaved dogs.
So the family (2 Adults, 2 Teenage Sons) plus the family Weimaraner (Max) went for our second stay of 2012 and were again very happy with the facilities provided. This time we had the dinner on one night included in the price at their Fredericks restaurant and have to say the food and service was very good.
Breakfast here was another reason why we came back a second time and this again didn't let us down, just what you need to last the whole day till dinner time, skipping lunch.
The hotel bar prices are quite high, but you tend to find that at most hotels.
The spa facility is very tired, but are very happy with the hotel overall and will be going back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing