We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sad, such potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Bath to your Saves list
Royal Bath
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sad, such potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The sky was blue, the sun:scorchio! How could I fail not to have a smile on my face as we entered the Royal Bath in the beach resort of Bournemouth?....
Well, try sitting in grid-lock traffic for 45mins just entering the town and then being told that there was no car park space left. I had to swing around and find a public car park nearby which fortunately had 1 space left. £4 for 24 hours. It turned out cheaper than the £20 p.n.car park at the hotel!
Which raises my first issue: The hotel boasts: car park. fitness room, swimming pool BUT they all come at additional costs. A bit disappointing when you are spending £125 a night.
The room 244 had the MOST magnificent room I've had in a long while. Triple aspect with views of the beach & sea. The savage beast in me was placated.
This hotel is steeped in history and could be one of the best in the country, unfortunately The Britannia Group which took it over from De Vere's have run it for profit at the expense of the staff who are run off their feet.
The whole place is grand but seen better days. So sad, as this place must once have been the height of opulence but now looks like a tired shadow of its former self and has the air of frugality about it. We admired this hotel from afar 30 years ago and made a secret wish that one day we'd stay there. We won't again. Britannia Group WAKE UP!

Room Tip: Room 244 was MAGNIFICENT. Great balcony, wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marti m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    608
    552
    484
    602
See reviews for
370
1,310
73
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went here two weeks ago... and had an amazing stay.. had fab service and everyone is really really nice. Thank you so much for looking after us and making our trip to bournemouth even special. We were given a really large and spacious room..with a sea view..hotel location is very good two. 2 mins walk to the beach and town centre. Will def stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Needed a last minute hotel in Bournemouth - this one seemed to have it all.
Checked prices - called and checked - Hotel reservation offered to match a website offer.
on arrival : price not matched - had to speak to a manager, but this was sorted and the price was matched. B&B basis.
Hotel is charming. A Grand Hotel in the real sense. sweeping staircases, murals, a large comfortable lounge leading on to gardens and the beach view.

Pro's :
Location. Right on the beach,
Valet parking. (at a cost)
Excellent bar and gardens
Staff will go out of their way to help.

Con's:
Bar Prices - expect 5* London Prices and you'll be fine.
Decor - could do with some love
Staff - some could do with better training - Pick up the napkins - I know its not your job, but it makes the hotel look messy.
There is a charge for guests wanting to use the Swimming Pool.

Rooms - ours was a good size - a little walk away from the lift - a few stairs on the way to the room.
Hot summer. No A/C. There was a fan hidden in a closet ( we had to ask)
Ironing Board, Trouser press, phone, Flat screen TV - with an odd arrangement of channels!
Free Wifi- but this didn't work on iPad or iPhone - Only Laptops. Be aware there is hardly any Mobile phone service here - let alone 3G.

All in all, we would stay here again. It can be a little pricey - but i think its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We used to have our work conferences here. Ok I'm talking twenty years ago but what a shame now how it has gone so downhill. Almost all foreign staff with poor English skills. Our room was a large sea view with huge balcony and a very large comfortable bed but furniture was old, paintwork dirty, carpet not been cleaned. Small bath with cheap shower curtain. I remember the grand centrepiece at breakfast, alas no more. Cheap, dried up buffet breakfast. We didn't use the pool as you have to pay another £4 each. Two of the public toilets were broken and doors shut. OMG I could go on so please someone take over this hotel, refurb it and take it back to the Grand Royal Bath it once was before you shut down forever!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view but in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

On arrival the porter was very helpful but reception staff unable to fully understand English, annoying for first impression. Grand hotel outside, good location but what a disappointment inside, shabby and very tired. Room very over priced, poor tea/coffee facilities but the most frustrating was the key cards did not work. Complained at reception about this, no apology just yet again another card. Each time having to go to reception before entering the room from the 2nd floor. Staff uninterested and not only having to pay extra for breakfast before we was finished the staff started clearing the table, the height of bad manners. Drink prices mega over the top. The bed was comfortable but we will not be revisiting.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 666MjM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

First impressions at reception staff (porter and receptionist) more interested in talking to each other and no help offered in bringing in cases from the car and certainly not to room(lift out of order)...slack service and uninterested staff whom gave the impression couldn't be bothered...asked at bar about room service and were told it had finished(9.30pm?) And you can have a bag of crisp...great. Room you couldn't swing a cat. Although the hotel is beautiful and right on the beach I'm afraid the staff let it down...need customer service training asap. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbrittan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hotel is chopped up , you almost need a GPS to find your room. Forget having elevator service directly for your room, it will take a lot of stair climbing, not fun lugging your suitcases. Unfortunately the rooms have no air condoning or ceiling fans, the windows are sealed shut from to many paint coats and bring a screw driver for the windows that have been screwed shut, extremely HOT in the rooms, enough that we want looking for another hotel but every one was full. The room itself was clean, large, and fantastic soft mattress. The bathroom shower no water pressure and no cold water, hose to the shower handle split flooding bathroom floor. No fridge no water bottles and No safe, phone only works to call another room. Front desk never answered phone calls and never responding to help request for shower repair. Family coming from other areas to meet us left 3 messages and only one did we receive.they did this in person after never answerinG phone. Towel heater rack could not be shut off. And no counter space in bathroom. If you are a size of average build don't sit in the tub, u may not get out! We booked 6 weeks in advance 2 rooms together and they put our rooms a mile apart and would not change one of them. We traveled from America to see family and our stay was miserable in the room do to heat, and could not have our older family walk alone because of getting lost. ( I had at least 7 different people ask me if I could help them find there room). Staff was a mixture of crabby overwhelmed overworked short handed front desk people, eating area was very nice as the workers were too.
Unfortunately the stupid design of the hotel stinks..if ceiling fans were installed and window air condition, remodel bathroom , add what is missing, then maybe I would advise people to stay. Oh and if you wanted. To use the pool gym it cost another 4 pounds a day on top of the high price we paid two rooms 6 nights $1600.00 pounds american money that's $2700.00. Truthfully find another hotel. Try the hermatage may not have air conditioning but otherwise top of the list and speak English witha SMILE, they were booked during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask if elevator will get u to the room ask which direction the room face so u know if a breeze can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klingemannfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel in turreted building located on 3-acre cliff-edge garden, with views over bay & Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing