We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend with my partner, overall we was really pleased. The staff were very helpful literally bringing all our drinks food to room and this was even in the early hours of morning :) the restaurant was ok nothing great but for the price reasonable. The room we got was massive more an apartment. ..A seperate lounge which was huge a big double bedroom and a lovely bathroom. There was another room which i assume is an extra bedroom but that was locked. There are ironing facilities in a little room along the corridor. Don't get me wrong it's long overdue a make over but i wasn't complaining the price met what we recieved. It is very close to the beach too and the busy streets of clubs and shops. Be advised that the area there is quite high fir young people wanting to just get drunk

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyoftwo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    134
    211
    158
    325
See reviews for
126
345
52
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Rather than writing any further reviews, as there are plenty to give you an idea, I have decided to simply show you a few pictures of our room.

They speak for themselves!

Only upside was the location. It's not even value for money.

Room Tip: nothing I can offer here...all of the rooms we saw were awful. All pictures were taken in room 544...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RuthMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amazing (comedy) value

Given Bournemouth’s status as one of the UK’s most popular destinations for stag and hen parties coupled with the fact that the Roundhouse is one of the few hotels in the area that provides rooms with three bedrooms, I was expecting the hotel to be a combination of What Happens in Sunny Beach and Hotel Inspectors. No reality TV show, however, could have prepared us for the reality awaiting at the Roundhouse.

Upon entering reception, we were greeted (in June) by the jolly sound of a Christmas CD and several cheerful Christmas decorations. After checking in, the lift took us to the sixth floor where we were met by some serious 80s décor. The look and feel of that period was further enhanced by a complimentary odour that had possibly lingered since that time. When entering our room, it became evident that the treats in store for us at the hotel had only just begun.

The bathroom door had on it a large brownish-red handprint, which resulted in a fun guessing game about how it originated. Our conclusions differed as it could conceivably have either been created via faeces or menstruation. In addition there was a potent smell of cigarettes which, despite the window being fully open, had not yet dissipated. I had thought that the smoking ban (given that it extends even to bus stops) would have prohibited guests from smoking in hotel rooms. Apparently not. Conveniently for anyone who enjoys smoking whilst sitting on the loo, there is an ash tray affixed to the bathroom sink. Less conveniently, the toilet was unfortunately both blocked and leaking onto the floor. The hotel kindly provided a pile of extra towels as a resolution to this.

I had misplaced a sandal strap, so had a look under the beds to see if it had dropped onto the floor. I was somewhat surprised to find that the cleaner had thoughtfully left us with some additional items in the room – a half empty bottle of whisky (with most of the contents spilt onto the carpet) and a rather large pair of leopard print knickers! We let reception know, and their response was ‘yeah, yep’. That was all.

Being certain that stag and hen parties could largely only populate the hotel at weekends, I was prompted to wonder what their other clientele might be comprised of. This question was answered at breakfast on the Sunday, when we noticed a lady on the next table sporting an electronic tag.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you were stuck in a time-warp then this hotel was probably one of the best in the country... in 1980-something. It is old, tired, dirty and the staff impolite -Fawlty Towers is a 5* palace compared to this.

To be fair the rooms are a decent size and the breakfast is ok... and seeing as we were using this hotel as a 'base' for a weekend of drinking it wasn't too bad as we only saw it in darkness.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not above the Reception/Smoking area -the hotel is yet to discover air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank team-teague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel was the worst we have ever stayed in. Dirty very out of date. Even the reception was depressing, this is your 1st impression. The food was terrible and served with the tables joined together like a works canteen. We made an attempt to eat the evening meal, terrible. So for the rest of the holiday we ate out. Would not recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 16 blokes and to be honest it's very basic. The food is edible but nothing special. It is self service so can eat as much as you like.
Bedrooms are also basic but had decent sleep.
It's location is great as the surrounding area is buzzing.
If you want up market don't stay here.
If you want a place as a base with no frills, this will suffice

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StressFreeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a horrible, depressing 'hotel' and I can not think of anything positive to say about it. It is very basic and dated in every respect, and getting a good night sleep was difficult (the hotel is very noisey and the bed we had was very uncomfortable). I recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Top top - don't stay here, stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDA_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing