We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, would recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice stay, would recommend.”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Went with my partner and stayed for 3 nights, we did pay for the luxury room and we got Le Breton suite. It was exactly like you see in the pics, nice big room, big comfortable bed, nice big jacuzzi. Altho we did think there was a problem with the jacuzzi, which there wasnt we just didnt fill it up enough. Breakfast was great, good service, good choice in menu. If your walkin to the town its about 20min walk to pier, we went to a nice chinese restaurant called Ocean Palace i think it was called, if your going to go there maybe share starters and rices as they do massive portions. Also a nice italian place called Mille, you would need to drive or get a taxi, it doesnt look much from the outside but its really nice inside and food it great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    195
    51
    21
    29
See reviews for
79
641
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coalville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Its 16 years since we first discovered Langtry, I had looked for something special for our silver anniversary, and we were not disapointed, the whole holiday was a unforgetable experience. The friendly welome, the caring staff,great food and great service only complemented this unique historical place. We have visited Langtry many times since enjoying theexperience of trying different rooms, but the service and welcome never change and we are welcomed back as friends.
My holiday at Langtry always leaves me refreshed and relaxed. I tell my friends when questioned " we're going to our little bolt hole, no not Bournemouth, we're going to Langtry. An unforgetable hotel and holiday experience, don't change anything.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Langtry Manor trades heavily on its history, which is interesting and the building is worth a look for that alone, but I wouldn't return. My room was a small, low-ceilinged modern addition to the over-the-road gloomy, dingy, grubby Langtry Lodge; a building reminiscent in feel of a student lodging house rather than a pricy hotel. Comfortable but crammed, the bedroom - like the rest of the whole establishment including the ample common parts - was over-fussy and chintzy with a bathroom dominated by a huge and pointless Jacuzzi, which don't think of using as it take 5-10 minutes - I kid you not - for any hot water to reach this room. The outlook was a grim drive and a shared student house. No wonder there was a robust blind. Breakfast was excellent, though the male (owner?) in charge shouldn't stand there watching guests eat with a stern expression; all a bit Fawlty-esque, a refrain that kept recurring to me at this family-run place, though service was never, in fact, less than prompt and pleasant. It's not a bad place but one for the elder generation perhaps and if you stay, stay in the main house.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. As the hotel were unable to provide us with our first choice bedroom, we received a phone call to say so and an offer of an alternative accommodation. However, upon arrival we were offered the chance to have the Le Breton Suite which we happily accepted! What a treat! We would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely and quiet hotel. For the record, the breakfasts were superb!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layminister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We appeared to get a better rate having DB&B rather than just B&B which made the rate comparable with the bigger hotels in Bournemouth.
The dinner on each night was excellent, choosing from a large menu.
It is very quiet after dinner and every other guest seems to disappear after dinner about 10.15pm but it was warm so we sat outside.
We took the 2 dogs and was put in a large room at the lodge where any barking would cause minimum trouble to other guests. It was ideal.
Would certainly consider going again when I am in Bournemouth again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Growler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had high expectations of Langtry Manor Hotel and went there as a real treat. Given the price of the room (£190 for one night in the Le Breton suite), we wouldn't usually have chosen to stay here. We found the hotel to be very nice, but not worth the money by any means. The room wasn't as large as the photos on their website suggest, the DVD player in the room didn't work and the jacuzzi had only one setting, which was uncomfortably powerful. That said, the staff were lovely and the breakfast was great. To be as luxurious as it says it is, the hotel needs to pay more attention to detail. If not, they need to lower their prices substantially!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanmore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The main hotel, Langtry Manor, was the lovenest of Lillie Langtry and king Edward VII. The family that own the hotel are very nice, welcoming and helpful, but have capitalised on this fact in the prices charged. The hotel is split into 2, you have the manor itself, where most of the rooms are very pretty with a romantice feel. Then there is the lodge, which is an annex to the hotel just over the road from the main building. The Lodge is not of the same standard as the manor, and most of the rooms there struggle to reach 2 star standard. So if you are going to stay at this hotel make sure you stay in the manor!
The food is beautifully presented, but does not contain much of the important main element, for example one evening i ordered lamb and received 2 small bite size pieces on a bed of vegatables, but it did look nice. Another evening I ordered roast squid on a tomato salad with butternut sauce. Again it looked beautiful, but i couldn't find the squid!
The Edwardian banquet though, held on a Saturday night, was different class and was amazing, worth going there just for this!
The price we paid for 1 week (2 adults, 2 children aged 5 & 8) was £1,420 but we had to argue to get that. The gross price was £1,800. We could have stayed at the Elstead hotel, which is also a 3 star hotel for half that price in a nicer room. I would point out that Langtry manor is a 3 star hotel and not 4 according to google.
The hotel is not suitable for young children.
I would recommend it in certain circumstances, i.e. for a romantic break as long as you insist on staying in the Manor and then only in certain rooms (avoid the Disraeli suite), and if you are prepared to pay a high price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matteo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Property: Langtry Manor Hotel
Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing