We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in Bournemouth”
Review of Park Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Central Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A night in Bournemouth”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed one night - perfect as it was over the road from the conference centre.
Restaurant food was great but costly.
Room was comfortable and clean....
The staff were very polite and helpful - professional to deal with.
This is not the world's most beautiful hotel but it is well located, comfortable and well run. Good choice if you are attending an event at the conference centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    389
    95
    18
    11
See reviews for
148
712
36
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend Wales
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked this Hotel through an offer in a daily paper and didnt expect too much given how much it cost, but we were more than pleasantly suprised.
We were upgraded to a Signature room with a sea view, and the room was spacious and modern.
The cooked Breakfast was passable but at least was freshly cooked. If a Continental option was chosen the choice was very limited.
We had an evening meal in the Crab Restaurant, and the food was very good although the service could have been a bit quicker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we were going to a concert at the BIC, which was literally across the road. We were kindly upgraded to a seaview room, and could see the Pier and the sea, again just across the road. Our room was spacious with a fairly compact bathroom, consisting of a very nice shower (although difficult for my 6ft 2" husband to use), a couple of leather armchairs & table, a small table & stool with drawers, a large wardrobe, bedside cabinets, medium size TV with built in DVD player & i-pod dock. Extremely clean and tidy room.
Best of all, very comfortable bed and hotel exceptionally quiet at night. Reception staff all very friendly and welcoming. Restaurant attached to the hotel was mainly seafood/fish/crab etc - one of the main reasons why we didn't eat there (and other guests told us too) was it was rather pricey and lacking in other choices. We ate in there for breakfast which was included in our room price. This included many choices - cereals, yoghurt, fruits, cheese, ham, juices, and regular cooked breakfast plus more.

Buses if needed are regular across the road, as well as to and from the railway station.

Us and other guests we spoke to agreed that a designated smoking area with patio heaters would have been nice.

We would recommend this hotel and would stay again if we went to a concert.

Room Tip: We chose a top floor - which seemed to be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night because went to a concert at the BIC so the location was just the best.
The check in staff were great and our room 207 was a nice size, the only downside to the room was it smelt of cigarette smoke which after a while made us feel quite sick and no one seemed to know where it was coming from.
Breakfast was the downfall for the hotel, there was 6 of us staying here and when we came down for breakfast we was told we couldn't have a table of 6 so myself and my husband had to sit at another table,I thought this was extremely rude seeing as all they needed to do was to push a table onto the end of our friends table and also what made me more mad was there was another table of 6 guests already seated for breakfast. The staff were not efficient, we had to ask for everything, tea, coffee, butter and no one took my order for breakfast so when I was able to eventually catch someone she was very abrupt and made me feel as if I shouldn't be asking to order. The breakfast wasn't great, mainly cold but by then I had had enough and left without complaining.
Next time we go to the BIC will probably check our the other hotels in the area before using this one again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairekev2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here when attending a function at the Bournemouth International Centre which right opposite. The room was modern and well appointed with a very good bathroom.
The Crab restaurant was very welcoming and good food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the first floor which is the reception level, it will be quieter upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We wanted a weekend in Bournemouth without paying over the odds. This was a top quality hotel at a good price. We opted for sea view rooms and you couldn't fault waking up to the sun rising over the pier and shinning through the window. The room we had was on the top floor and was spacious, clean, of good decor, with a good sized bathroom. The shower was a bit small but worked fine. Breakfast was included and was of a very high standard with plenty of variation. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful with local knowledge on restaurants and places to visit. The location is a great selling point. It's opposite the BIC, close to the Pavilion, the shops, and the sea front. The hotel will arrange parking spaces for you in the multi-storey opposite at a reasonable rate for the area. if we return to Bournemouth then we will certainly book into this hotel again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrTSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The park central hotel was a lovely hotel to spend a relaxing 2 day break. The hotel was very clean with friendly staff very happy to help. The town centre is a short 5 minute walk and a short taxi ride away from the station. A cooked Breakfast was cooked to order.
If there are improvements to be made I would say when I arrived the heating was switched off in my room and took a while to warm up given temperatures dropped to minus it was very cold. The heating also went off at night and came on in the morning.
The room I stayed in only had a bath and hand shower I prefer a shower and we were in a room that had sloping ceiling which meant to get to the other side of the bed I had to duck, being only 5ft 2" I kept forgetting.
These were only a minor issue though, overall a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audreyrose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,478 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel

Property: Park Central Hotel
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Park Central Hotel, the newest four star hotel in Bournemouth. With our 48 unique rooms each with its own individual and modern look, we can proudly offer luxury accommodation which is stylish, sleek and original. Indulge in our accommodation with all the luxuries you will expect from a four star hotel. You could not ask for a better seafront location then the one Park Central Hotel has to offer. With the Bournemouth International Centre adjacent to the hotel and the Bournemouth Pavilion Theatre only a two minute walk away, we have the perfect location for both business and leisure. Crawl into bed for a sound's night sleep in our comfortable beds with Egyptian cotton bed linen, thick duvets and plush pillows. Wake in the morning, relaxed and refreshed to in-room tea and coffee facilities, power shower and deluxe toiletries. With complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and sleek flat-screen televisions, our rooms offer the perfect blend of innovative design and contemporary boutique luxury hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Park Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing