We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAB-u-lous! Wish I was still eligible to visit!”
Review of Hamilton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamilton Hall
Dorset
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“FAB-u-lous! Wish I was still eligible to visit!”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed at HH several times in the "old days" before it became men-only. John is a consummate host, can't do enough for guests. For me, HH sets really high standards of decor and cleanliness. I love the relaxing lounge, and it's nice being able to help yourself to such a wide range of teas, coffees, biscuits etc at any time. John is a superb cook too, and the friendly, relaxed, long-drawn-out meals always involve fascinating anecdotes!

It's a great retreat, whether on a special themed weekend or just a general chill-out weekend. Handy for Studland beach too. Highly recommended - it spoils you for other B&Bs which just don't meet its high standards.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TamaraEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
19
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I have stayed at Hamilton Hall on several occasions now and really enjoy it. I've stayed in almost all the rooms and they are very cosy and comfortable as is the entire venue. There is a great breakfast very varied and plenty too. The house is charming and close to the sea. There are many beautiful walks around the area. Overall a great place to stay....and some of you may have seen it on channel 4 Three in a bed series....great show.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARTFORD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

If you read the website you will be told exactly what to expect for what ever workshop/chill out/ B&B you choose to go for. Take everything you read to be the exact truth and not sales patter. The venue is run not for profit and is completely unique in what it offers as a retreat for gay men. It is the most relaxing place to visit and a great escape from the hastle & bustle of everyday life. Exceedingly good value for money and a real home from home. Been going now for 10 years and cant recommend the place highly enough!! Well done John keep it up!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IANDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The hotel is, and does, exacely what it says on the tin. It offers very good value for money. It is clean and my bed was comfortable. The owner has a lot to say about everything, but that made my two day sty all the more interesting and entertaining. Had dinner there one night and again for the price it was just fine. I will return for another stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Synon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I was looking for a stress free weekend to chill out with no pretence. I got that, and more besides. The web site reflects very clearly what to expect (so if you don't like the sound of it, don't book!).

From the welcome at the door to the time I left, I had a great time. The atmosphere is peaceful, with the weekend being made by the guests and the interaction between them, John and Kristian.

The bedrooms are clean, comfortable and well decorated. Travelling alone? - you can share. The en-suite was petite, but I didn't plan on living in it! The lounge dining and TV rooms inviting and, in accordance with the ethos, great for meeting people and making new friends.

John, the owner, cooks great meals - not so much restaurant, as extended family. John and Kristian (who does everything that John doesn't), sitting to eat with guests. Conversation flows. John holds opinions on a variety of subjects which he will happily share. Kristian is attentive to detail and a mine of information with contacts in most of the local gay venues. Missy, John's dog, is friendly and mixes well with guests.

Hamilton Hall is a short walk from Boscombe beach; within easy reach of Bournemouth town centre and its gay venues round the Triangle (either by walking along the promenade or by taking any one of a number of buses); a short drive (or 2 buses) - and a ferry - to Studland naturist beach, as well as many other walks and places to visit in the surrounding area.

The weekend was rounded off with a visit to 2930 The Triangle, arranged by Kristian, to a 'Tea Dance', a slight misnoma as there was no dancing! There was, however, one of the best performances of showtunes - in two sets by Lea Martin, Diane James and Paul Shiner - to be heard anywhere in the country (along with afternoon tea), and all for a fiver!.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_ian_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

A rather basic guest house, dark and dank. Bathroom was small, showers even smaller. Owners dog allowed to access public rooms including dining room. The owner rather opinionated with a domineering attitude, complain at your own risk. Not the place to spend a relaxing break, there is a large choice of hotels in Bournemouth so no worries there. Bournemouth itself is lovely, great walks and pictoresque scenary. Pubs and bars are well trequented.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
65 Thank Billy027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slammer9, Owner at Hamilton Hall, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
When someone places a review many months after the fact, and uses a name that is not found in our Reservations Book for the date claimed, and therefore the review is anonymous and claims things that are inaccurate and a fabrication, it is hard to know where to start to respond other than to assume the review is bogus .
During the period in question we had no negative feedback at all, and had the customer spoken up and not waited over 4 months to complain on Trip Adviser, we would have offered a free weekend as our guests to rectify any problems he may have had. Claiming the owner was domineering and that he was obviously intimidated to complain is redundant and irresponsible behavior.

As a gay mens venue we get homophobic abuse and false reviews and hate male simply because we are 'out and proud' and because there are many people who resent, many who fear, and from a place on anonymity, feel they can damn and destroy.

Hamilton Hall is a NOT FOR PROFIT RETREAT and If you read our web site it plainly and clearly states exactly how different our venue is and how we encourage conversation on a deeper level of mind, body and soul. If this customer is in fact genuine and found this hard to accept, then this has little to do with Hamilton Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hall

Property: Hamilton Hall
Address: 1 Carysfort Road, Bournemouth BH1 4EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen on national & international TV. Clothing Optional. Men Only. Retreat style hotel. Some room sharing. Private rooms also. Specializing in events for gay / bisexual men. Very informal & friendly. Like nowhere you have stayed at before. Huge repeat custom. As seen on Channel 4's '3 In A Bed' programme (April & August 2010) to huge acclaim. Open since March 2000 and going from strength to strength. Newly refurbished and decorated - newly double glazed - all for your comfort and enjoyment. Massive Diary of Events throughout the year offering workshops - seminars etc. on Sexual - Self and Spiritual development of mind, body and soul. The only venue like it in all of Europe. Women only events also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamilton Hall Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing