We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marsham Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$108
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$155
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Grange(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$118
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green House(Bournemouth)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$159
$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveler rating
379
421
170
43
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
421
170
43
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdays hotelsea viewdance breakrussell cotes museumgood sizebalcony roomtown centrebar pricesevening mealcar parklovely hotelthird floorbuffet stylechristmas partyoutdoor poolsea fronttea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2011

taking away the bath and replacing with a shower is not good business, people like a choice, also the hotel has lost its charm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear michael s,
I am sorry if you feel that the hotel has lost its charm. We have spent well over 1 million pounds already on transforming the hotel and most of our guests have commented on how much brighter and open the place is. We do understand that the refurbishment is not going to be to everyones taste.
We have changed about half our rooms to large double showers as for years guests were complaining that we had baths and not showers. If you would prefer to have a batyh and not a shower we will do our best to allocate this for you in the future.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Right .... so I was reluctant to write a review after reading the responses from the General Manager to some of the negative comments, but thought to myself that I was only putting my experience down in writing. Ad this is a true reflection of my recent experience at this hotel.....

When we booked, we opted not to have a sea view but a bigger room, but the oters in our party oped for a sea view. We arriven and checked in, clarified the wake up call (no) and paper requirements (Mirror) and wer given or cards, room numbers and sent on our way. Got the lift to floor 2 (one is teeny tiny and terrified me, but that's not the hotel's fault), left our parents at their room, and wandered through the hotel with our very heavy case, to find that we had to carry it up a small flight of stairs, back down some stairs and then back up some more!! Our case weighed a tonne (maybe not literally) and we had no offer of help to carry our cases .... maybe staff aren't aware of the location of the rooms?

Our room, room 233, was small, had 2 single beds pushed together and they moved apart. The decor was lovely, modern and just how I like a hotel to be, even the lights and bedside tables were new and modern, it was just it's size. The showeroom was even smaller, tiny, in fact, with a towel rail that was piping hot and warming both parts of the room like a sauna. Worse still, it only had a shower !!!!(!) Nowhere on the website did it mention that there would be no choice of a bath ... and I must admit, if that had been detailed then it would have been a deal breaker. Our parents room also only had a shower, though traces of a previous bath were visible. Their bathroom however was massive, yet the toilet was right next to a window that opened by lifting, so the person sat on the loo would be visible to all walking up the street, as no blind / curtain was available.

We asked reception if there were alternatives available to room 233, as we found it small and cramped for a 2 person share, but there were none available except the room accross the hallway, which was the same size as the one we were already in. Or parens were met with attitude when asked for a second keycard at reception.
The following morning our parents recieved a copy of the Sun newspaper, and after hardly and sleep we went for breakfast. Good selection of cereals (in large open bowls, which in turn meant the cereal was soft) and fruits. The hot food also had a good selecion, but the scrambled egg was often cold. Breakfast was a sore subject for our party as we often found ourselves having to chase stff around the restaraunt to put in our order, even getting toast and tea / coffee became a mission impossible for us, which in turn became a bit of an in-joke!

It took a day and a half and 3 phone calls to reception to get our sauna esque towel rail turned off (after a guy from reception came up and flipped a few switches off and on, and being told that it may not be possible!!!!). The real maintenence guy arrived, pressed 1 button and it was done, but we also recieved a fan, which was an added bonus.
Our parents, on the second day recieved a 7:30 wake up call, but no newspaper, finally on the Thursday (we arrived Sunday) The Mirror was delivered. I also had remnants of Tomato seed in a club sandwich which I specifically statd NO TOMATO, so the gooey wet residue was left on my bread, which was a sign that it had been prepared with, but had them taken out before serving, and the crisps were soft, to me signs that it was not a fresh meal. As a contrast the following day, on of ur party waited 45+ mins for their sandwich, by the time it arrived, it was late in the day and meant that their dinner in the evening was ruined. On checking out, a £17 charge was almost made against one of our rooms in error. All are small issues, yet when added together, mount up, niggle and irritate!

I had never stayed at the marsham court before and was unsure what to expect, the money spent in the foyer / bar / reception area is very well spent as it makes the most of the views of Bournemouth, and has a very modern and relaxed feel, though all the other areas have been let slip as a result. Our parents (who have stayed in the Marsham a few times) even felt that standards had slippped since their last stay in May, I wonder if it's a reflection of the hotel, or just it's inability to cope at high season with too many residents, and staff who seem happier to clear up than actually face their public and serve.

Room Tip: Room 201 is right on top of the stairs and
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear Pink Fair Princess,
We do try to give all our guests the best experience possible but everything will not be 100% all the time. The experience described was not to our standard for which I am genuinely sorry. As the writer stated, each issue in isolation was not major, but when suffered by one family, I can understand that they were not happy.

Our usual standard is to always ask guests if they wish for help with their luggage (no charge), and to deliver the correct newspaper to their door. I am so sorry that this did not happen on this occasion.

Our bedrooms are advertised as en suite and during our recent refurbishment we changed some of the bathrooms to shower rooms in requests to guest’s requests. We have many different room types – double, twin, family, inland, sea view, sea view with balcony and in order to be able to allocate the same room throughout a guest’s stay, we do not state whether a room will be with bath or shower. However, we can pre-allocate room numbers and many regular guests do stipulate their preference and we then do all we can to accommodate their request. The hotel is popular with families and our larger rooms frequently have childrens’ beds added during the school holidays, so these may not have been available for two persons at the time of your booking.

I must apologise that it took several trips to the room for our staff to alter the towel rail. The bathrooms have recently been refurbished and the switch has been moved to a different place. Obviously I need to retrain some of the staff who were not aware of the new location.

It is very hard to find the exact circumstances of the sandwich issue. Should anything similar ever happen in any hotel or restaurant, may I request that you ask for a supervisor or manager. If any such matter is addressed at the time it is so much more effective to deal with the situation, apologise to the guest and rectify the situation to their satisfaction. The retaining is then immediate and this more effective. Please do not misunderstand, I am not criticising you for not mentioning this when it occurred. Most guests do not like complaining or making an issue of something with others present but it makes it so much easier for us to find the cause of the problem when we have “the evidence there”.

Thank you for your compliments on our new foyer area. The refurbishment has been very well received by our guests and it is so pleasing when they arrive at the hotel and just say “Wow!”

I do hope that you will return here in the future and please do not think you have the wrong hotel when you see the name “Days Hotel, Bournemouth” above the door. We are joining the Days Hotel brand on 1st September, which is part of the global Wyndham Group. Although the ownership and staff of the hotel will remain as now, we will be introducing various new services as well as a loyalty scheme which will entitle guests to special rates and services as well as complimentary stays. Watch this space…….

Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Excellent location, just a few minutes from beach, gardens and centre of town.
Car park is at rear of hotel. Entrance to it was through a shabby workshop, and car park itself could do with some maintenance. Rear door of hotel leads straight into the bar, which oddly, also houses the reception desk, so we trundled in with suitcases and checked in with a wedding party going on around.
The bar looks like it has had a recent makeover and is all wooden flooring, empty spaces and uncomfortable seating. Meanwhile, the residents' lounge is dated and drab, with a bar that was shuttered all the time we were there.
We paid a supplement for a sea view room (122). It was light, clean and traditionally furnished. However, the bathroom didn't have room to 'swing a cat', and plastic cups instead of glasses.
The restaurant at the back of the hotel was down a long shabby corridor, that seemed to double as a storage area, and the dining room, with the tables around it's empty, wooden central floor had all the atmosphere of a village hall.
At breakfast some of the fruit on the buffet was tinned. Hot buffet was fine, except again, tinned tomatoes. No morning rolls or croissants, and a cheeky £2.50 supplement for smoked haddock. Most of the young staff in the restaurant were foreign, some more efficient than others.
Where this hotel really earns the points is for the superb four-course evening meal: a starter, soup/sorbet, main course, then either a cold sweet from the dessert buffet, or a hot pudding from the kitchen. Excellent choice on menu, and without fail, a wonderful meal each evening. However, coffee was always served at the table, and not in the lounge.
After the meal, neither the ultra-modern bar nor the dreary lounge attracted us, so we went out to find somewhere else to have a drink. In fact, one evening ended up in the welcoming, comfortable lounge of the Miramar Hotel next door.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Dear Rowland64,
Thank you for your review.
In regards to some of the comments posted, firstly the rear car park does house some of our maintenance garages and while the hotel has been under its refurbishment, it has indeed left this area much to be desired; however we have to repolish and revarnish furniture somewhere and this is the best area away from the guests.
Secondly, I am sorry that the new bar and foyer area is not to your liking and i am sure it won't be to everyones. We felt that we would try and make the best of the ground floor and removed walls and opened out the foyer so that guests could enjoy as much of the views as possible. Most of our guests have commented on how nice the area is, but we do appreciate that it will not be to everyones taste.
In reference to the old bar, this is only used for private functions at the moment and is scheduled to become a new brasserie in the future so that guests will be able to enjoy their meals will admiring the views of Bournemouth.
Being an old building, we are limited on sizes of rooms and bathrooms and every room is different; however we have now completed the refurbishment of the bedrooms. Our disposable plastic cups in the bathrooms are individually wrapped for hygiene reasons and it would be no problem at all to exchange them for glasses throughout your stay if your prefer, please just inform reception next time and they will be happy to accommodate this for you.
Breakfast consists of a choice of juices and cereals, prunes, grapefruit, peaches and melon. We also have a choice of 7 or 8 items on our breakfast buffet and again if you wish to have a bread roll or other items, please ask the waiter or waitress in the future and they will do their best to accommodate your requirements.
Finally, coffee is served in the restaurant after dinner, but the staff are more than accommodating should you wish to have yours in the bar or lounge area.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future to the hotel.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago, and needing a short break decided to try again. We were absolutely delighted. Rooms refurbished since last visit. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and courteous. Last minute booking so had to put up with no sea view but no problems. Food first class - even arranged early dinner to see a show. Will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Book early to secure a sea-view room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Dear StuandJean,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your return visit here with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just returned from a 7 day break at The Marsham Court Hotel. We found the hotel very clean and staff were very efficient, especially in the restaurant, were we found the food to a very high standard, and a great selection on the menu.

This hotel is in an ideal spot very close to the beach/pier and the beautiful, well kept gardens.

All in all we had a fantastic week, stayed in a stunning hotel, we would definately recommend this hotel, and we will be returning ourselves in the future.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Williams06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Williams06,
Thanks you for writing a review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Marsham Court Hotel. We franchised the hotel in September 2011 and are now called the Days Hotel Bournemouth.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews