We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guesthouse but room to improve!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Guesthouse but room to improve!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed last week. Service from Kas at reception was fun and fantastic and we got a reasonable deal for a room and dinner. Make no mistake though that this is really a guesthouse or a basic hotel, it is not a boutique hotel. Rooms were nice, food in the restaurant was lovely quality and certainly interesting. After having looked at every hotel in Sandbanks we stayed here as it was the ONLY place we could find with decent quality carpets, beds, linens and bathrooms! We had a very comfortable stay but I felt it was over priced for what it is.

Improvements would be: better sound proofing, people above sound like elephants!! New wood polish, as it smells like wee! Seriously! Improve the entrance door and main steps they are shabby and very underwhelming. Get British waiting staff that speak english!! Improve quality of the breakfast this was really quite poor. Move the smoking ashtray away from the front door. Landscape the garden to shield the restaurant from the road and carpark!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the front to benefit from sunshine and a decent view or maybe the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseagirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    218
    58
    20
    12
See reviews for
113
502
13
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife (38 wks pregnant) and I visited for 3 nights. Our experience was high quality - the hotel itself stands out from others around it. The staff were friendly and welcoming - Lizzie who checked us in kindly took us up to our room, helped with our luggage and explained everything we needed to know. The manager himself later presented us with a variety of teas when we'd requested. Stayed in the horse chestnut room - biggest in the hotel - and appreciated the extra sofa and space. The bed was terrific, linen highest quality and roll top bath in the bedroom underneath a window with sea views was a perfect touch. A small quibble would be that we expected, for the price we were paying, to find a fridge in the room. All in all though, a great experience - we would definitely come again!

Room Tip: Horse Chestnut room is biggest in hotel. View of the sea, bath in bedroom, good location away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mennojonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night after attending a concert in town. The hotel itself is very well located, the food was very pleasant and the wine went down well, but we were put in a room right next to the lift and were disturbed every time someone went up or down - which was alot. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the organic food and eco-friendly touches and room aside would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room next to the lift - it is a constant noise nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

In a town of average, aged, or tired hotels the Green House stands out as an excellent exception. Nicely curated and expertly delivered.
I avoid hotel breakfasts and bars like the plague as they're usually overpriced and less than average. On both counts this place is a surprise – good food, good environment, good wines and a great level of service. Maybe Bournemouth has turned a corner?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is in a good area within walking distance to town and the beach.
Rooms are light, airy and decorated well. Lovely big modern bathrooms.
Staff are polite and attentive. Restaurant provides excellent food cooked well with a variety of good wines.
A great hotel what ever month you decide to travel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Like most eco friendly hotels, this was beige and bare in character, lacking any discernible spirit and feeling somewhat empty. You really need to be into the 'sustainable vibe' in order to overlook the many service deficiencies.
A call to the hotel en route to check directions went unanswered. Indeed, upon arrival, the Reception was unattended; we were then asked to wait whilst a member of staff was found who could show us to the room; the so called 'night menu' of 4 items was unavailable, with cheese platter being the only option; breakfast was truly disappointing with dreadful orange juice and overbearing staff who merely wanted to rush us through the meal.
To be fair, the bed was excellent........but that was the only feature of our stay which merits praise. It was all rather worthy as a concept, but service levels fell short of 4 star expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LombardLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

In town for a conference. 3 days in April. Big bedroom, stylish, great service, nice bar, good breakfast, big bed, big modern shower. Hard to find fault, and I'm pretty picky.Parking reasonably generous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowdriveroxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing