We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor very average food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langtry Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked a family meal here for my partners daughters 21st birthday.
The interior of the hotel was really very pleasant and grand.

We were very much looking forward to our meal which was hugely disappointing. I ordered scallops with a £4 supplement, what arrived were 2 scallops and two small fish cakes that tasted of very little, I had lamb shank for my main which again was average really nothing special at all.

We enjoy eating out often as it is one of our pleasures in life.
My opinion is that the very average food is very reliant upon the grand decor of the hotel. I believe if you are going to charge good money for food then the least
that can be done is to make it a pleasure to taste.

We would not return I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Galleywench100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 936 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Langtry lodge which is situated across the road from the manor. We were really impressed with the size and decoration of the room. We had a four poster bed which was really comfortable, there was also robes, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge and a large flat screen tv in our room. We were impressed with the breakfast as there was a good choice from both the cold buffet and cooked food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just spent 2 nights here on kgb deal and overall was disapppointed.

Check in - Reasonable, had to speak to Manager to resolve room problem.

Room - Offered a small double, which was acceptable although small, but the ensuite shower room was unacceptable, it was the smallest I've ever seen. Sink was about the size of A4 paper and the whole room was about the size of 2 double wardrobes on a good day.

Restaurant – Efficient pleasant staff. Food good, but overstated.

Hotel general - Decor tired. Stayed in the annex, hot water takes at least 5 mins to become hot. Website pictures of rooms misleading rooms are very dark - photo's must have been taken with bright spot lights to make them look at their best.

Value for money - On a kgb deal this was good value, however if paying normal rates this would be a non starter as would be very overpriced

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polkadot51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Langtry Manor for one night, in the St Leger Room (situated in the annexe over the road from the main hotel) celebrating a special anniversary.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the food in particular was very good.
The room is a good size, and four poster bed was very comfortable. It was lovely and quiet which is very important to us. A small occasional table would have been handy but not a big issue. Being in the annexe is not so convenient when it is raining, but it is only a quick walk over to the main hotel. However, there is ample parking space outside both annexe and main hotel.
Welcome at Reception was very good and in fact we found all the staff we encountered to be very pleasant and helpful.
We enjoyed our Sunday evening dinner in the restaurant, taking advantage of the Anniversary Special Menu, which we thought was good value. A really nice touch was the complimentary special dessert with sparklers (we had been asked on booking if this was a special occasion and it was so thoughtful for it to be acknowledged like this).
Breakfast was lovely - I had the porridge which was scrummy, topped with brown sugar and served with cream. I had to leave some or I would not have had room for the cooked breakfast - and it was really good so did not want to miss it. We thought choice was excellent.
Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThelmaBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed with my wife and dog for one night. This was a real find as although it is a little way off the seafront, it is set in a quiet road and the hotel has ample parking. We stayed in the Lilly Langtry room with a four poster bed and jacuzzi bath in the room. I had a sense of stepping back in time, with many original features restored whilst the modern expectations such as flat screen tv, good quality condiments and bath robes make it perfect.
I did not use the restaurant for our evening meal, however the menu looked very tempting, and having enjoyed the full English breakfast, this clearly is a hotel that understands how to deliver great food.
The staff were all very helpful and welcoming, which made our short stay very relaxing.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank krmontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

stayed here for two nights,what a nice place to stay with a history lesson thrown in, staff very helpful, nothing to much trouble, only had breakfast here but no addaed extras even if you had smoked salmon,plenty of choice,food very goodwould stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happydazEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here mid-week using a KGB voucher. We stayed in the Jeanne Marie room which was pretty, clean and comfortable, but not cosy. There were no curtains on the windows, only shutters so a lot of light came in in the mornings. The bathroom was clean and served it's purpose although it was small. The breakfast was decent enough although we found the bread to be of a lower quality than we would purchase ourselves. The staff were ALL friendly, polite and helpful although I found the breakfast service a little slow but certainly bearable. The hotel itself is pretty, interesting and comfortable. I would certainly recommend staying here if anyone was going to be in Bournemouth although I'm not sure I would if they had to pay the full standard rate.

Room Tip: My guess is that we had the smallest room as we were using a discounted voucher deal. I would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal_22180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,041 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $96 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing