We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dirty bathroom. Torn furniture in the lobby. Disgusting food. Cant check out before 07:30 if you've charged anything to your room. You have to fight past suitcases from coach travelers.
Give this place a miss.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HebdenBridgeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    128
    205
    154
    315
See reviews for
123
330
50
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went to The Roundhouse prepared for the worst having read some terrible reviews. However we certainly did not find it as bad as most of the reviews. Our room was warm and clean and the bathroom was more than adequate. The bedding and towels were spotlessly clean and the coffee and milk were replenished daily. The breakfasts and evening meals were very good. We found the restaurant staff polite and helpful although very overworked which occasionally meant that we had to wait for clean plates and trays of food to be replaced. The reception staff were very helpful. On the downside there was only one lift working during our four night stay. This was not a problem to us but there were many people staying who had mobility problems. Even when taking the lift up to the right floor there were still short flights of stairs to negotiate. The carpets in the public areas eg stairs, restaurant are very dated. The position of the hotel is a distance from the centre of Bournemouth but there is a bus stop outside and buses every few minutes. I would have no hesitation about staying there again.

Room Tip: People with mobility problems should make the hotel staff or their booking agents aware of this fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we discovered a dirty nappy in the room, we reported this to the management who could not be more apologetic or helpful. They dealt with the problem quickly and efficiently and we were very happy with the service.
The rooms are a little dated, but they were comfortable and warm with clean towels, bedding and hot water. We got a great nights sleep!
The evening meal was nice, with a good variety. The breakfast was fantastic.
Location wise this was perfect, a short walk from train station and town centre.
Not a luxury hotel by any means, but perfectly adequate for a couple of nights stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have just spend a midweek coach break at the Roundhouse, and must say I was pleasantly surprised, especially after reading many of the reviews. Yes the hotel rooms are a little tired like all Britannia Hotels, but the beds were comfortable and clean, with the normal tv/kettle in the rooms, they bathroom was very scruffy but there were clean soft towels and lots of hotwater. However the radiator did'nt work in our room, just like many other rooms. The food was very good and there was at least 5 choices every night and I must say it was better that most of the Britannia Group

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms are in a better condition than lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyoflleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Well we have had yet another great five days at a britannia hotel this time at bournemouth the place is a little tired but please dont let that put you off as the place is well run and clean and the food was just perfect every day the staff also made are stay very enjojable We went on a package tour with National holidays
, so please try it your selves.

Room Tip: Well we had a slightly noisy room because it didnt fit too well and that was 313 we did mention it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodleywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm on Tees, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

i have just spent 5 days in this hotel THE ROUNDHOUSE, and i can say i will never ever go back to it,rooms dirty, bath/sink rusty stains, sheets were just thrown on the bed, dont fit, breakfast was nice, but evening meal rubbish and often cold, my partner was sick after eating a meal, the GOOD side haha was its close to town, staff were not bothered and some were rude,one growl at me because he knock the spoons on floor, very noisey at the most i had 4hrs sleep,can hear people using the toilet, i neeed a holiday to get over this one

Room Tip: heres a tip DONT GO, noisey, dirty items of clothes under bed from previous people, food horrible, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12345338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at The Roundhouse. Having read the reviews we were very concerned about making a booking but had friends who were staying at the hotel with a coach tour and we wanted to meet up . When we first went to our room it was as expected a little shabby but we did not expect to find a dirty toilet . We were immediately offered a change of room and this bedroom was a much better standard even though the window frames could have done with a coat of paint. Both dinner and breakfast were served buffet style and we couldn't fault any meal. It may not have been haute cuisine but it was certainly of a very acceptable standard with plenty of choice. All the staff were very pleasant and for the price we payed we really have no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 1 Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roundhouse Bournemouth Hotel is one of five Britannia hotels in Bournemouth and is just a short walk from the East Cliff Beach and Bournemouth's local attractions, theatres, restaurants and coffee shops. Bournemouth is one of the most popular seaside resorts in England and is famous for its family friendly facilities, award winning beaches and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Whether you are looking for business or leisure breaks, this Bournemouth Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing