We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Roundhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Roundhouse”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went to the Roundhouse in Bournmouth for one night as my partner and i were off to a wedding reception in a different hotel. All i can say about it is, the hotel is very very dated, heavy dark stain on the carpet in the bedroom, the bath didn,t look to special either. On the plus side, the bed was comfy, and the breakfast was nice, really freindly staff, in reception and at breakfast. I wouldn,t say for anyone to stay there more than i night, it needs a big makeover.

Room Tip: we had room 323, fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyhoneywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    134
    211
    158
    324
See reviews for
126
345
51
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for one night in August for a break away! It does the job it's in a perfect location for the city centre for shopping and night life! The rooms are ok very basic but they have a bed and a shower that's all that's needed really! Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that, went in the bar though which was very spacious and reasonable prices for a drink! Plenty of car parking spaces and very secure parking reasonable price as well at £3 for the night, we arrived at 11am and check in isn't until 3pm but they allowed us to park in the car park from 11am which i thought was very good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We asked for a family room to accommodate our 3 yr old, we were on the 4th floor facing a very busy main road so it was very noisy all night. The church bells outside chimed on the hour every hour all night. No air conditioning in August heat. Dangerous windows as no safety locks, easy for a child to fall out of. The bath was in need of a good clean and very dated bathroom. The toilet wouldn't flush properly and both the sink and bath didnt hold water as the plug holes were so old. No blackout curtains so we needed our sunglasses by 6am to block out the cream curtains blinding us. Old fashioned tv which hardly had any channels inc channel 4. overall not the best hotel experience. We wont be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolseden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a last minute booking off booking.com. We upgraded to a executive twin. The room was dated but well furnished clean and included a whirlpool bath and shower. The beds were very comfortable but were awful noisy when you turned over in the night, this woke us both up but used ear-plugs for the next two nights and we slept well. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff though most were foreign they spoke excellent English and we did not have any problems communicating. The car park is below the rooms and above reception, we thought it a brilliant idea. We never used the car till we returned home as it was a short walk to the beach and to the town. You can catch a bus to Christchurch or Poole or Boscome from the town centre for not much more that the cost of petrol and parking fees.
There was entertainment in either this hotel or the sister one (Britannia Bournemouth) just a few hundred yards walk away.
We were a bit put off when we found out it was a buffet breakfast, but we needn't have worried, you have a choice of bacon, sausage, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, beans tomatoes, hash browns, toast and fried potatoes as well as cereals fruit and juices, tea and coffee. All piping hot and well prepared. Well done. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and we had one that overlooked the flats next door...but outside noise was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quintonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked this hotel for myself, my partner and our 2 year old and after reading the reviews I was unsure. But I cant fault the hotel at all, its clean and tidy and the breakfast is really nice! The only thing Id say negative was the fact the receptionist staff were a little slow

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapetford2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend found this hotel last minute on late rooms as we wanted another night in the town, we read the reviews and really weren't looking forward to it. As we arrived we found a paid ( around £3 ) carpark which was fairly secure. First impressions were that it was dated and in need of a refurb, this showed everywhere. The room was boiling, it's in need of air con. The bar was good value, £2 a pint until 9 ( happy days ) a short walk to town which was handy! They put entertainment on which was aimed at the older audience but we found it okay too. You get what you pay for, £55 for a double room in peak season? I don't think it was bad for what I paid. Wouldn't stay a week though..

Really hope the place gets a full refurb soon.. When it does, I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomash1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

For the price you pay you don't get any we're near value for money staff no English I ask how to get to the beach was told go out the third door my room was on the 5th floor we had a double room with a single don't know why and the sheet on the single bed had blood Staines on them room was so hot no air con no air system at all the window was all we had !!!
Breakfast don't waste your money £10.50 per person the best bit about it is when the porter takes it away lift broke down for over 3 days and no one was even botherd stay away there is a lot better hotels for a lot less

You have been told

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,756 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing