We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for dancing”
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Arrived at the hotel at 2pm and the rooms were available nice friendly reception staff, our room is on the third floor looking out th the rear of the hotel . Room and bathroom very clean . The food in the restrant is first class and the wine fairley priced. We came to dance and did so dancing in the ballroom though the day and late in to the night the ballroom is not the biggest but the hotel limited the numbers to make it enjoyable . Will return agen

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 293 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed for an Argentine Tango weekend run by 2Tango.co.uk. There was a good medium sized ballroom for dances and tuition. It was a fantastic weekend. The food quality was excellent. All staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Excellent service. The room we stayed in was clean and tidy but looking a little tired. Our room picked up some traffic noise from Bath Road which is quite busy and might be a problem for some. Closing the windows reduced the noise significantly. We were told that the rooms to the rear were better in this respect. 10 minutes walk from the beach.

Room Tip: We were told that rooms to the rear picked up less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Family Christmas Turkey and Tinsel weekend at the Mayfair Bournemouth, Dec 2011. About 30 of us stayed here aged from 4 months to 75 years. We have been to Bournemouth at Christmas many times before, starting over 10 years ago. The hotels have been hit and miss but this was the best hotel we have stayed in. All the staff were very accommodating and friendly. Rooms clean and modern. Food very nice. On the afternoon of arrival we had fresh scones, cream, jam and tea and coffee (included in the price). In the evening Father Christmas came to see the kids, who all got a gift, as did all the Adults! Great atmosphere. Entertainment, singer one night and DJ the next were of a high standard. Staff flexible when dealing with children's meals. Comment I had from family member - "Really nice here....Couldn't say anything bad about it really". The management team are always there ensuring that we were looked after and seeing if there was anything they could do for us, which in turn set an example to all the staff who were courteous and helpful. Bit of noise from Traffic but good location for beach and town. Higher your room the less noise but lift only goes to first floor. Relaxing lounge areas with Bar and TV, some seats away from TV as well for quite drink. Very good value for money. If we came to Bournemouth again I wouldn't bother to look at other Hotels (we have stayed in quite a few), I would just book here. Some hotels in Bournemouth are very tired but this has been brought up to date. Ideal wedding reception venue. Has free car parking.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, 1st Floor. Very spacious. New bathroom. Huge bay window overlooking car park. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

From the advance booking stage right through to checking out, all the Mayfair staff were most helpful and courteous. But has Soy got an identical twin? [only joking - she was on reception, in the restaurant, everywhere!]

We spent Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights at The Mayfair and the welcome and food was second to none. The staff had a great sense of humour too, without being familiar or disrespectful.

The only down side was the amount of traffic noise, but we were there during the brilliant weather so everyone seemed to be in Bournemouth that weekend!

Would we recommend? Definitely. In fact we have made another provisional reservation.

Room Tip: The larger rooms appear to be nearest the busy road, so it could be a case of choosing space at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetrav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We came for a clubbing weekend (4 of us in our early 20's). Got a very resonable price for 55 pounds per night including a full english breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were old fashioned but very clean, and the shower was very powerful. Price of the breakfast is quite pricy for what you get but was very tasty. Floorboards were a little creaky which woke Leon up. Ideal location to acess clubs, pubs and beach. But on a lighter note, not as bad as people make out!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_Mwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed at the Mayfair with a coach party. Clean room, nice staff, very good food and service. A bit far from the seafront but excellent bus services from outside the hotel. The bar staff need a bit of training as they tried to charge a different price every round and they served a sherry in a tiny liquer glass but charged the full price for a proper measure. I could not stop laughing when it arrived as the glass was too small to be allowed out without it's mother.
All in all though the staff and the food made up for it. I would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: we had room 9 which was over the dining room and a bit noisy when there was entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

By far the best hotel for dancing that we have stayed at in 20 years of dancing. The excellent location was matched to the facilities and staff. The food is of a very high standard and the table staff knew how to serve, it is truly service with a smile.
The dance floor is excellent and matches the size of the hotel and will accommodate about 15 couples for sequence dancing; the dance leaders were fantastic and created a warm and friendly atmosphere, will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Some rooms are due a makeover so if not satisfied ask to change
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#44 of 67 in Bournemouth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#57 of 67 in Bournemouth
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $49 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, we want you to feel at home at the privately owned 3 star Mayfair Hotel. The warmth of our welcome and our friendly and efficient staff will ensure that you are comfortable and well looked after - whether your visit is for business or pleasure. The Hotel has 40 en suite bedrooms - all with TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and complimentary tea and coffee welcome tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing