We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of season bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of season bargain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Spent two nights at The Roundhouse with my sixteen year old boy last weekend. The hotel is vastly in need of refurbishment in particular the rooms , and offers a basic servic predominantly for the stag/hen sector , and tour operator coach parties. If I was allocated this hotel with it's worn out decors and mouldy bathrooms for a business stay I would complain ,but for a two night B & B with a sixteen year old special needs boy of mine at £74 pounds for two nights good value , excellent location, ten minutes walk from Bournemouth Staion to the hotel ten minutes to the beaches and ten minutes to town , all in all The Roundhouse can be an out of season steal if you aren't expecting The Intercontinental.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonelytraveler190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    128
    205
    151
    315
See reviews for
123
330
50
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the weekend ideal location for a night out on the town the room was lovely, clean and big bed the breakfast was great staff
Only negatives is the mould on the bath seal it could do with replacing and jacuzzi bath didn't work

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alw772004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We arrived to this hotel last Friday full of trepidation having read some awful comments about this place, we should have not worried ! Yes it is a rather tired property but the plusses cancel this fact out, the rooms could do with an update but are clean and warm and the beds are comfortable and the bathroom clean and in working order and well serviced daily by a lovely polite friendly chambermaid. The reception and bar area etc is tidy and up to date and the dining room very clean and bright . The food was good with a lovely hot breakfast with plenty of choice and the evening meal had a choice of 2starters,4 main courses and 4 desserts plus tea or coffee. All was very tasty and although it was buffet style the staff were on hand to quickly remove used crockery etc and to constantly replenish the dishes on offer. All the staff were very friendly and the entertainment on 2 evenings was enjoyable and lively although a bit disappointed that nothing was organised for Sunday night but as we were part of a large friendly group this was not a problem. So overall our expectations were very low on arrival but we had a great weekend and would return, we travelled as part of a National organised break which proved to be exceptional value for money and a good time was had by all, thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

In 1969 when this building opened it was an architectural marvel and was probably an extremely smart hotel. Unfortunately, nearly 50 years later, much of the splendour has faded and the building really is in the need of a massive makeover. Moreover, the bar being closed by 2230 hours is a bit early!!
However, on the plus side, this hotel is conveniently positioned for the town centre and beaches, has a large car park (although cars over 1.8 metres high don't fit!) and most importantly it is cheap and so is ideal for those on a budget, or if you are only making a brief visit.
The acid test being; would I stay there again - yes I would, but only for one or two nights at a time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSquared2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Prior to our visit to the hotel we were concerned about the adverse reports. Now having returned from our New Year break all our party of 8 share the opinion that it was an all round excellent value for money break. On arrival the check in at reception was polite and organized our rooms were clean and warm and all the staff were very friendly. We were impressed with the self service restaurant service as you counld make your mind up by looking at the food before choosing and you could take as much as you wanted and then if not enough go back for more. The choices were good and the standard of food was very good.The evening entertainment was was good and varied. We plan to visit next New Year

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from a three night New Year break and have had a thoroughly good time. Firstly all the staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was very convenient being on frequent bus routes into the centre of Bournemouth, the room was a good size, warm and very clean with tea and coffee making facilities. The food was excellent, served as a buffet with choice of several dishes and it was continuously replenished. With entertainment every night overall the break was extremely good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Disappointing. Booked 4-day break with Diamond Holidays, so not sure re hotel. Rooms spacious, coffee making/hairdryer etc. We had 3 rooms. All shabby, dated furniture, handles missing etc. All smelt of smoke (6th floor). Enquired at Reception and told they allow smoking on 6th floor. However, as rooms have smoke alarms does this mean they are not operational? or do people smoke in bathrooms. New windows fitted, but many are leaking (fortunately not in ours, but towels on windowsills).Rainwater leaking through roof adjacent to lifts. Christmas day my son nearly missed his lunch with family as his door came off hinges when he opened it. Heavy fire door, consequences could have been dire if this was my elderly father's room door. No maintenance staff, so had to wait for manager, so could not leave his room.Food mediocre, breakfast ok. Evening meals poor quality. Only mitigating factor, all staff polite/helpful;(except manager who seems to embrace a laissez-faire style of management). Would not go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doubletop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing