We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked into the master double room, the refurb of the building is very nicely done, lift to lobby slightly awkward (we had a buggy) but staff was very accomodating. Food was great, really enjoyed the breakfast. Location was also convenient for getting into town. Milk fridges outside the rooms are a nice touch.

The only minus for us is the lack of soundproofing between rooms. There was a wedding reception on the weekend we stayed, which was fine (couldn't really hear the wedding itself), unfortunately it sounded like one of the wedding parties has booked the room next to us, and some rather randy couple(s?) had been at it from quite early on in the evening... not great when we had a small child with us. We overall had a nice experience there but I really hope that they can sort this issue out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safetyzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    217
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
112
492
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent two days here on a training course. The facilities were fine - there are various business rooms for hire downstairs, where teas, coffees, croissants & biscuits are supplied.
Lunch was supplied in the main hotel restaurant each day, and was very flavoursome & varied (although the white chocolate cake for desert on the first day was fairly hard and so not particularly nice).
All in all, everything needed for training or business meetings was supplied, no real complaints, so I would recommend this venue.
A couple of colleagues who stayed in the hotel rooms also commented that these were clean and comfortable, but I cannot confirm that as I didn't stay here myself.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank st321st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We love staying at hotels so when I say we would definitely return, I don't say this lightly. Although the reviews were good I was a bit skeptical as the area in which its located is full of outdated hotels. From the moment we stepped inside the door the service was faultless. We were shown to our room and told where everything was. There was even fresh milk for tea and coffee. The room was superb with a huge walk in shower and free standing bath. The room decor was lovely and the in room info folder was full of interesting information to back up their green credentials. We ate in the restaurant which, again, was superb. The staff were welcoming and friendly which made it a relaxed atmosphere. I am a very light sleeper but had a great nights sleep with no interruptions from noise or from an uncomfortable bed (my husband thinks I'm like the princess and the pea !) It was really good value for money. On valentines we paid £240 for dinner, bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Spend a bit extra for a master bedroom. They are on the second floor and so nice we wanted to move i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed over night to visit at hotels in Bournemouth, easy access to restaurants, shops, cinema and beach. Hotel very spacious, we asked for room available which was at the top of the building, huge balcony with amazing views. Fantastic place to stay to visit Bournemouth, birthday lunch
on 6th february, 2013.
Was this review helpful? Yes

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sushil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stay in a lot if hotels and can honestly say this is in my top 5. The attention to detail is second to none - pleasant attentive and helpful staff. Some of the larger well known hotel chains could learn a lot from the way the Greenhouse is run. I look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treed0480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

For our Daughters 30th Birthday, she chose to have lunch at the Hotel. The staff were helpful and professional in all aspects of the afternoon. Table service flawless, food equally so, and overall a delightful experience. We would not hesitate in recommending the venue to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for 2 nights in January for a long relaxing weekend break and we were not disappointed. We found a great deal through Expedia and booked a Master Double and were not disappointed. We had previously read reviews about the walls being very thin and as I am a very light sleeper, we asked for a room away from as much noise as possible. Once we received our confirmation from Expedia, we received a phone call to advise that there was a party on the Friday night and a small wedding on the Saturday night, but was told the bar/night will end by midnight so we were okay with this. When we checked in, we were told we had a room on the top floor away from all the noise and we were not disappointed. The walls were thin and on occassions could here the neighbours but luckily they were not too bad.
The room was of decent size and the bathroom was huge. The bath tub was very big and had a lovely shower too.
We had the breakfast on both mornings and was lovely. It was simple but tasteful.
We enjoyed the complimentary home made cookies in the room and also the tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We asked for fresh milk and they gave us milk in a flask which was nice.
The hotel is in a great location, near the centre but not in the heart of it all. It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach as well and between 5-10 minutes to the shopping and restaurants.
I would reccommend this hotel and ask for a room on the top floor if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor and away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing