We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall pretty good - but its pretty expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“overall pretty good - but its pretty expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed for the weekend, and took two rooms , both superior doubles. Booked through the hotel site - the booking came back as being through hotel.com - and described the rooms as junior suites - one probably was ('crab apple') the other definitely wasn't ( Cedar) - the hotel explained this had little to do with them but its their booking site! tQuite different in layout and size, so you may want to be prettty clear what you are booking in advance - not sure how the hotel would help here.

At £420 per room for two nights per room , this is an expensive hotel by any standards for a weekend. I suspect the good trip adviser ratings means there is minimal discounting necessary.

Rooms are nicely furnished with quality finishing - my two daughters found the open bathroom a bit intimidating - so if you like privacy in the bathroom this is not for you. The place had a nice feel, not quite boutique, its too large for that but everthing of good quality and of contemporary taste. My wife, who loved the place found it rather bizarre / off putting that a wardrobe was in the toilet room (which is seperate to the bathroom).

We left feeling it was a place to go back to because it was very comfortable and a little different. We had breakfast but not dinner. Food of good quality at breakfast but slight sense of being understaffed - we had to chase for extra coffee, bowls for the buffet etc etc.

So a quality hotel - trying hard to be a little different, and overall succeeds in being sufficiently different to be worth a try.

Room Tip: ask the hotel to explain the room sizes and layout - each room is unique so you either see that as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosullivan, General Manager at The Green House, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I have just been investigating our website and it does say Master Double and not Junior suite. Our booking agent is not Hotels.com so it could be possible you used a different site. We do not advertise our Master Doubles as suites as they do not all have a seperate seating area. A few of our rooms have open plan bathrooms which are a lot of guests preference. As we are a boutique hotel all our rooms are different shapes and sizes so it is always good to have a chat with one of our reservations team to ensure you get exactly what you hope for! I am delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and if you are returning ensure you check out our website first for packages which always offer good savings! If you would like to contact me please call on 01202 498900 or email oosullivan@thegreenhousehotel.com

Thank you! Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    217
    57
    19
    11
See reviews for
112
494
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

After reading quite a few reviews after booking 2 night stay was a bit unsure as we were traveling from Durham.But on arrival we were impressed from the start ,the staff were all very friendly and very helpful.We were taken to our room personally. Lounge bar was a smart though relaxing room where we enjoyed afternoon tea and later a pre- dinner drink .Service was second to none.Evening meal was superb as was the breakfasts.Their attention to detail was very evident in all areas and made this weekend stay the best we've had . Though bit expensive we shall be returning here as we firmly believe you pay for what you get and here you get it all and more, from the moment you walk through the door, We're looking forward to our next visit .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosullivan, General Manager at The Green House, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you so much for such a nice review. The Green House team will find this very rewarding! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to hear that you will be back! If you are not already on our mailing list please forward me your email and I will add you so you can always avail of our return guest special! Alternatively you can have a look at our website for our monthly packages which are always good value! Hope to see you soon.

Thanks again! Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

on arrival had a nice welcome and were taken to the room personally. the small double (as described) is compact. opening the wardrobe and making tea was 'tight' - so if you want space go for the bigger double. bar superb and food stunning inc breakfast. without going over the top you are well looked after. oh it did take us ages to work out the super eco kettle.

99 quid for b and b is good value here me thinks

Room Tip: think size! and ask for a demo of the kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonydrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

A very smart, very lovely little hotel. The bed and bedding were gorgeous. I was staying for business and had a very relaxing time. The decor is smart and modern. I couldnt help feeling that (for the money) they could have been more generous in the room (not sure I like old tea bags stuffed into glass jars) and it was a little tricky perching the kettle from the wardrobe onto the bureau when i was doing some work. All that aside, its still one of the nicest hotels in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: some rooms have a roll top bath, mine unfortunately didnt so i would request this at booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHughespayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Highlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

On the positive side the staff were terrific. Friendly and helpful. The bedroom and ensuite were really plush. The food was superb and the location couldn't be better. 5 mins walk down to the centre or the beach. On the negative side it is expensive and the noise insulation could be a lot better. On the whole we enjoyed it immensely and hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHighlandsCrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilsington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Green House Hotel. It is very centrally located, so easy to pop into Bournemouth town and also down to the beach! The food was absolutely excellent and they made my 10 year old daughter feel extremely welcome. Breakfast was perfect and the staff are extremely friendly. Having stayed at this hotel and also visited just for dinner, I would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank White4877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

A special 'weekend deal' made it inexpensive. The food was however very disappointing. The evening meal was well presented but the portions were minute, even by 'nouvelle' standards. The breakfast service was very slow and the cooked breakfast was largely cold, on cold plates and with poached eggs so hard you could use them for tennis. A complaint elicited an embarrased shrug and a giggle.
More hype than substance.

Room Tip: Some rooms have the bath in the bedroom itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosullivan, General Manager at The Green House, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments. If I recall correctly you were guests invited to attend a family celebration. I am very disappointed to hear about your comments on your dining experience with us. Our evening offer is fine dining in a relaxed environment and our breakfast is cooked to order in the morning which sometimes as you experienced can take a little longer when everyone arrives together. We could introduce a buffet but do not feel that this would be in keeping with our ethics of fresh local food cooked especially for you! We were not made aware of any complaints this weekend, if we had been we would have done everything possible to rectify the situation. If you can shed any further light on who you spoke to I would very much appreciate it. Please contact me on oosullivan@thegreenhousehotel.com or call on 01202 498900.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing