We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a find”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quite a find”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Green House celebrating a birthday. The hotel was a real surprise - so stylish with outstanding green credentials.The staff were personable and professional. We were particularly impressed with the welcome afforded us on arrival - we were escorted to our comfortable room where the delightful receptionist explained how everything worked and told us all about the hotel's Ecco operation. The restaurant was outstanding - super food and such good value. We will return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    230
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
116
522
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Green House for 4 nights at the end of October. We booked through an internet agency and had a standard room with breakfast. The hotel is set in its own grounds close to the centre of Bournemouth.
On arrival we were greeted professionally and shown to our room. The room was a reasonable size and the bathroom smart and stylish with a large shower. The room had a king sized bed which was very comfortable and had good quality linen. The room had a radiator but no air conditioning. The window was single glazed and had very limited opening. The room was nicely styled and decorated. There was very little storage or usable surface area for two guests staying more than one night. The walls were exceptionally thin and all sounds could be heard from the two rooms on either side and the room above. The door lock was basic and not double lockable from the inside.
Breakfast was good. The restaurant was again attractive and nicely styled. Service was friendly and efficient but quite slow on busy mornings. The quality of the food served was very good. The ingredients used were clearly carefully chosen. We did not eat other meals there and chose to eat locally.
The bar was attractive but had the usual high hotel prices and was often used by conference/meeting delegates. Reception area was clean and attractive but not set up as somewhere for guests to sit and relax. There was no usable outside area this time of year but there is in the summer.
To clarify:
Good points, 1. Ideal location. 2. Pleasant and efficient staff. 3. Comfortable beds. 4.Good quality breakfast.
Bad points, 1. Exceptionally noisy rooms. 2. Poor storage and usable surfaces in rooms. 3. Apart from the bar there is no other area for guests to use. 4. Poor door locks.
We have tried to be objective in our comments above but we subjectively sum up as follows.The Green House is very pleasant with green credentials and attractive styling. We liked the location and the breakfast too. The rooms lack storage and usable surfaces and are about appearance rather than function. This goes for other aspects of the hotel too. For us the main issue is the noisy character of the hotel. We were on a much needed short break and as such wanted and needed a room that was quiet and relaxing. We were disturbed each day by neighbours doing normal things e.g. watching TV, listening to the in-house music system, using mobile phones, alarm clocks or simply talking.
Try the Green House for yourself but it was not for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suffolkholidayperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew that we had chosen a great place to stay. Having experienced the bad side of Bournemouth accommodation, it was a relief to find somewhere that was clean, friendly and comfortable.
The Green house is a few minutes walk from the seafront, and although it has a car park, this gets busy so you may need to pay and display outside. We were lucky, and managed to park, and not use the car because it provided us with a great base to walk along the coast.
The room we stayed in was large, clean and welcoming. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have stayed in. The little extras like bottled filtered water and homemade shortbread biscuits were a nice touch.
Our bathroom was immaculately clean, with a really large powerful shower and fresh clean towels daily.
Breakfast was varied and extremely tasty, choices including wild mushrooms on toast, scrambled egg with smoked salmon, as well as a continental style buffet with fresh compotes and very tasty pastries.
We booked through hotels.com and got a very reasonable deal for our room, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thehilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

after a prolonged search found the green house on a booking site and what a find, the hotel is beautiful the staff were very friendly and very helpful ,we stayed in a room on the 2nd floor which suited our needs perfectly. ten minute walk into Bournemouth town centre .looking forward to staying here again next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The bed was very comfy, the food good and loved the character of the room as well as the huge shower. The only thing I would slightly criticise is the room was cold when going to bed so put a lot on but woke up stiflingly hot in the morning when the heating kicked in.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank chesy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night after reading reviews from Mr&Mrs Smith website. It didn't let us down at all. The staff were friendly and courteous. We had "the Master Room", which was sufficiently big enough for a family of four. Lovely high ceilings, beautifully finished bathroom, modern styling...all lived up to the Mr&Mrs Smith review. The only thing to let it down was the bed...quite saggy on one side, and the sofa bed was quite firm. I wouldn't recommend it for an adult. however, both of these were reported to management, so perhaps they were both due for replacement. There was off street parking and it was also a convenient walk to the beach. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and it catered well for the children.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked a Master Double for a 3 night stay. We were given Cedar on the 1st floor. First impressions were excellent. The roll top bath was impressive. We were disappointed by the noise from the room above. We could hear the floor boards creeking throughout the night, as occupants obviously were nocturnal! We were then moved to Crab Apple for the remainder of our stay. This room is far larger than Cedar. The feature bathroom is fantastic. The only disappointment was that the kitchen is below and has an outside door, that every time it was used it banged loudly shut. This went on until around 11pm. Oh and the housekeeping store room is directly above, so you get the loud footsteps from above each morning. All this aside, we did enjoy our stay and understand that nowhere is soundproof ha ha. A lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
895 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing