We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Green House Hotel (again) and celebrated my father's 80th birthday there. Their attention to our requests was faultless. Everything was superb from Caz on Reception to the wonderful Hungarian waitress in the restaurant . The food was fantastic aswell as the presentation. We would highly recommend this hotel and are already looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    223
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
113
508
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked a one night stay at this hotel through a company called Mr and Mrs Smith. On arrival we parked right outside the front and were delighted with the decor and reception we received. We were shown to our room Holm Oak, on the second floor and given a flask of milk as there are no fridges in the rooms. The room was beautifully decorated, modern with nice touches- homemade shortbread biscuits. The bathroom was great, lovely big shower. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of champagne each in the comfy bar and chose to go out locally for dinner. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. The wifi is easily picked up but did seem to be very slow to download pages. Overall we enjoyed our short stay here and would recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Haze8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing find this hotel was. Situated in the town centre we're weren't hoping for too much, but this place absolutely exceeded expectations. The staff and level of service were fabulous - Any questions were always met with a smile. Rooms are well decorated, clean and modern. The house restaurant is the hidden gem - beautiful looking and tasting food..and the cheese board...wow! Oh i forgot to mention the freshly baked scones for cream tea.. :)
There's loads to do in the area and a trip to Swanage is recommended. Hoping to find time to return one day soon...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_dek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

we had a standard double which was adequate in size, ensuite good. room and bathroom very clean. food (breakfast and dinner) was excellent quality and portion sizes reasonable too. staff very helpful and informative. close to the town center although the hill back from town maybe a struggle for some...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights recently for the wedding of two good friends.

The hotel is set in a leafy lane a few minutes' walk from the town centre and sea front. There is ample parking space and the reception was warm and friendly.

Our room (all the rooms are named after trees- ours was Silver Birch) was warmly decorated, with ample storage space and a magnificent bathroom. The walk-in shower was gorgeous, while the Victorian roll-top bath was deep and comfortable.

Room service was swift and the food of a high standard, as was the case at the wedding breakfast. The bar and restaurant were both comfortable and well designed; service was also very good at both venues.

We will definitely return next year, once the weather improves and we have more time to explore the town. Everything was a bit rushed on account of the wedding, but the next time we visit Bournemouth we will certainly make The Green House our base.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SprinterSacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I applaud the owners for their design and style of the hotel. They try to adhere to Eco friendly standards and all the rooms are named after different trees which I found to be a nice touch. The rooms are well appointed and the ceilings are enormous; even in the single standard rooms.

The bathroom had a beautiful glass shower and the toiletries were came from Temple Spa.

I paid 99 pounds for the evening (including breakfast) and found it to be good value.

I ate in their fine dining restaurant as well. I found the dishes to be pleasant but short of tasty. Their warm rice pudding however is sublime.

Parking is free as is internet but the wifi coverage is extremely poor in certain areas. Staff did try to help me with the problem by providing Ethernet cables but I didn't much have luck with that either.

I would return to the hotel if I was passing through the region.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Critic999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A lovely hotel in a superb central location, a short walk to the town centre and main attractions. The staff were kind, welcoming and friendly and the room was beautiful although a little small for a longer stay.
the food was delicious and at quality standard.

We would highly recommend this hotel and would love a return visit.
after staying in some so called quality hotels in Bournemouth, this one knocks them for six, just wish we had found it earlier.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing