We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Brilliant Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langtry Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Took family to this hotel last wekend to celebrate a family birthday and could not have received better service, all of the staff were amazingly helpful with everything we needed being dealt with speedily. We enjoyed two dinners at the hotel , the banquet on Saturday was great fun with excellent food and the a la carte menu the following evening was full of interesting choices, the wine list is a bit of a disapointment but we managed to select a couple of excellent French wines to accompany the food. The Hotel is a listed building with lots of charisma and a very interesting Royal related scandal history - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lodge are excellent - ask for the Four Poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jim M,

Thank you so much for taking the trouble of posting such a nice review and for choosing our hotel for your family celebration. We do love to spoil our guests and particularly appreciate customers feedback. Which allows us to improve and also let our staff know that their efforts are appreciated.

It is especially rewarding to know that you appreciated our Saturday Edwardian Banquet. Which enable us to show some of the rich history of this house. I personally agree with your thoughts about the wine list and find that our selection of good French wines could be more developed. Thank you for pointing this out, and inspiring me to improve it by adding some of my favourites.

Please note that return guests receiev a 10% reduction on best available prices when booking directly with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    158
    44
    19
    27
See reviews for
66
539
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Never having written a review before, I feel compelled to write about our recent stay at The Langtry Manor. We were an unusual mix - my 85 year old disabled mother, 2 middle aged women (my sister and myself), my nine year old daughter and our 2 small dogs, across 3 rooms! The staff were exceptional - nothing was too much trouble - and so helpful and friendly. The food, both breakfasts and evening meals, were beyond excellent. My mother was enabled to feel both independent and special, and the stay seems to have given her a whole new lease of life. The pretty garden is the most relaxing spot to while away an afternoon/evening, and the beach a mere 5 minute walk away. I cannot wait to bring my husband here and to return as soon as possible. A big 'thank you' to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others but none should disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza28th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Eliza28th.

First of all please let me thank you for going to all the trouble needed to post a first review. I do remember your stay warmly and the staff were delighted to see your family and the dogs. We do love to spoil our guests and especially appreciate your feedback. If I may say so you were all charming and a pleasure to serve. So thank you for choosing the Langtry for your stay.

We will be delighted to see you again soon with your husband. I would like to remind you that we give a 10% reduction compared to the best available rates to return guests when you book directly with us.

Meanwhile I would like to wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westleton,Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved the hotel and setting but very disappointed because we had not been told that the Edwardian evening would not be taking despite having an e.mail confirming it. The staff were brilliant and gave us free champagne and wine but they are still advertising it on their website. Overall the hotel was lovely although somewhat difficult in room as no appropriate power point to use hair straighteners, hand and knees using a compact mirror!!!! wardrobe very small but overall nice. Breakfast lovely and good value for mney.

Room Tip: Maybe better in the annexe, possibly more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basild0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We did not stay overnight as my husband was given an e-present of a tea for two for his birthday.. We arrived to be greeted by a very nice young man who was impeccably dressed in uniform, and most respectful in manor. The afternoon tea was presented as one would expect of Lily Langtry's day. The room we were in was very comfortable (only downside for my husband was the sofa was a little too low). There was no scrimping on the food, and more than enough for most people. We left there having so enjoyed our afternoon tea for two. Thank you.

Room Tip: The history of the manor was so interesting. Fabulous place I should think for a wedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

From the moment I walked into the building I felt welcome, the staff where polite and had knowledge of the building was amazing. Think the guy on reception was Ben. Very helpful. My room was clean tidy. The restaurant offers a delicious menu. Would recommend to friends, family and clients.
Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingrichards5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights mid June for a weekend. I'd booked a four-poster room but on arrival we had been upgraded to a luxury suite, the Goodwood. This had a spacious bedroom with a four-poster bed, a large bathroom with spa bath and roomy shower cubicle. Also a sitting room and another small en suite up a few stairs in the attic space. Roomy and comfortably furnished. Both the bedroom and lounge had flat screen televisions too. There was also tea and coffee, minibar, robes, slippers and complimentary chocolates.
We booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis which proved go be excellent value. Dinner on Friday was superb but the Edwardian banquet on Saturday was very special indeed. Both breakfasts were excellent too. Service was exemplary.
Staff are very polite and attentive. We'll definitely return.
Thanks for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the Langtry for originally two nights but loved it so much we changed our trip and extended for another night.

We were originally going to stay in the lodge but changed to a room in the manor after being shown what rooms were available. The room in the lodge was bigger than the one in the manor but the manor room we chose (Le Breton) had a bigger bath, which was what we were after. Both rooms were beautiful. It clearly shows what the style of the rooms are on their website, if you're after a specific room then call the hotel to check it's available.

We ate in the restaurant for two nights and the food was absolutely delicious.
Breakfasts were also more than ample. A lovely continental buffet to choose from to start and several hot options to order.

Plenty of parking is available and the location for us was perfect. 5-10 min walk to the beach and the manor is just outside of the town centre so it was lovely and quiet but easy enough to get into town if you want.

The staff are amazing! Always able to help, very flexible and courteous. They are a real credit to this hotel and what makes it stand out from many other luxury/boutique places to stay.

Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 78 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Property: Langtry Manor Hotel
Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing