We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Burley Court Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mayfair Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchid Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grosvenor Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Hotel Piccadilly(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Celebrity(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveler rating
57
151
225
177
362
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
151
225
177
362
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 972 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Rather than writing any further reviews, as there are plenty to give you an idea, I have decided to simply show you a few pictures of our room.

They speak for themselves!

Only upside was the location. It's not even value for money.

Room Tip: nothing I can offer here...all of the rooms we saw were awful. All pictures were taken in room 544, no filters, as it was.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RuthMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amazing (comedy) value

Given Bournemouth’s status as one of the UK’s most popular destinations for stag and hen parties coupled with the fact that the Roundhouse is one of the few hotels in the area that provides rooms with three bedrooms, I was expecting the hotel to be a combination of What Happens in Sunny Beach and Hotel Inspectors. No reality TV show, however, could have prepared us for the reality awaiting at the Roundhouse.

Upon entering reception, we were greeted (in June) by the jolly sound of a Christmas CD and several cheerful Christmas decorations. After checking in, the lift took us to the sixth floor where we were met by some serious 80s décor. The look and feel of that period was further enhanced by a complimentary odour that had possibly lingered since that time. When entering our room, it became evident that the treats in store for us at the hotel had only just begun.

The bathroom door had on it a large brownish-red handprint, which resulted in a fun guessing game about how it originated. Our conclusions differed as it could conceivably have either been created via faeces or menstruation. In addition there was a potent smell of cigarettes which, despite the window being fully open, had not yet dissipated. I had thought that the smoking ban (given that it extends even to bus stops) would have prohibited guests from smoking in hotel rooms. Apparently not. Conveniently for anyone who enjoys smoking whilst sitting on the loo, there is an ash tray affixed to the bathroom sink. Less conveniently, the toilet was unfortunately both blocked and leaking onto the floor. The hotel kindly provided a pile of extra towels as a resolution to this.

I had misplaced a sandal strap, so had a look under the beds to see if it had dropped onto the floor. I was somewhat surprised to find that the cleaner had thoughtfully left us with some additional items in the room – a half empty bottle of whisky (with most of the contents spilt onto the carpet) and a rather large pair of leopard print knickers! We let reception know, and their response was ‘yeah, yep’. That was all.

Being certain that stag and hen parties could largely only populate the hotel at weekends, I was prompted to wonder what their other clientele might be comprised of. This question was answered at breakfast on the Sunday, when we noticed a lady on the next table sporting an electronic tag.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you were stuck in a time-warp then this hotel was probably one of the best in the country... in 1980-something. It is old, tired, dirty and the staff impolite -Fawlty Towers is a 5* palace compared to this.

To be fair the rooms are a decent size and the breakfast is ok... and seeing as we were using this hotel as a 'base' for a weekend of drinking it wasn't too bad as we only saw it in darkness.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not above the Reception/Smoking area -the hotel is yet to discover air conditioning so its so hot you have to keep your window open.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank team-teague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel was the worst we have ever stayed in. Dirty very out of date. Even the reception was depressing, this is your 1st impression. The food was terrible and served with the tables joined together like a works canteen. We made an attempt to eat the evening meal, terrible. So for the rest of the holiday we ate out. Would not recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 16 blokes and to be honest it's very basic. The food is edible but nothing special. It is self service so can eat as much as you like.
Bedrooms are also basic but had decent sleep.
It's location is great as the surrounding area is buzzing.
If you want up market don't stay here.
If you want a place as a base with no frills, this will suffice

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank StressFreeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews