We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous hotel - will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel - will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

First stay at The Green House. Stayed in a master suite with family of four during school hols. Even though we stayed in one of the smaller suites, it was fairly spacious and had enough space for 2 adults and 2 kids aged 10 and 16. The bathroom was great (although the open plan nature of the room meant that we had to get ready in shifts!). Huge bath tub and shower. Service was excellent and staff were friendly. Breakfast was delicious. The kids loved the croissants and cinnamon swirls. Would have liked beans with breakfast - otherwise perfect! Location was perfect - 5 mins to beachfront. Hotel has beach toys that you can borrow. Decor was completed to high standard. Really clean. Hotel exceeded expectations. Only (really minor) downsides: bed was too soft for me, walls were a bit thin so could hear conversations of other guests and would have liked a fridge in the room.

Green Features: Eco friendly hotel- every thing recycled and up cycled.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    192
    43
    19
    10
See reviews for
94
424
10
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had our wedding at The Green House on Saturday 2nd August 2014. It was a fantastic day! The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. All of our guests really enjoyed the food and loved the rooms. We would recommend The Green House to anyone who is looking for a modern, friendly hotel for their wedding.

Room Tip: Crab Apple is very comfortable and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night to a wedding reception
The hotel staff and everything about it are first class,
The lady Aga in the restaurant look after us all for the meal and Work really hard and she is a first class member of staff.
The rooms are all very clean and tidy,beds are really good too.


Will stay again
Roger .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilfggggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Such a shame we decided to stay here in the school hols as I think the place would feel so different at other less busy times but the noise from the room next door was clearly audible which ruined it. My friend stayed in one room and was kept awake most of the night due to children slamming the doors in the room next to him. Such a shame cos the hotel itself was really nice. Staff were pretty awful- we had an afternoon tea on the lawn one afternoon and the staff were less then attentive but I guess it comes down to peak season problems again. Room was comfy and clean and breakfast nice although staff unattentive to needs. Would like to return when less busy

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for a romantic anniversary get away and it was absolutely beautiful.
The rooms were large and spotlessly clean. Very modern with stylish bathrooms.
I didn't find the bed very comfy but my wife loved it - personal preference I guess!
Staff service was generally good thy were polite and efficient. Great stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Familytravels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in March. He had been to Bournemouth several times but it was his first time staying here, and I'm so glad he choose this over other options.
Staff are welcoming, helpful and considerate. The rooms are very, very comfortable with a surprisingly spacious en-suite. Lovely little touches in the room separate it from the bog-standard chains, including the quaint room-names of trees. The location os the hotel is nice and central and we spent Friday evening walking around the town and for dinner. On the Saturday night we ate in the hotel restaurant (you need to book ahead as it's usually booked out at weekends) and once again both the food and the service were up to a high standard. We really had a lovely weekend away, and should I return to Bournemouth I wouldn't risk to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senzaparole03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel met all expectations. We stayed two nights 11 and 12 July for the International Cheerleading competition held at BIC. The hotel is quiet, comfortable, modern and well presented and the staff service excellent. I found this hotel on the internet and chose by the ratings which were all good, so this lived up to its online reputation. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely book again. It is only about 100 yards from the wonderful Bournemouth beach and within easy walking distance of the BIC and town centre.

Room Tip: The standard room was very good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly in all aspects. See their own practices on their website.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlynMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,886 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 78 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing