We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cheap with cheerful carpets!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Roundhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Roundhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Meyrick Rd | Landsdowne, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
NORTH YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap with cheerful carpets!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We hadn't expected anything better than we got, particularly as I had spoken to the Manager when we booked the room several months ago. I'd read some pretty poor reports on your website about this hotel so thought I'd beard the lion in its den and just ask him outright about what he thought of the reports. He said he didn't deny that some of it was true as it wasn't possible for them to redecorate the whole building in one go. This was honest of him and as the reception of the wedding which we were attending was held in this hotel we really had no choice but to stay there. The Manager suggested that we booked one of the more expensive rooms - £75 instead of the normal £50 to ensure getting a nicer room. I agreed to this but when we booked in and they took the payment before handing over the key it was for £50! I decided to say nothing until we'd seen the room. Although ill lit and rather dull in decoration and furnishing - 60's in appearance - there was no unpleasant smell and it was reasonably clean. The tv was pretty ancient but we didn't switch it on in any event. The shower was nice and forceful with plenty of hot water. The bath was a jaccusi. However, the extractor fan didn' work. There were plenty of tea bags, coffee, etc. and toiletries were fine too. On the whole it was better than expected so we took the room and saved ourselves £25. The breakfast was good with a reasonable amount of choice. During the night it was very noisy as there isn't any double glazing. At 4.0 am. I saw people walking past the hotel and could hear them talking. People coming to bed in the early hours have no consideration for others but this can happen anywhere. The bed was comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: I really don't know if there would be a quiet room in this hotel because of its position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASTRANTIABLUEBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    105
    185
    139
    265
See reviews for
101
284
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The room we were in was quite large but could do with redecorating . The bathroom also was a little shabby . The food was self service but quite good both at dinner and breakfast . As it was jubilee the drinks at the bar were reduced which made a change in a hotel . The one night stay was quite good value

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights with a Coach Holiday. The room was dirty and had not been cleaned for months or even years. The bathroom had dust underneath the pipes etc. The sink and bath was rusty around the plugholes. The cleaner that came in each day never replenished our coffee, sugar and towels and we even had to go to reception for loo rolls. We left her a note in the room but she just ignored it. She never bothered making the beds and when we left in the morning there was half a loo roll but when we came back it was almost empty. I think she must have used it to wipe around the sink!
The food was bland and tasteless and everything in the evening meal was in a gravy even the gammon was one night and the cottage pie...well there is nothing to describe how awful it was. The breakfast was slightly better but not brilliant. A few of the people on our coach had sickness and diarrhea while we were there and my husband was really ill the night we got back home!
Our room was on the front of the hotel and there was a six lane roundabout outside. The noise was terrible for 24 hours a day and night time there was a gathering place for all the drunks so we had that for about 5 hours every night!
If it had not been for our coach driver who was brilliant and some of the nice places we went to in the day the holiday would have been a complete disaster. I thought Britannia were one of the big Hotel chains and yet they let this go on in their hotels. Its a disgrace!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed on a 5 day National Holidays Superdeal, we asked for a twin room on a low floor, we were given a room on the 5th floor, overlooking the roads, the room was large, the twin beds were creaking with every movement, the bathroom was dated, the tv only had 4 channels. the staff were very nice and friendly, the entrance door to the hotel wouldn't close fully, which was quite draughty and noisy.
The breakfast was mostly value quality , and the bacon looked as if it had been slid out of a catering pack onto a cooking tray and put into the oven, without separating the rashers, which made it a problem for diners, there was a good variety of food at all mealtimes.
I would return to this hotel, because it was good value for money. and Britannia are updating some of their hotels,

Room Tip: Low floor rooms are better to get to if the lifts break down, and you need to use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as we were attending a funeral. It was a good location for the shops etc.. The bedrooms/ bathrooms were clean but in need of updating. The breakfast was very good and a reasonable selection. The television didn't work but we we weren't there to stay in our room, It was a very good value Hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and had noise from the traffic as the windows were old. I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed one night at the roundhouse. Has to be the worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time. From looking at the photos I must of stayed in the oldest rooms available. I might as well spent 15 quid to stay in a B&B in Boscombe. The rooms are so outdated with mold on the ceiling and bathroom tiles. Stains all over the carpet and bed. Bed lumpy and window blinds dont block out any sun. Only positive thing is the staff are friendly and there is car parking.

Room Tip: Turn around and leave, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russatpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I organised a weekend away for a group of ladies - and I have to say that the hotel were absolutely brilliant!

The staff were attentive, polite and extremely accommodating.

The food was excellent, with a great choice even for the vegetarians in the group. The buffet style meant that you could help yourself to as much or as little as you wanted.

The Roundhouse is an older style hotel, but the rooms and the beds were exceptionally clean.

The hotel is centrally positioned with easy access to the beach and shops. The cable car is approximately five minutes down the road. There are a number of buses that run from right outside the hotel, and the cab rank is just outside the main entrance of the hotel.

We had use of both the function rooms for the weekend. The main function room has it's own private bar, and both function rooms are adjoining - which is great for parties and weddings.

All in all, an excellent weekend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#61 of 78 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 stars 2,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#59 of 78 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cliffeside Hotel
The Cliffeside Hotel
#41 of 78 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#13 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#23 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Roundhouse Hotel

Property: Britannia Roundhouse Hotel
Address: 1 Meyrick Rd | Landsdowne, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Roundhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Britannia Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing