We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place to have a office christmas party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb place to have a office christmas party”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our office party was held here twice. The dinner was good and plenty of it. The drinks were really cheap as the company was paying for it. The bed was comfortable as I crashed right out drunk. I am sure I saw Wayne Sleepe chatting up some girl just before a few of us knocked over the Christmas tree which we dancing around. He was tiny.
The staff brought out the most fantastic round of club sandwiches and crisps. We put them on the Sales Directors tab as he was crashed out on the chair next to us. We took a photo of him holding a sandwich with a couple of crisps on his chest in case he quiered the bill. He didn't thankfully.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petergeddes138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    336
    199
    101
    86
See reviews for
254
462
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's been 12 months since we visited the Carlton Menzies Hotel on Meyrick Road Bournemouth.

We were please to find,but not suprised,that the food in the restaurant in the evening is as good as ever.

In fact we would say that the food has evolved over the past year and the standard is even higher than before.

It has been our experience that the restaurant's attached to hotels in large hotel chains leave a lot to be desired.Not so with the Carlton Menzies.

Great credit should be given to the head chef Richard Allsopp for the maintaining and improving his excellent standard.

We recommend visiting this hotel simply to eat in the restaurant in the evening.It is that good

Walker October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

In lots of ways there were many plus points but there were niggling things that let it down. For example, we arrived early and our room was available to check into which was handy after our journey which was a good point – however the room keys did not work and we had to go back to reception 3 times before gaining access to the room which was the bad point. In the end the receptionist came with us to open the door – I suspect she through we were doing something wrong but she also had the same problem. There was a fault with the lock and it was reported to maintenance. She made it sound like maintenance would come and resolve straight away - we only stayed one night and the issue was not resolved. It did not make to a good start. Every time we returned to our room you had to try the key an average of 20 before you could get into the room. – this was very frustrating to say the least and did affect our enjoyment.

The car park is small and was full and when I returned to reception to ask if we could leave our car at the front of the hotel we were told you could park in the garage in the car park. It would have made much more sense to advice you of this when you check-in as there are no sign in the car park saying you can park in the garage. The garage looks like it belong to someone else.

The room was a lovely size; the bed was nice and well dressed, however, the headboard was for a much larger bed or different arrangement and therefore looked a bit out of place. The curtain tie back holders had been removed so you were left with raw plugs showing. There were free bottles of water in the room, but no fridge, so they were not and could not be chilled. It looked like there may have been a fridge at one point in the desk, but not now. The desk/dressing table was too close to the wall so you could not reach the electrical socket behind it to plug in the kettle or hairdryer without moving it from the wall. The kettle and hairdryer was good quality. The range of refreshments were what you would expect. There was plenty of wardrobe space and nice timber hangers.

The bathroom was massive, with plenty of room and looked like it had recently been painted and had a nice new floor. On the face of it it looked nice, but when you looked at it again it was still shabby in places. The bath panel did not fit properly; there were gaps where the side and end panels met. The quality of painting on timber surfaces was poor and the sealant between the floor and the skirting board was poor. Standard of cleaning could have been higher; there was mould in the shower, thick green and white limescale over the bidet taps, and dust on the sealant around the hand basin tilling. The shower had good pressure, temp was easily controllable with good supply of hot water, however I (being a female) needed both hands to switch off the shower (it was very stiff). My husband also agreed it was quite difficult. Bathrobes were nice.

Breakfast was good, and a wide range of food was available – something for everyone. However they only filled up the cooked food when a tray had run out – it was a busy time on a Sunday morning so demand was high.

Excellent location – very close to the beach (which is glorious) and in easy walking distance to the town centre.

Bit of a shame, with a little bit of effort and attention the room could be greatly improved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Surrey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here Sat 13th October, a family party was being held in the hotel.
We booked two rooms, one for my husband and I, one for my 19 & 15 year old daughters. When booking, I requested the rooms close to one another.

On check in we were given rooms one floor apart - the hotel receptionist very unapologetic - 'we are fully booked' She would've have been - as well as our party of approx 70 guests - also staying at the hotel, there was also a wedding going on.

The rooms were very spacious but unfortunately very dark. There were only side lamps available, no ceiling lights at all.

The bathroom in our room (Room no 125) was again spacious but quite grim - peeling paint, giving an unloved look. In our daughters' room - their bath water was green.... Room 227, they were given use of another (single room) to have a shower in.

Room service - it took me 25 minutes for someone to answer the phone, in the end I rang from my mobile so they would not be able to see which room was calling. I had tried Reception, Room Service & Housekeeping. Eventually Reception answered.

The food was good for our party in the evening, no complaints about that, the same however, cannot be said for breakfast. It was self service - again no problem, except what little was left was cold, so by the time you sat down at your table, it was barely edible.

We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

bristol
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We set off full of excitement and expectation for a lovely night in a sea view hotel in Bournemouth. A package deal of junior sea view suite, afternoon tea on arrival, a bit of a splash in the pool & spa followed by a wander round the sea front, three course dinner lovely nights sleep breakfast then home. What could be finer?

Well....plus points are that it is by the sea,the walk on the sea front was great, the room with the sea view was lovely and the staff very pleasant & accommodating. Sadly that is the best we can say. We promise we are not picky petty people but we do like nice food and facilities when paying £140 a night which we don't think is unreasonable.

Firstly the pool and spa facilities - my hear sank. The indoor pool had tiles missing off the bottom of the pool which could be quite painful if you caught your toe, ripped wallpaper along the sides of the complex, piles of sand and grit accumulating in the corner of the pool, freezing cold jacuzzi which no one could use and a general feeling of being unloved and poorly maintained. The outdoor pool was a total eyesore. It had bits of furniture in 1/4 full dirty grimy water and made a very sad view from the balcony. A real shame as both could be stunningly beautiful.

Onto the food. We recognize hotels have to make a profit on the deals they do but my goodness, whoever calculated the price per head for this place must have been taught by Ebeneezer Scrooge. Afternoon tea was a tiny pot of breakfast jam and what appeared to be a small swirl of watery squirty cream on a tiny dish and a couple of scones. My experience of hotel afternoon tea is a double tier presentation plate with finger sandwiches on one level, dainty cakes and scones on the top level and clotted cream. Afternoon tea is NOT this, which amusingly had been dusted with icing sugar to make it look better!!! We asked for real cream as is traditional for a Dorset cream tea but no, this hotel didn't do cream...?

The evening meal. In fairness, wonderful attentive staff, candlelit tables so we were ready to enjoy.. out came the first course of lobster and crab bisque. Sadly very gritty and bland - the guys on Masterchef would have gone nuts! My other half opted for main course of Dover sole. Being a big bloke of 6ft 4 and 17 stone, his face was a picture as they grandly presented a gigantic plate which swamped a small golf ball pile of lettuce leaves, SIX chips, a thimble of hollandaise sauce and a slice of lemon. I thought he was going to cry!

I had an anorexic salmon the size of half a postcard, lettuce leaves and the requisite six chips. I'm all for presentation and fine dining but this was neither and we looked at each other mournfully wishing we'd gone for the better deal in North Wales. By now we were feeling a bit sorry for ourselves but perked up when we saw Sticky Toffee pudding on the dessert menu, yee ha all was not lost! Sadly , the toffee sauce was so badly burnt the pudding was bitter and inedible so we left it and went to bed feeling really disappointed and debated ordering in a pizza!! The waiter asked if all was well. Because the staff were so lovely and didn't seem to speak English too well, we didn't want to make a scene and ruin our own evening further - in hindsight we should have complained but you do need the energy for that and we were exhausted. Hotel management please note - we have had far superior food in foreign all inclusive resorts where we have paid the same amount f money for a WEEK not a night, this was truly awful.

Off we went to sleep hungry followed by an unwelcome early knock on the door by the maid before 9am which then cheesed us off even more as we had wanted a good rest but there we go - should have put the do not disturb on, didn't so lesson learned.

Breakfast was pleasant but even if it had been outstanding it was too late, our minds were totally made up. This place could be something really really special but it fails on so many levels. We wont be returning and we write this with a heavy heart because we desperately wanted it to be a wonderful experience :(

Room Tip: 116 is the suite which overlooks the sea and the pool and has a 180 degree view. may be better in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carrotcrunchers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Pleasantly surprised on arrival. Receptionist excellent..friendly and polite and very efficient. Room was spotless, well decorated and had everything you required. Only moan would be that shower was not very powerful. Excellent sea view. Reception rooms, bar area and dining room all very clean, well decorated and furnished. All staff were friendly and helpful. We frequented the bar and restaurant. Food was excellent with a good choice. Amply parking and within east reach of the town centre. Would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy-derbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a magical day at our son's wedding in this hotel, all our guests were treated like royalty by the duty manager Byron & his hard working team. They ensured everything went to plan nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellant & the dining room over looking the bay was really elegant, the only problem there was we asked for all our guests to be seated together, unfortunately we were spread all around the dining room.This did not distract from the excellant breakfast on offer.We enjoyed a spa before breakfast.All our guests who stayed at the hotel had nothing but praise for the hotel. Many thanks & hopefully we will stay again soon.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms our guests stayed in were of a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing