We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“southbourne hub”
Review of Ludo Lounge

Ludo Lounge
Ranked #153 of 756 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ludo Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“southbourne hub”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

To be truthful, I try not to go as I find it too loud on the weekends due to the acoustics and end up shouting, but daytime is good, relaxing, adds to high vibe. Food is pub grub, prezzo, zizzi end of market. I go about twice a month for adult drinks. And food and quite often with the kids in the day, its the best place with kids as no one minds and the theres a few games. I get to chat with friends. Its my default option at all times, saves us from the awful harvester. I would recommend , but not for cosy. Cosys next door, vut at a premium. This is a good pub.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahsouthbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, General Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi Sarah

Thank you for your feedback regarding Ludo Lounge. We appreciate that during busy times, the high ceiling at the front can make acoustics a little loud but it is good to hear that overall this does not put you off visiting and you are enjoying what Ludo Lounge has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Will
General Manager
Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    95
    59
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to meet up with friends”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely time at Ludo Lounge yesterday. Bar staff wear efficient and friendly and the whole place was clean. Great atmosphere and good food. I had a Smokehouse Hot Dog and it was delicious. Look forward to visiting again soon x

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, General Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi JB

Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent visit to Ludo Lounge. We're glad you enjoyed your experience and the Smokehouse was enjoyable. A very good choice!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards

Will
General Manager
Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does anyone here actually care”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

For a group that's new starting to grow around bournemouth people need to wake up before your back to square one. Over priced food for what tastes mainly microwaved. Gnocci to the table in 5 minutes is going to be far from fresh and tasted as bland as some smash with a bit of flour in it. The fish, which I was assured was fresh that morning was the size of two standard fish fingers. This being thrown onto a plate with lumps of pure burnt batter strategically placed around my plate doesn't live up to £12, especially with what was obviously shop bought tartar sauce. Being confirmed by our waiter that it was far to small they preceded to bring me a replacement of equal quality and obviously the same, now cold soggy chips as was on my previous plate. Is it really that difficult. People need to get back to basics here in providing customer service and cooking. If they didn't think they could keep getting away with sending out poor food they wouldn't keep letting it leave the kitchen. Wake up!

Helpful?
Thank chrisnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, General Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Chris

I am sorry to see you did not have a good experience with us at Ludo Lounge recently. We always strive to produce good quality food on a consistent basis so it is frustrating to hear you did not enjoy your experience. Having dealt with you at the time of your visit the fish was indeed not its usual standard and this is why you received a full refund by way of an apology.

Again I fully apologise for the experience you had on this occasion, Myself and my staff do very much care about the standards and reputation of our Lounge and strive to be the best on a daily basis. I sincerely hope you will return to Ludo for a better experience and witness this yourself.

Regards

Will
General Manager
Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A relaxing place to eat”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Ludo Lounge is very good if you are looking for a casual dining experience. You order your meals at the bar. The food is reasonably priced and good quality for this type of bar/restaurant. Check out the regular 'specials'. There are separate areas for dining and just having a drink and you can relax in comfortable chairs/settees.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GHarrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, General Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your recent visit to Ludo Lounge.

It is great to know you enjoyed your service, food and the experience of the Lounge in general.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots of choice, easy atmosphere.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Friendly restaurant great vibe, whether with friends or family . Been here lots of times and is consistently good either for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Lots of choice, and service good but not formal which is nice. Dress up or down and feel comfortable which ever, can also bring your children without feeling its a problem. Overall nice relaxed atmosphere which I would recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ludo Lounge also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Ludo Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing