We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem...”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A little gem...”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed for the weekend in August to attend a wedding and it was lovely for the wedding party to have sole occupancy of the hotel.

This place is a little gem, it’s tucked away down a lovely leafy road and definitely a place to try if you like something special…

We stayed in the Holly Room, at the top of the hotel, facing the front, if I had one thing to note it would be that A/C or a fan would have been useful that particular weekend as it was ‘summertime’ and the room did get pretty hot even with the window left open (by the way I just loved the shutters, a nice touch!)

The room itself was spacious enough, although the wardrobe door could have done with a squirt of WD40, and the large walk-in shower was my kind of thing…

Loved the roll top bath and it being in the room in front of the window, another little touch were the homemade biscuits, which were delicious :-)

The Staff were very attentive and responded to any requests, we had to have the duvet and pillows changed (due to allergies) as they were duck-down, this was done and without any fuss, the bed by the way was nice and big and sooooo comfortable.

We had breakfast on the Sunday and our only gripe was that the fried bread was completely over cooked, apart from that you couldn’t fault it, the choice was varied, from fresh fruit, continental to full English, so definitely something for everyone and it was good to see the food was sourced locally where possible.

The wedding itself was lovely and flowed really well, the décor was pleasing and the garden area to the front of the hotel is an added bonus. The food served for the Wedding Breakfast was outstanding, the Mushroom ‘froth’ for the appetizer was very different but very tasty, the lamb starter was delightful and the mint ‘jelly’ was so cool, such a fun fab idea!

The evening reception was held in the hotel’s event room, this was of a reasonable size and in the ‘basement’ of the hotel, although you wouldn’t know it, it was also nice to have a bar area down there as well as the main bar upstairs.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it’s close enough to the beach and everything else that Bournemouth has to offer and if you like ‘extra special touches’ this will be the place for you. Would we come back? Yes that’s for sure… :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    230
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
116
522
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This trip was a complete surprise and upon arriving at the hotel, both myself and my partner were greeted warmly by the member of staff at reception - throughout our stay, the staff were very helpful and not over-bearing but extremely friendly. The rooms were great and we really appreciated the finishing touches and the finer details. The hotel's Green commitment is fantastic and doesn't compromise on quality. Bournemouth itself didn't grab us but The Green House was a perfect base to explore Christchurch, Sandbanks and Shell Island. My only niggle would be breakfast service - the first day I ordered New Forest mushrooms on toast, I enjoyed it so I ordered again on the second day however the dish was served completely differently on day 2 without the accompanying sauce. There was also a slight issue with coffee, I alerted the staff as it looked as though the milk had curdled. They were polite and helpful, bringing another to the table but this was exactly the same! All was rectified on day 2, though. Brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything in this hotel has been carefully selected for its ecological and energy saving qualities which includes all the furniture fixtures and services. It is also of the finest quality. The roll-top baths some being part of the room are a feature though we had a gorgeous large bathroom with a walk-in shower and bath as we were given a most welcome upgrade to a Master Bedroom. The breakfast is beautifully served mostly to order and homemade which is a nice change from the usual bland buffet breakfast offered elsewhere in the UK. Location is OK for beaches and town but not actually on the seafront.
Solar power heats the water so it isnt always blazing hot but who cares when all else is so lovely. Well worth paying a little more for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Superb value, lovely quality food and some organic wines. High quality organic and down bedding and brilliant eco credentials, service exceptional with the exception of breakfast where there were just not enough staff. Hopefully this minor issue will be dealt with soon.

Trip advisor asks you to review both the pool and fitness centre, however these facilities are not available (slight computer blip)

Room Tip: For a quiet room be upstairs and away from the bar, kitchen and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llbcjmsll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Returned earlier this week following a two night stay at the Green House. My boyfriend had wanted to visit Bournemouth after enjoying himself there as a child, however it isn't the type of place that would normally appeal to me, and hence I was very glad when we came came across the Green House as a place to base ourselves whilst we explored areas further afield (New Forest, Christchurch, Sandbanks).

Overall this is a great hotel, which in my opinion stands far and away above any other hotel in the Bournemouth area, but there were a few niggles which mean that I wouldn't give it the Excellent rating.

The main one of these being the resturant, which although great in the presentation and taste of the food took an awfully long time to be served, and always seemed to have run out of something when we ate there (two breakfasts and two dinners). On the first night we decided to have a pre-dinner drink in the bar, and whilst there we noticed that a few couples were pre-ordering their food with a waiter there. We later realised that this was so they could make sure that they could have their first choices, as by the time we came to order (at our 8pm reservation) the scallops and steak had both run out. Not to worry we thought, and we chose other things. Food is obviously cooked to order, which is as it should, but it seemed as though there must have only been one chef in the kitchen as it took a little over two hours for us to get through our first and main courses! By the time came to order desert at 10:15pm we were tired after the travel earlier in the day, and to not cause an even further delay we asked if it could be delivered to our room, and we both opted for the cheese board, and a glass of port. We were told however that despite two options of Port in the drinks menu they were out of both (have you ever known this to happen before). A little while later two magnificent towers of cheese, biscuits, chutney and fruit were brought to us, wonderful, but way to much to eat!
The following evening at dinner we decided to copy the idea idea of pre-ordering our food whilst in the bar, and thus only going into the resturant when the starters were ready, and this was much quicker and eneabled us to have our first choices, and I would advise other doing similar. One strange thing that we thought was that on neither evening were we offerred any bread to keep us going whilst we waited for our food, despite having side plates for it.
Breakfast was good, and cooked to order, but again it seemed that on each occassion they had run out of something, brown bread one of the mornings!

In regard to the ctual hotel the decorations were excellent, and I enjoyed to be able to read in the guidebook in our room where everything had been sourced from and the reason behind doing so.
Staff at check-in were efficient, and all the waiters were good. A particular mention of the young barman who was excellent.

We stayed in one of the Master Doubles, so in effect a Suite, which was on the second floor at the front of the house. The room was spotlessly clean, although we did notice that one of the door handles on the wardrobe door looked as though it may fall off.
The roll top bath in the bedroom was a great treat if the water was hot enough, which it wasn't all of the time which was annoying. We reported this to reception to be told that the water was heated by solar power, which was why it hadn't been boiling hot, but that they would get maintenence to look at it for us. When the bath next came to be used later that day the water was lovely and warm, but again the following morning it had returned to being lukewarm. When you pay the price for a Master Room with such a bath you expect to be able to use it whenever you wish, not just when it has been sunny enough to heat the water properly - goodness knows how anyone has a hot bath in the winter!

My only only gripe would be the fact that there were noisy children staying in the hotel, which although is not the hotel's fault i'm sure that other people like myself may agree that you'd prefer not to be woken up at 6am in the morning due to the child in the room next to yours. A suggestion for the hotel would be to assign guests with children to one particular area in the hotel, so as to lessen the disturbance to those travelling without children, which I imagine would be the majority of guests.

Room Tip: We stsyed in the Horse Chesnut Master Room, which was nice - at the top of the hotel overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel, located very close to the sea front and town centre.

We opted for a large double complete with the roll topped bath in the bedroom. The room was beautiful, large and spacious with plenty of natural light. The bed, pillows and linen were excellent, and the bathroom clean and spacious with a nice powerful shower.

Breakfast was served in the dining room downstairs and comprised of cereal, fruit, yoghurts and pastries, as well as cooked to order hot selection. All ingredients were locally sourced and organic, and extremely tasty.

We also ate in the restaurant on one night - food was beautifully prepared and good quality, along with a nice wine selection.

The thing I liked most was the ambience in this hotel - the bar area was stunning, and decor amazing throughout and the thing that made it overall was the staff, they could not be any more hospitable in my opinion, a refreshing change from some other establishments.

I cannot recommend this hotel highley enough, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeburkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a truly beautiful hotel, with kind and accommodating staff. From the moment we walked in, we were so well looked after - our room was upgraded, and we were shown around by a very helpful gentleman who brought us to our STUNNING room [the Poplar room I believe.]
The room was spotless, with everything you could wish for [ipod dock, water, homemade cookies and great bathroom products - the little details make all the difference] tea and coffee making facilities in the room, with fresh milk in the mini fridges in the corridor.
The entire hotel is just beautifully decorated - very classy, and the bed incredibly comfortable.
Breakfast was lovely, and we upgraded to have a glass of bubbly too [very nice touch!] My only regret is not dining at the restaurant, but I'm sure we will return in the not so distant future.
Thank you to all at the Green House for a fab weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kategxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing