We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great find shame about the facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great find shame about the facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

had a wonderful stay recently when visiting family. Had booked a D,B&B with access to leisure facilities. Room great with sea view, wonderful buffet dinner in the evening and breakfast as well. Family came and joined us in the large lounge area for the evening and we did not feel overheard or crowded while we caught up on the year. The only reason I haven't given it a 5 rating was the leisure facilities let us down. They had a large pool, jacuzzi, steam, sauna etc and it would have been great arriving later in the day to use for longer. When we went down at 5.40 excepting it be open until 8pm we were told it was closing at 6 due to staff shortages. We were not alone in being disappointed at the early closing time. Also the car park is expensive £20 to have it parked underground at the hotel for the night yikes!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMoore40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    641
    570
    486
    600
See reviews for
382
1,366
79
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

the hotel has been taken over by a new group and being regular visitors to the hotel we have noticed (with sadness} its decline due to lack of bookings the oscar restaurant is closed (this restaurant was the most romantic place we have been) We stayed on a saturday night and although there were around 20 of us in the bar area they pulled the shutters down at 11.30pm there is a lovely after hours late bar opposite oscars restaurant but sadly that is closed as well i did find the staff very friendly and efficient and you will not find a better location. we will continue to stay at this hotel but its a real shame hows its changed

Room Tip: room 61 is very quiet and has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here with my wife and son on a pre-booked Twixmas break 27-30 December, dinner, bed and breakfast. We paid for a sea view room, the twin beds were comfortable and the room was warm. Our son had a ground floor double, which had no heating but he is young and it did not concern him. As already reviewed by others the cooked breakfast food tastes insipid, and is mostly cold, and the 'hot' buffet style dinner 'package' that we paid for for three nights was dreadful (cold, undercooked, stodgy), basically like school dinners, so we did not eat there after the first evening, and received a very ungenerous refund for the meals we did not take. Best things were the comfortable beds and the leisure facilities (pool). Worst were the food, and some reception staff who could not be bothered.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I wrote this about their sister hotel the carrington
We booked but never stayed because it was further out of town than we envisaged so I asked if they had any alternative hotels and we were very kindly and professionally dealt with and transferred to the royal bath hotel in town centre and I have written a review separately but well done the carrington .

So onto the royal and all on all apart from them trying to charge 20.00 per night for parking and waiting around for a room we were very well looked after . Parking price is ridiculous but we took car 5 mins up road onto the cliff it was 3 quid a day but you have to renew ticket at 9 am every day so beware of this apart from this and the drinks being a bit pricey it as great and breakfast especially good

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0vw0lves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just spent 3 days post Xmas 2013 at the Royal Bath. It has a prime location in Bournemouth but the service was poor. It wasn't even consistently poor, it was just different levels of poor. They have a cheek calling themselves 4 star. I have been to better 3 star hotels. It you want to be quality take a leaf out of Elite Hotels book! Now they really know how to look after you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodstockJack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just thought I needed to jot down a few thoughts on this 4-star establishment.
My partner & I received a gift voucher for a weekday night here. As she's from Poole next door & knew of the Hotel, which she had passed many times in her youth & wondered what it would be like, it being considered one of Bournemouth's premiere hotels, we jumped at the chance.
It certainly is an impressive building with valet parking available, large rooms with balconies & lovely sea views, however that's as far as it went for us.
Whether the service & food allowed for the fact that we were there on the cheap I don't know, but it was no better than your average 2 or 3 star place. The menu was uninspiring, the cooking & service average, indeed I've had better at travel lodges. The bed seemed large but was 2 singles put together. At first sight the decor was impressive, but with a closer look you could see it was tired & needed some TLC. During an insipid breakfast with re-heated food & drink the staff were moving furniture around arranging for a function later in the day. If we had been paying full rates I would have complained then & there. This was not a 4-star experience!

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view, this way you are guaranteed a balcony, ideal for smokers & loungers. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 days over the Christmas period here had my doubts after reading some of the reviews but decided to go for it.on arrival the car was parked for us and check in was quick and our luggage taken to our room.
The room had a sea view and was plenty big enough it was clean and was serviced through out our stay. The evening meal was fine and table service very good,breakfast was self service which was also fine.
All in all no real complaints enjoyed our christmas stay with a free bottle of champagne and present from Father Christmas.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel in turreted building located on 3-acre cliff-edge garden, with views over bay & Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing