We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly priced, personally wouldn't stay again.”
Review of The Ashleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ashleigh
Ranked #62 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for one night, room plenty big enough for the 3 of us, travel cot provided which we didn't use as it was too small. Not hotels fault.
Room was lovely and clean, nothing seemed to be a problem when we asked the woman owner (not sure of name). we was allowed to have fish and chips in our room which was muchly appreciated, only thing we found wrong was we wasn't welcomed very well when we first arrived, the bloke (again no name) couldn't seem to be bothered. Breakfast was lovely and the woman who served was lovely and didn't mind doing something separate for our 14 month old, on checking out we wasn't asked if everything was ok, everything was ok but it just misses a little customer interaction. Hotel close to beach as described so people spending 20 minutes finding it our going wrong somewhere. I read reviews before we came and was a little worried but everything was fine.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although it is fairly positive we are a little confused. It was I, Julie, who checked you in. I remember chatting to you and laughing with and talking to your lovely happy baby. So who the man was we can't be sure? Maintenance man perhaps, was he another guest even? I also chatted to you later on about the football ground and gave directions. Very glad you found the quick route to the sea! I also took your payment in the morning, but as you went back to the room I didn't check you out, so can only apologise if the person you handed your key to didn't ask about your stay, it is our normal practice to do so and we will check with other staff to try to make sure they do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for The Ashleigh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013, the car park had very limited spaces, but it is free on a first come first serve basis. When we first arrived we were told that the beach is a 5-8 minute walk, but with the help of Google Maps, it took about 20-25 minutes, which isn't a problem on a sunny day!

Our room was small but clean, it had plenty of drawers for storage and many plugs which was very ideal. The room was equipped with a tv, clean towels, extra pillows and tea/coffee making facilities. The room was looking out to the road but there was no noise, seemed like a quite road. The ensuit bathroom was tiny, but also clean, and the shower was ok.

Breakfast was pretty basic, a choice of cereals / hot foods as well as juices, the service was very efficent.

The staff were very friendly throughout our visit and tried to make it as pleasant for us as possible. If I were to go back to Bournemouth again, I would probably consider staying somewhere closer to the beach though, but it was an enjoyable stay at The Ashleigh overall...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafSafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for leaving this positive review, we are grateful, however for the benefit of readers we would like to clarify a couple of points. The cliff top is less than half a mile away with zig zag paths and a lift to the beach, we have no idea why it would have taken you so long. We have an aerial photo by the front door that shows exactly where we are, and in the hotel information provided in the Rooms directions are provided as well.

We would very much appreciate an email with your recommendations regarding Breakfast. During high season, when you stayed, we provide Croissants, 6/7 cereal varieties, grapefruit, melon, apples, oranges, cheeses, yoghurts, hard boiled eggs, Muffins, Pain au Chocolate, 4 different juices, then the full range of English cooked breakfast items plus pancakes with fresh filter coffee or tea and home made bread. Suggestions as to how we can improve the, or what we may have missed would be useful, we always try to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just stayed at The Ashleigh with my family, have to admit my partner and I were a bit disappointed.

We feel the hotel is over charging (£200 for a family room 2x nights). A very standard hotel, missing little touches (shower gel, towel rails, cover for remote control so the batteries kept falling out - our 1 yr old kept trying to eat the batteries!) The bathroom door handle fell off in my hand this morning! The room tea is awful.

Beds really old & uncomfortable. Blinds let light in through the bottom.

Staff were not very accommodating when we asked to borrow 2 towels for the beach and told there would be a charge, wouldn't have minded if we hadn't already paid £200!

Area is run down and shabby, felt un easy walking in and out of town with our young children. If your looking to visit Bournemouth the West side is much nicer.

Breakfast was lovely - compliments to the chef, and we did appreciate the fact they supplied a travel cot for us & bedding.

Overall The Ashleigh is pretty standard accommodation and the photos in our opinion are miss leading.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarlaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Win some lose some and we knew this was coming after we asked you to pay for the washing of the towels if you took them to the beach, which we do not think is unfair.

Sorry the PG tips tea bags are not to your taste and the new bed as well, it's funny as that room also had a new remote in it as well, back missing now, but to be fair they do not last long.

Yes I will admit the blinds are not totally light free if not closed properly but you could have asked and the door handle is news to us .

Pictures are of the rooms and the building is cared for, I have no problem holding up our hands if we get it wrong, but to nit pick over the washing of sandy towels I find upsetting.

At your request I waived our rule on the babies age provided a cot, linen etc at no charge then, this is how you repay us, we provided a service well worth the money and our consciences are clear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a good nights sleep, in a delightful room overlooking the garden,then coming down to delightful real English breakfast was an added bonus. A wander round the compact garden, which was in full flower, made our three day break very enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. The Hotel is very near the Railway station for those who don't arrive in a car. Buses at the top of the road a 100 yards or so away.

Room Tip: Overlook the garden which is a delight.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner and i with 2 friends stayed at the Ashleigh for 4 nights. We were very pleased with our choice, the hotel was very clean throughout, our "superior"room was comfortable with all the usual tea/coffee making facilities, built in wardrobes, nice bathroom and a very a good shower. the bed was comfortable with extra pillows available. the full English breakfast was really plentiful , you could'nt fault it. The owners and staff were very nice and helpful and "REAL PEOPLE" , another bonus was the parking in the front of the hotel off the road, -- to sum up, if you are looking for a really nice down to earth hotel with no frills i'd have no hesitation in recommending the Ashleigh, will definately stay again when we return to Bournemouth. FOOTNOTE ----- I've just read a terrible review of this hotel on here and just had to respond!!!!! ITS NOT RED LIGHT DISTRICT !!!! my partner went out to meet her son one evening and never had any issues at being out alone , and never saw anybody loitering around anywhere, its more than obvious the person that left the review is not referring to this hotel or is a very spiteful person, oh! and there is a "do not disturb" card he could have hung on the door. THERE'S SOME STRANGE PEOPLE ABOUT!!! and think he's one of them

Room Tip: we had superior room, so can't comment on others
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I didn't look at any comments until after I had returned home (would love to have been a fly on the wall regarding "the "Welsh comments review". Nevertheless, it never ceases to amaze me how vitriolic some people are, assumedly because they are upset and throwing their toys out of the pram. Always find constructive criticism the best... Not that there can be much for The Ashleigh. The room was clean and tidy, breakfast adequate, and we were asked a number of times is there's anything else that we wanted.
The area does have a few places that appear to be DSS occupied but I didn't see anything to suggest it was a red light district. It's about 15 mins to walk to the cliff road, and turn left for the closest zig zag path about 100 yards further towards Boscombe. A 10 minute walk to where the road full of bars and pubs start (inc a Wetherspoons being about the closest))
It's an inexpensive place to stay, those who a too lazy to walk for 15 mins or so maybe ought to pay a bit more... in fact a lot more for those closer; the ones that we priced up anyway.
Bit of confusion over the payment, so harking back to some of the "reviews" I hope nothing untoward was said, we would never attempt anything like avoiding paying.

Room Tip: we were in room 11 ground floor and had no one above/below so no noise trouble
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place this review, we know you had a good time and the weather of course always helps.
Yes less than half a mile to the cliff top but there is a quicker way to the zig zag next time I will show you.
Did not think at all that you was not going to pay just an understandable error.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this hotel via trivago and paid £80 for a family room (including breakfast ) for a Saturday night. We found the owners friendly and helpful and the hotel spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. I would recommend staying in this hotel :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you we try to help to make a stay okay, mostly it works

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#12 of 133 in Bournemouth
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#101 of 133 in Bournemouth
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#32 of 133 in Bournemouth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#56 of 133 in Bournemouth
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#15 of 133 in Bournemouth
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#43 of 133 in Bournemouth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashleigh

Address: 6 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $63 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashleigh 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashleigh is a family run . All rooms are en suite providing Free view TV with, hairdryers and hospitality tray. We also provide free computer access, and WiFi connection is available in all rooms. We believe we offer a high standard of accommodation and cleanliness.Free parking and lovely garden. Please holiday in relaxed and informal surroundings. You will find in each of our refurbished rooms a clean and contemporary look, that features calm and modern design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Ashleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing