We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bamboo Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamboo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bamboo Guesthouse
Ranked #23 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallington, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Bamboo Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a fabulous place. Stayed with my teenage daughter during an event weekend. Attentive, yet unobtrusive manager. Fabulous room with good decor and superbly clean. Wifi in rooms. Centrally located between town centre and the beach. Fabulous after care service too - we left our keys and oyster cards behind and no time was wasted in returning them - very carefully packaged to disguise the contents! Many, many thanks Kevin. Would recommend to anyone and definitely stay again. Penny O'Neill

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    44
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
120
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

A nicely decorated place, located on a small hill within easy walking distance to the city center and the beach. The owner was very friendly and gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant after asking in detail what we had in mind for dinner. The room was nicely designed but much smaller than I had expected. There is no lounge area either, so it's ok for one or two nights, for a longer stay I'd have felt cramped. The view from the rooms is not that great, either looking out on a busy street or a parking lot. There could be a bit more care put into breakfast. It's mostly "help yourself to anything in the fridge"-style, although there was very nice fresh pastry to choose from. All in all a nice place at a good price, although I wouldn't describe it as a luxury accommodation, as they do themselves on their webpage.

Room Tip: The ones looking out to the parking lot, e.g. room 4, are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Bournemouth and my girlfriend found this place. Pleasant helpful welcome when we checked in. We stayed in the standard double and it was very good, clean and well decorated with tea and coffee making facilities, but a little small. Father-in-law stayed in the single which wasn't ensuite ( we wasn't aware when booking) however it had a dedicated facility which was key lockable and a dressing gown supplied. Breakfast was good continental fair and served for long hours 8-12. All in all a very good stay, upmarket from the usual cheaper chain hotels, will use again

Room Tip: Car park opporsite site was closed, however it's only £5-£6 for 24 hours parking in NCP above Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed in a few hotels in Bournemouth - one night stays when visiting son at university. This has been the best we have found I terms of friendliness and value for money. Close to town and very warm and friendly. Lots of places have said they are boutique and good quality but this is the first we have stayed at that lives up to its name! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed I room 2 - top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse last weekend, as we had to visit my brother in hospital. A warm welcome from Mark awaited us, as well as ventured into the house, what can only be described as a rose between thorns - don't judge the house by its neighbours.
The house is very clean and tastefully styled with a mix of contemporary and baroque (Lawrence may have advised on the lighting). The pictures on the site do not capture, the peaceful ambiance, and cleanliness of the house and rooms.
A comfortable nights sleep followed by a lovely continental breakfast really did make our stay very pleasant given it was not a holiday trip. We would highly recommend the Bamboo Guesthouse, exceptional quality and value. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

my husband and i stayed in the bamboo guest house on the bank holiday at the end of may 2013.we were alarmed when we saw the other properties on the same rank.However we neednt of worried as the bamboo was spick and span.Please dont be put of staying there because of first impressions.We had a first class stay. Although our room was small it was modern bright and cosy.We usually stay in hotels but thought we would try a guesthouse instead. I was surprised at the standard of this b and b. All the little extras made it value for money and added a touch of luxury.The staff were attentive and helpful, the breakfast was excellent and if you are a late riser you can help yourself up until noon.Please note if you have a car, there is a carpark opposite b anb . Overnight parking from 11pm untill 8am is only 1 pound.We also had a good nights sleep,as the bamboo is very quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

My partner and I came to Bournemouth to visit our daughter in university. We were recommended Bamboo by our friends who stayed in April.
We were greeted by a young man who was friendly and attentive. Our first impressions of the guest house were, very clean, bright and the amazing art work really gave the impression you are stepping into a small boutique hotel rather than a guest house.
The owner recommended a local Thai restaurant, and I have to stay that the food was divine! A great choice for anyone who loves Thai food.

Breakfast was really nice, continental breakfast with many things to choose from. The owner was kind and helpful but not intrusive.

The next time we are in Bournemouth we will certainly be staying at bamboo!

Thank you for a fantastic stay! The customer service was top notch and the stylish clean rooms were just want we were looking for.

Thanks again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterdance67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#14 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#3 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#6 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#15 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guesthouse

Property: Bamboo Guesthouse
Address: 7 Upper Terrace Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamboo Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo is Bournemouth’s new designer boutique style hotel. After a complete refurbishment, our Grade II listed 1870’s Victorian town house offers every luxury you would expect in a modern guest accommodation. Bamboo offers an ideal base for visitors to Bournemouth wanting high quality affordable accommodation. Located in the centre of Bournemouth, Bamboo is a great location whether you are here to relax, shop, work or party. Bamboo is just a stones throw away from the main shopping area, the beach, the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) and is literally a couple of minutes walk from the bars restaurants and gay nightlife in the Triangle.Bamboo has limited free roadside parking available but these spaces cannot be guaranteed but directly opposite the guesthouse is the Terrace Mount Carpark providing a safe and secure place to park costing just 8.00 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Guesthouse Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing