We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel! Going back next year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marsham Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marsham Court Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel! Going back next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have just spent a week at The Marsham and didnt want to come home :( The staff were all so friendly, nothing was a problem and in particular Andy who I think is a duty manager was brilliant with all guests and high customer service was obvious to see.
The breakfasts were delicious, especially the hot cooked food!
We took our 2 young girls, they loved the pool which has a smaller pool with a waterful for the little ones, staff would always stop to talk to them.
The room was large, clean and airy, no problems. Rosie, the manager, couldnt do enough for us, and we felt very spoilt with this personal touch!
Great location, no problems parking at all in week, see you next year! :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adelewoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear adelewoz,
I am so glad that your famiily enjoyed your holiday here with us. I will post your comments on our staff notice board for them all to see.
We look forward to seeing you next year.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    367
    143
    34
    28
See reviews for
157
376
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redditch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel is in a wonderful position for visiting Bournemouth and the surrounding areas. Staff were incredibly helpful and even though they had 3 weddings going on over the weekend we stayed the staff were still helpful and attentive to other guests needs. The hotel is extremely clean and our room had only very recently been re-furbished to a very good standard and with a sea-view and balcony was well worth the extra cost. Only complaint was uncomfortable seating in the rooms.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear dogRedditch,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your weekend. It was a very busy weekend in all.
In regards to your comment about the uncomfortable seating in the room, as the refurbishment has been done we have tried to change as many things as possible, but we cannot do everything at once and the only thing we have left to do in some of the rooms is change a few chairs, which are scheduled to be done in the near future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Well first of all may i say we had a lovely stay on our first visit to the Marsham Court Hotel. Ive read previous reviews from former guests and have to say i think they were in a different hotel to us!
We were in a family room, room 204 and it had abit of a sea view but it was quiet just the way we like it, and spacious.
The previous year we stayed in the Royal Bath for eight days (next door) and wondered what the Marsham was like with their beautiful display of flowers outside the hotel when walking past and decided to book it for this year.

We only booked a four day stay 1st aug-5th aug and wished we had booked longer but we had to go to cornwall on the 5th so a four day stay it was.
heres my take of the hotel.
Staff......very very helpful and pleasant
Food.....plentiful and delicious
Room...quiet and spacious
sea views....subperb
car park....well we always got parked
swimming pool...didnt use it but pleny did
Hotel lounges.....mostly modern
Bar.......could improve as beer was flat but prices were fair i thought

All in all we would book again (next year) ive read Rosie Wallaces replys to reviews and they seem fair.
I asked the check in girl " wheres Rosie of Trip adviser fame?...she smiled, maybe i`ll meet her next year.

Mr S

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lumleykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Lumleykid,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and I am just sorry that i did not get the chance to meet you. I was here last week, but obviously our paths did not meet. Definitely we will meet next year, unless i am even more famous.
Thank you for your review about the hotel and staff and I have posted a copy on our staff notice board for all to see.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Recently refurbished so all very new and clean, fantastic views over the bay from a very comfortable sofa in front of a large bay window. Nice outdoor swimming pool with plenty of sun beds and clean pool towels.We only had breakfast at the hotel, but there was plenty of choice, lots of it and well prepared. Very friendly and helpful staff. We checked out at 11am and was told it was OK to leave the car in there very secure park while we spent the day on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickeyboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear mickeyboy_11,
Thank you for writing a review and i am so glad that you enjoyed our new bar area, with the stunning views accross the bay. Location, location, location and we are proud of ous.
The staff here are like a small family and strive to help guests enjoy their experience. We are happy that you did.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

taking away the bath and replacing with a shower is not good business, people like a choice, also the hotel has lost its charm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear michael s,
I am sorry if you feel that the hotel has lost its charm. We have spent well over 1 million pounds already on transforming the hotel and most of our guests have commented on how much brighter and open the place is. We do understand that the refurbishment is not going to be to everyones taste.
We have changed about half our rooms to large double showers as for years guests were complaining that we had baths and not showers. If you would prefer to have a batyh and not a shower we will do our best to allocate this for you in the future.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Right .... so I was reluctant to write a review after reading the responses from the General Manager to some of the negative comments, but thought to myself that I was only putting my experience down in writing. Ad this is a true reflection of my recent experience at this hotel.....

When we booked, we opted not to have a sea view but a bigger room, but the oters in our party oped for a sea view. We arriven and checked in, clarified the wake up call (no) and paper requirements (Mirror) and wer given or cards, room numbers and sent on our way. Got the lift to floor 2 (one is teeny tiny and terrified me, but that's not the hotel's fault), left our parents at their room, and wandered through the hotel with our very heavy case, to find that we had to carry it up a small flight of stairs, back down some stairs and then back up some more!! Our case weighed a tonne (maybe not literally) and we had no offer of help to carry our cases .... maybe staff aren't aware of the location of the rooms?

Our room, room 233, was small, had 2 single beds pushed together and they moved apart. The decor was lovely, modern and just how I like a hotel to be, even the lights and bedside tables were new and modern, it was just it's size. The showeroom was even smaller, tiny, in fact, with a towel rail that was piping hot and warming both parts of the room like a sauna. Worse still, it only had a shower !!!!(!) Nowhere on the website did it mention that there would be no choice of a bath ... and I must admit, if that had been detailed then it would have been a deal breaker. Our parents room also only had a shower, though traces of a previous bath were visible. Their bathroom however was massive, yet the toilet was right next to a window that opened by lifting, so the person sat on the loo would be visible to all walking up the street, as no blind / curtain was available.

We asked reception if there were alternatives available to room 233, as we found it small and cramped for a 2 person share, but there were none available except the room accross the hallway, which was the same size as the one we were already in. Or parens were met with attitude when asked for a second keycard at reception.
The following morning our parents recieved a copy of the Sun newspaper, and after hardly and sleep we went for breakfast. Good selection of cereals (in large open bowls, which in turn meant the cereal was soft) and fruits. The hot food also had a good selecion, but the scrambled egg was often cold. Breakfast was a sore subject for our party as we often found ourselves having to chase stff around the restaraunt to put in our order, even getting toast and tea / coffee became a mission impossible for us, which in turn became a bit of an in-joke!

It took a day and a half and 3 phone calls to reception to get our sauna esque towel rail turned off (after a guy from reception came up and flipped a few switches off and on, and being told that it may not be possible!!!!). The real maintenence guy arrived, pressed 1 button and it was done, but we also recieved a fan, which was an added bonus.
Our parents, on the second day recieved a 7:30 wake up call, but no newspaper, finally on the Thursday (we arrived Sunday) The Mirror was delivered. I also had remnants of Tomato seed in a club sandwich which I specifically statd NO TOMATO, so the gooey wet residue was left on my bread, which was a sign that it had been prepared with, but had them taken out before serving, and the crisps were soft, to me signs that it was not a fresh meal. As a contrast the following day, on of ur party waited 45+ mins for their sandwich, by the time it arrived, it was late in the day and meant that their dinner in the evening was ruined. On checking out, a £17 charge was almost made against one of our rooms in error. All are small issues, yet when added together, mount up, niggle and irritate!

I had never stayed at the marsham court before and was unsure what to expect, the money spent in the foyer / bar / reception area is very well spent as it makes the most of the views of Bournemouth, and has a very modern and relaxed feel, though all the other areas have been let slip as a result. Our parents (who have stayed in the Marsham a few times) even felt that standards had slippped since their last stay in May, I wonder if it's a reflection of the hotel, or just it's inability to cope at high season with too many residents, and staff who seem happier to clear up than actually face their public and serve.

Room Tip: Room 201 is right on top of the stairs and
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Pink Fair Princess,
We do try to give all our guests the best experience possible but everything will not be 100% all the time. The experience described was not to our standard for which I am genuinely sorry. As the writer stated, each issue in isolation was not major, but when suffered by one family, I can understand that they were not happy.

Our usual standard is to always ask guests if they wish for help with their luggage (no charge), and to deliver the correct newspaper to their door. I am so sorry that this did not happen on this occasion.

Our bedrooms are advertised as en suite and during our recent refurbishment we changed some of the bathrooms to shower rooms in requests to guest’s requests. We have many different room types – double, twin, family, inland, sea view, sea view with balcony and in order to be able to allocate the same room throughout a guest’s stay, we do not state whether a room will be with bath or shower. However, we can pre-allocate room numbers and many regular guests do stipulate their preference and we then do all we can to accommodate their request. The hotel is popular with families and our larger rooms frequently have childrens’ beds added during the school holidays, so these may not have been available for two persons at the time of your booking.

I must apologise that it took several trips to the room for our staff to alter the towel rail. The bathrooms have recently been refurbished and the switch has been moved to a different place. Obviously I need to retrain some of the staff who were not aware of the new location.

It is very hard to find the exact circumstances of the sandwich issue. Should anything similar ever happen in any hotel or restaurant, may I request that you ask for a supervisor or manager. If any such matter is addressed at the time it is so much more effective to deal with the situation, apologise to the guest and rectify the situation to their satisfaction. The retaining is then immediate and this more effective. Please do not misunderstand, I am not criticising you for not mentioning this when it occurred. Most guests do not like complaining or making an issue of something with others present but it makes it so much easier for us to find the cause of the problem when we have “the evidence there”.

Thank you for your compliments on our new foyer area. The refurbishment has been very well received by our guests and it is so pleasing when they arrive at the hotel and just say “Wow!”

I do hope that you will return here in the future and please do not think you have the wrong hotel when you see the name “Days Hotel, Bournemouth” above the door. We are joining the Days Hotel brand on 1st September, which is part of the global Wyndham Group. Although the ownership and staff of the hotel will remain as now, we will be introducing various new services as well as a loyalty scheme which will entitle guests to special rates and services as well as complimentary stays. Watch this space…….

Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Excellent location, just a few minutes from beach, gardens and centre of town.
Car park is at rear of hotel. Entrance to it was through a shabby workshop, and car park itself could do with some maintenance. Rear door of hotel leads straight into the bar, which oddly, also houses the reception desk, so we trundled in with suitcases and checked in with a wedding party going on around.
The bar looks like it has had a recent makeover and is all wooden flooring, empty spaces and uncomfortable seating. Meanwhile, the residents' lounge is dated and drab, with a bar that was shuttered all the time we were there.
We paid a supplement for a sea view room (122). It was light, clean and traditionally furnished. However, the bathroom didn't have room to 'swing a cat', and plastic cups instead of glasses.
The restaurant at the back of the hotel was down a long shabby corridor, that seemed to double as a storage area, and the dining room, with the tables around it's empty, wooden central floor had all the atmosphere of a village hall.
At breakfast some of the fruit on the buffet was tinned. Hot buffet was fine, except again, tinned tomatoes. No morning rolls or croissants, and a cheeky £2.50 supplement for smoked haddock. Most of the young staff in the restaurant were foreign, some more efficient than others.
Where this hotel really earns the points is for the superb four-course evening meal: a starter, soup/sorbet, main course, then either a cold sweet from the dessert buffet, or a hot pudding from the kitchen. Excellent choice on menu, and without fail, a wonderful meal each evening. However, coffee was always served at the table, and not in the lounge.
After the meal, neither the ultra-modern bar nor the dreary lounge attracted us, so we went out to find somewhere else to have a drink. In fact, one evening ended up in the welcoming, comfortable lounge of the Miramar Hotel next door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Rowland64,
Thank you for your review.
In regards to some of the comments posted, firstly the rear car park does house some of our maintenance garages and while the hotel has been under its refurbishment, it has indeed left this area much to be desired; however we have to repolish and revarnish furniture somewhere and this is the best area away from the guests.
Secondly, I am sorry that the new bar and foyer area is not to your liking and i am sure it won't be to everyones. We felt that we would try and make the best of the ground floor and removed walls and opened out the foyer so that guests could enjoy as much of the views as possible. Most of our guests have commented on how nice the area is, but we do appreciate that it will not be to everyones taste.
In reference to the old bar, this is only used for private functions at the moment and is scheduled to become a new brasserie in the future so that guests will be able to enjoy their meals will admiring the views of Bournemouth.
Being an old building, we are limited on sizes of rooms and bathrooms and every room is different; however we have now completed the refurbishment of the bedrooms. Our disposable plastic cups in the bathrooms are individually wrapped for hygiene reasons and it would be no problem at all to exchange them for glasses throughout your stay if your prefer, please just inform reception next time and they will be happy to accommodate this for you.
Breakfast consists of a choice of juices and cereals, prunes, grapefruit, peaches and melon. We also have a choice of 7 or 8 items on our breakfast buffet and again if you wish to have a bread roll or other items, please ask the waiter or waitress in the future and they will do their best to accommodate your requirements.
Finally, coffee is served in the restaurant after dinner, but the staff are more than accommodating should you wish to have yours in the bar or lounge area.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future to the hotel.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#9 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsham Court Hotel

Property: Marsham Court Hotel
Address: 3 Russell Cotes Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Marsham Court)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#25 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsham Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marsham Court Hotel Bournemouth is a privately owned Hotel and run by the same family for 30 years. The hotel has an on going refurbishment programme for bedrooms and bathrooms, with an extensive refurbishment in 2011 of the foyer and bar. We boast some of the best sea views in Bournemouth across to the Isle of Wight, Sandbanks, Swanage and Isle of Purbeck. So why not come in and try for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Marsham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsham Court Bournemouth
Hotel Marsham Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing