We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon victim”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Bath
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Groupon victim”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I agree with many of the comments. We booked the hotel via Groupon voucher (60 GBP) and when we booked the dates we were asked to pay for number of extras. Car parking 20GBP, room upgrade 20 GBP, early check in 10 GBP (normal check in at 3pm). Overall the price worked out more expensive compared to booking it directly. The dinner was all you can eat buffet rather than fine dining. The room upgrade was not worth it as the windows were so dirty that you could hardly see the beautiful bournemouth bay view. I`ll not be coming back. In short old, dirty and a bit of an embarassment to Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Ask them to clean the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GentleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear GentleTravel

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel. Firstly all the extra charges which you mention are optional and you are made aware of the car parking charges while making your reservation.

Our rooms are kept to a high standard however if you did not feel this then you should of spoken with either the receptionist who would reallocate you a room or to the General Manager.

The Royal Bath is Bournemouth's flagship hotel and has been for 175 years, we are currently doing a multi-million pound refurbishment on the hotel however for 175 years old hotel it is still a magnificent building and shall not be changing to a modern hotel.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    645
    577
    489
    608
See reviews for
387
1,380
80
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in a group of 26 people everyone had a bad room and even the upgraded rooms were terrible. Sevice and staff are beyond dispare.
The check out time was 12.00 but the staff were knocking on our doors and asking us to leave by 10 am.
Go back 100 years and you will find the room quality but sadly the service is very much forgoten.
Shabby, creaky and in need of a good fire.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reeviestevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had 2 nights here as a treat for our 10th anniversary - planned by my husband, who hadnt seen the reviews before hand (thank goodness!). Had a lovely room, sea view and very comfy bed, room was old yes - but the hotel is old - what do people expect? It was clean and functional. All staff were very friendly and helpful, but do seem to be rushing all the time and under pressure - but they handle it well with a smile. We were on DBB deal, which meant we could eat in the buffet restaurant but didnt fancy this especially for our anniversary so we went into the a la carte, the food was lovely here, beautifully presented, hot and delicious (we had an allowance towards the bill by eating here). Staff very attentive,and very good service.
Valet parking offered (ie not compulsory) as soon as we arrived, along with the other options for parking (street/ public carparks) with their prices advised, we opted for valet parking as we had arrived late, and the parker in charge was a very friendly man who changed the car around for us on the day we left so it was closer to get out - you leave the keys with the hotel, but can always have access if eg you want to put shopping or luggage in your car. I dont agree with the comments that people have made about it being expensive etc - yes, its dearer than the public car parks, (and maybe should be free for guests, but having seen the tight spaces in the carpark I was glad to have someone else to park for me!)but as with everything in life, you get what you pay for, and you choose to pay the fee. Dont choose valet parking if you dont want to pay that fee.
Hotel is very well placed, can walk out through gardens to the cliff walk (proper paved path-straight down to the beach. Only downsides of our weekend - the bar closed at 11.30 on Saturday evening - didnt bother us because we had enough drink, however if you had been out and thought you would call in for a nightcap this wouldnt be very good. Plus, the main "gripe" - hubby had booked a champagne and chocolates deal, to be in room on arrival - champagne: we got a voucher to redeem at the bar, and chocolates were non existant, despite hubby asking for them 3 times and being told they would be sorted soon - eventually, when he spoke to the manager he was told that they didnt stock chocolates and the deal shouldnt exist!!!! Spoilt my hubby's special plans, but we had a lovely time overall. Maybe we were lucky to escape the problems that so many other guests have had?

Room Tip: Sea view, rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Michelle H

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel, I am happy to read you and husband enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We bought our one night stay via Groupon and therefore got an excellent value for money out of it.
The hotel is beautifully situated 3 minutes away from the sandy beach and the gardens which were stunning.
We were very impressed with the spa/pool/gym facilities although (and this applies to the rest of the hotel too) are in need of a new look.
The garden area of the hotel is beautiful.
Checking in was easy and quick but I must say that some guests next to us trying to check in with another member of staff weren't as lucky. The woman didn't seem to interact with the guests well (they were confused whether they could check in or not because she took so long to reply to their request for it, and then only after continous questioning advised the guests that she wasn't logged onto the till).
The room was okay but as was said before outdated, there were stains on the carpet. The rest was perfectly clean though and I loved the bedding!
The food, I have to say, was a let down. The Groupon stated we'd get a 2 course set meal and we were told to help ourselves on the buffet instead. Obviously this meant we could eat more but overall (as we were on an anniversary trip) I would've preferred to actually have something nice. The buffet was far from special (which is what you want from a hotel - I can cook cottage pie, dry fish and ominous looking crumble at home... getting some cream for the crumble took about 10 minutes, too). For breakfast there was a big variety of fried foods, so 'proper' English breakfast, but because it had been sitting there in these heated containers all the fat and condensation had collected, the tomatoes were shrunken.
Service was pretty shocking, we waited 20mins for somebody to recognise that we had a wine voucher and only after calling somebody to the table it was brought. All the staff were the same for dinner and breakfast which I find sad for the staff and it doesn't surprise me that being there for so long would discourage the worker and influence morale.
Overall we liked the stay but more because we paid so little for it, and the location of the hotel is fantastic. I doubt we'd stay again without Groupon or other voucher schemes. I'm not sure it deserves to be classed as a 4 star hotel but the rating might be a result of the Leisure Club facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear anjado

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel, we are currently doing a multimillion-pound refurbishment on the hotel after years of lack of investment from the previous ownership.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We have appointed a new Head Chef to improve the quality of the food and we have a new Restaurant Manager to improve the service. However we do have another restaurant which yourself and your wife could dine in which is Oscar’s Restaurant. Oscar’s Restaurant is an a la carte restaurant, which only costs a supplement for those on a Groupon offer to dine in.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

THE FOOD. i would not feed it to my dog
THE SERVICE. no one knows what they are doing.
THE ROOM. black staining behind the toilet.
PARKING. £20 PER NIGHT.
OVERALL. I am 64 years old and its the worst hotel i have ever been in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Vic G

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us nor make a formal complaint. If we were made aware that you were dissatisfied with your room we could have rectified the situation while you were here.

All guests are informed about the car parking charges prior to arrival, however if you book through a third party site we cannot ensure that this happens.

I am sorry I will not have opportunity to investigate your complaint as we have no record of dissatisfaction. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impression of the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here with my husband a few weeks ago. We asked for afternoon tea;as there was only one barman, and plenty of customers it took 25 minutes for the tea and food to arrive. Dinner was lasagne covered by a 'film of fat', overcooked oven chips and an assortment of other awful overcooked food. Breakfast the next morning was very similar. The health club staff also decided to clean out the wastes in the showers when a number of clients were trying to shower and change. It was very unpleasant to see the staff in rubber gloves pulling out handfuls of muck and grime. raised my complaint with David, the General Manager but despite calling him three times, his promised callbacks have never materialised. I have also emailed my complaints via the Britannia Hotels website but they have failed to respond.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaiAxel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear KaiAxel1

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel, we have indeed replied to your recent complaint. If you have not received our reply letter then please call the hotel to inform us. As Mr Aylott is the General Manager of the hotel it can take time for him to get back to guests especially as he must investigate each complaint which is made. If you wish to talk with someone further please call 01202 555 555 and either speak with David Aylott or Glinys Luff.

Thank you again for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel, I hope we get the opportunity to rectify your impression of the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I went away during the bank holiday weekend and were fortunate to stay at The Royal Bath Hotel which was the first hotel in Bournemouth opened in 1883. Cannot understand the complaints. Our room and bathroom had everything we needed. The cleaning staff do an excellent job. The buffets offered a good variety and the breakfast had everything we could ask for. The staff lead by David Aylott were courteous and always willing to chat and offer friendly advice. The gym had fantastic technogym equipment which pleased me not end. The hotel overlooks the sea so the location is brilliant.

We went for a good time and took everything the hotel had to offer and more. We will surely be booking to go back in August with our family to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday and wish the staff and hotel a fantastic summer.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavitaPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear KavitaPal

Thank you for reviewing the Royal Bath Hotel, I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Property: Royal Bath
Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on Queen Victoria’s coronation day in June 1838, The Royal Bath Hotel was the first hotel in Bournemouth and embodies the finest traditions of first class comfort and hospitality, so naturally it has a fantastic position on the sea front. Nestled in secluded grounds, with outstanding views across the bay, this classically styled hotel is one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing