We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mayfair Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grosvenor Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Burley Court Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Piccadilly(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Orchid Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Green House(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celebrity(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Queens Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
97
143
50
16
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
143
50
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdance breakcoach tripbus stopsunday lunchdance floorbus servicebusy roadplenty of hot waterfull english breakfastwaiting staffbit datedthird floorlounge areaan overnight staytown centreenjoyable stayone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 323 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We recently took a small group of dancers to the Mayfair hotel and were delighted with the warm welcome we received and the comfort of the hotel. It was a 'turkey and tinsel' break and our dancers enjoyed it immensely. The food was first-class and was extremely well presented by the excellent chef. Staff were all friendly and helpful and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We can highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go there again.
Philip & Sylvia Hague Dance Leaders, Eastbourne.

Room Tip: We could find no fault. Even the single rooms were of a good size.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was in a party of 28 ladies for a lunch time Christmas Party. 24 of the ladies had served in the ATS or Women's Royal Army Corps. We had a room to ourselves which was of ample size. It was festively decorated as were the tables. Just what we wanted. The combined age of the Service women was 2092!!!! Yes, 2092 years. The staff were kind and courteous and could not do enough for everyone. The food arrived promptly, was piping hot and nicely presented. Best of all was that the dishes of vegetables provided were just between two people so no passing hot food round in a circle. Would I go again? Certainly and I hope we have our party there next year. Would I recommend it? Certainly. The only downside was the parking as others have commented BUT where in a town or City centre would you find a hotel or restaurant with ample parking? It is well serviced with buses. Reception will always offer advice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylN999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very Central location, Perfect for Bus Routes, Great value for money, Warming, Welcoming and extremely helpful staff (especially Carol - we were in the area searching for a new home and she was only too happy to advise us with our every question!). Would recommend staying in this hotel to anyone and would definitely visit again. We took a discounted price from a price comparison site and the standard of the hotel was great for the price we paid. Only downside was an extremely squeaky bed and floorboards so walking around and rolling over disturbed our sleep temporarily (and perhaps people next door) but it really wasn't anything to worry about. Bed was somewhat uncomfortable but not unbearable - we compromised and swapped sides each night so one could have the good side! :). We had a big spacious room too.The location is paramount to this hotel and I'm sure its success because you can literally step outside and take a bus to the centre in 3 mins, the sea front in 2 and once in the centre you can go anywhere from Poole all the way across to Christchurch. Use this hotel if you wish to travel via bus everywhere. (p.s. get the yellow card, we paid £16 each for a week and it was a bargain!). The only slight quirk (which we found amusing more than anything) was the toilet paper ration! We started out the week with 1 roll on and 2 fresh rolls waiting, which declined until on the final day we didn't have any loo roll top ups at all! Haha. We didn't eat at this hotel as we felt the price was a bit above what we could afford but there is a plethora of cheap restaurants only minutes away in the centre. Would like to say thank you very much for a more than adequate stay :) Recommend room number 5 :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaLouiseGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stay here with my family, a 4 years old and my wife and the room was very clean and spacious. the hotel its got a car park and the location is very good as you can walk any where beach is just ten minutes so on that weekend really have a good fun.

i only pay for the room and as I can tell it was really good place to stay,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morenito01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I attended a private luncheon function this afternoon. Excellent, good food, good value, good company and excellent service. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I am sure we will return again. The only downside is the limited parking, however double parking with our own party solved any problem. Some of the lounge/bar furniture was a little worn though comfortable, the toilets were immaculate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews