We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Langtry Manor Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Langtry Manor Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic meal at Langtry Manor Restaurant. Not the cheapest in town but food and service was impeccable. The next stop is to stay in the hotel. Pure luxury. Would recommend this place to anyone. We have been to Bournemouth a number of times but never found this place. Stumbled on it today by accident. I'm so glad we did. For anyone interested it is just off the Christchurch Road a short distance out of Bournemouth. The hotel is actually on Derby Road.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Lovely to read that you enjoyed your dining experience Keith. We are a little of the beaten track but that just adds to the charm of this historic manor. We look forward to the next time that you visit, hopefully as a hotel guest this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    189
    50
    21
    29
See reviews for
78
622
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The outside of the Langtry Manor Hotel looks great, their web site is impressive and the Tripadvisor reviews were very good - but....

Entering our room I had a sinking feeling, like I had been there before 20 years ago (possilby 30 years ago). The room had a cheap acrylic carpet and some ancient secondhand furniture.

The bed was soft and cheap.

The toilet flush didn't work and I had to take the top off the resviour and trigger the refill manually.

The radiator in the room didn't work.

In short, the room reminded me why I don't visit the UK seaside any-more. It was interesting only in so far as it shows how far our expectations have risen.

On the plus side, the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was acceptable (we went for the salmon option) and the public areas of the hotel were as nice as in the photos.

I had hoped to find a gem tucked away in Bournemouth but I guess the economics of running a hotel on the South Coast are just impossible.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any reason to hope that some rooms are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I was disappointed to read your comments, it does not appear that we were your cup of tea.
The Sarah Bernhardt is a lovey room overlooking the garden and includes some antique pieces it is true, the flush has been checked and a new part replaced. I wish you had mentioned at the time the issues that you had with the room as we could have offered you an alternative. We are glad that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team and if you change your mind we would love to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Do I need to say more? The jacuzzi in the room stopped working and what happened is that the moment i turn on the Jacuzzi, there was power failure in the whole hotel. And the hotel tried to blame it on me!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muralihere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Muralihere

Having read your review we are wondering if you have the correct hotel. Whilst it was nearly a year ago, we have no recollection of this event. Had you mentioned something at the time, we would of course made amends.

If this is the correct hotel, we would like to sincerely apologise for your experience. Please do call us so we can discuss it further.

Regards

Tara Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent venue for a relaxing Afternoon Tea in wonderful surroundings. Lovely gardens too if the weathers nice, Lots of yummy sandwiches, cakes, scones, mini chocolate éclair's and a few strawberries too. But best of all a good cup of tea. A really enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyLou1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi Lindy

Great to see that you enjoyed our delicious afternoon tea. It can be difficult to work here sometimes when you are surrounded by such tempting goodies. We think a great cup of tea is an essential element and good to see that you agree. We look forward to welcoming you back next time, who knows if the weather is sunny you might even be able to enjoy tea in the gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have been to two weddings and had cream tea at the Langtry Manor and I have seen a few of the rooms and they are awesome, the staff are friendly the cream tea was extra special and the service is fabulous , Would highly recommend this small intimate historical boutique hotel to anyone whether a romantic weekend away a wedding or just a lush cream tea.!

Room Tip: choose the library!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review Carlie. We think Langtry Manor is perfect for weddings and events too! So glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality on all these occasions, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

As a past overnight stayer (for my husbands birthday) we were delighted with every aspect of the hotel, restaurant and location. Afternoon teas were so lovely, they even cooked fresh scones (without fruit) especially for us - nothing to much trouble for any of the staff from Reception to Cleaning Staff - thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsjoannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your kind words Joanne. You'll have to come back for your birthday too so we can spoil you rotten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My son in his twenties, father and step mother in their seventies and my partner and I in our fifties all enjoyed our stay over the early May bank holiday weekend. The service was caring and efficient and we felt very well looked after. The lily displays aroudn the hotel are gorgeous. The Langtry, "love-nest" vibe is not over-played but adds a special atmosphere. We all adored the smoked and herb butter!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Delighted to read that you all enjoyed your stay at Langtry Manor. We do try and make our guests feel special and looked after. The smoked and herb butter is certainly scrummy but not kind to the waistline! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Manor soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Property: Langtry Manor Hotel
Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing