We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great rooms & great value”
Review of The Ashleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashleigh
Ranked #67 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Absalutly enjoyed our stay 100%!

The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean.

The staff were very helpful even when i did get a bit confused on numbers! It was set in a geat location with everything within walking distance and it was such great value for money!

I will continue to recommend Ashleigh Hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Bournmouth.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexinfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 148 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2009

I took a school group to Bournemouth; 33 students and 3 staff members. The hotel could not be better value for money. For the price of the stay i could not fault them. The rooms were clean and spacious and the beds very comfortable; excellent night's sleep was had. The food was of a good quality, especially breakfast. The one area that stood out was service; Julie and Ray could not do more to help. The staff were efficient and friendly and they treated the kids as paying guests, which is rare.

If looking for a budget option with good rooms and close to all the main attractions i thorougly recommend the Ashleigh hotel and neighbouring lodge

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMorganUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

After looking for a hotel in Bournemouth to stay with my girlfriend for 2 nights on a tight budget we came across all manner of horror stories in reviews and weren't happy about any of them. Then we came across the Ashleigh Hotel and all the reviews were positive, it looked great from the website and the price was a steal. The stay was great, even when we turned up early our room was cleaned first so that we could put our bags down and get some rest, the staff were really friendly and helpful. The room itself was really well cleaned and was thoroughly enjoyable to stay in also. The only real issue was its location within Bournemouth itself. It is a fairly long walk to both the beach and town centre so would probably not suit those people with mobility issues if they don't have a car. Apart from this though the stay was great and we will definately be coming again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crackers250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We have visited Bournemouth a couple of times per year over the last 4 years and stayed in Ashleigh Hotel.
The hotel has a very central location and has been upgrading the rooms over the time.
We have always found everything to meet our expectations in all aspects.
For future trips we will return to Ashleigh.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This was a great little find. The proprietor was very helpful, even calling after us to offer directions to the nearest beach and making up an extra bed for an additional guest at the last minute (for a reasonable extra charge). It was a lovely room, with trendy features, cosy feel and was clean. It would be a little clautrophic for long stay, but perfect for a weekend. Much better than chintzy b&bs! This was more of an upmarket b&b than a hotel. It was a lovely walk to the beach (about 10 mins) - clifftop walk and then descent to a beautiful quiet beach. Right by the train/bus station and a short walk into town, so perfectly located. The only down side was that the bar wasn't available when we returned around 10.30, but we will come back in high season I think.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcky027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

After viewing the photos online for this hotel we were very disappointed when we arrived. We had the superior room. Although the room was clean, it was very basic. The bathroom and shower very small. The carpet was very old and worn. The room had obviously been recently decorated so dont understand why the carpet had not been changed too. The door to the room had a large gap under it so while in your room you could hear everything that was going on in the stairwell, likewise I am sure anyone outside could hear everything we were saying in the room so not much privacy. The breakfast was nice and you could help yourself so you could have exactly what you wanted, but the quality of the food was not that great, the sausages tasted cheap. We paid £70 for the night and we feel that it was well over priced. Overall, clean but very average, overpriced, more like a 2* B&B than a 3*hotel. I would not recommend nor would I stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessTattianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2009

Hello

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as you have stated the rooms have been upgraded, to a high standard, but we still have a way to go.

We are unaware of any very worn carpets, but admit that the carpets do not do justice to the new rooms.

I am going to lay new carpet but need to redecorate the hallways first.

The door has never been mentioned before, but is to the regulations for the fire officer, I shall ask him about this on his next visit.

I am not sure what you mean about basic, the room has a large flat screen TV DVD player radio wifi ironing center hair dryer alarm clock hospitality tray etc. I would welcome any advice on any extras you feel are needed.

The bathroom measures 7.6ft by 5.6ft.

The breakfast sausages are premium quality with the highest meat content you can buy, but we do have others if requested and the food is replenished regularly and the items used are all named brands ie Heinz.

You were charged a rate of £35.00 per person bed and breakfast Inc VAT for one night on a Saturday on the valentines weekend I feel this is a good rate.

If you would like to contact me, I shall offer you a discount on any further stay as a gesture of good will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#40 of 132 in Bournemouth
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelsea Hotel
Chelsea Hotel
#78 of 132 in Bournemouth
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#23 of 132 in Bournemouth
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amarillo
Amarillo
#27 of 132 in Bournemouth
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#103 of 132 in Bournemouth
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bonnington Beach Hotel
Bonnington Beach Hotel
#115 of 132 in Bournemouth
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashleigh

Address: 6 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $60 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashleigh 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashleigh is a family run . All rooms are en suite providing Free view TV with, hairdryers and hospitality tray. We also provide free computer access, and WiFi connection is available in all rooms. We believe we offer a high standard of accommodation and cleanliness.Free parking and lovely garden. Please holiday in relaxed and informal surroundings. You will find in each of our refurbished rooms a clean and contemporary look, that features calm and modern design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ashleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing