We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely unique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamilton Hall Men Only Hotel
Reviewed November 9, 2010

If you read the website you will be told exactly what to expect for what ever workshop/chill out/ B&B you choose to go for. Take everything you read to be the exact truth and not sales patter. The venue is run not for profit and is completely unique in what it offers as a retreat for gay men. It is the most relaxing place to visit and a great escape from the hastle & bustle of everyday life. Exceedingly good value for money and a real home from home. Been going now for 10 years and cant recommend the place highly enough!! Well done John keep it up!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IANDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

The hotel is, and does, exacely what it says on the tin. It offers very good value for money. It is clean and my bed was comfortable. The owner has a lot to say about everything, but that made my two day sty all the more interesting and entertaining. Had dinner there one night and again for the price it was just fine. I will return for another stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Synon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I was looking for a stress free weekend to chill out with no pretence. I got that, and more besides. The web site reflects very clearly what to expect (so if you don't like the sound of it, don't book!).

From the welcome at the door to the time I left, I had a great time. The atmosphere is peaceful, with the weekend being made by the guests and the interaction between them, John and Kristian.

The bedrooms are clean, comfortable and well decorated. Travelling alone? - you can share. The en-suite was petite, but I didn't plan on living in it! The lounge dining and TV rooms inviting and, in accordance with the ethos, great for meeting people and making new friends.

John, the owner, cooks great meals - not so much restaurant, as extended family. John and Kristian (who does everything that John doesn't), sitting to eat with guests. Conversation flows. John holds opinions on a variety of subjects which he will happily share. Kristian is attentive to detail and a mine of information with contacts in most of the local gay venues. Missy, John's dog, is friendly and mixes well with guests.

Hamilton Hall is a short walk from Boscombe beach; within easy reach of Bournemouth town centre and its gay venues round the Triangle (either by walking along the promenade or by taking any one of a number of buses); a short drive (or 2 buses) - and a ferry - to Studland naturist beach, as well as many other walks and places to visit in the surrounding area.

The weekend was rounded off with a visit to 2930 The Triangle, arranged by Kristian, to a 'Tea Dance', a slight misnoma as there was no dancing! There was, however, one of the best performances of showtunes - in two sets by Lea Martin, Diane James and Paul Shiner - to be heard anywhere in the country (along with afternoon tea), and all for a fiver!.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uk_ian_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

A rather basic guest house, dark and dank. Bathroom was small, showers even smaller. Owners dog allowed to access public rooms including dining room. The owner rather opinionated with a domineering attitude, complain at your own risk. Not the place to spend a relaxing break, there is a large choice of hotels in Bournemouth so no worries there. Bournemouth itself is lovely, great walks and pictoresque scenary. Pubs and bars are well trequented.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
73  Thank Billy027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slammer9, Owner at Hamilton Hall Men Only Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2010

When someone places a review many months after the fact, and uses a name that is not found in our Reservations Book for the date claimed, and therefore the review is anonymous and claims things that are inaccurate and a fabrication, it is hard to know where to start to respond other than to assume the review is bogus .
During the period in question we had no negative feedback at all, and had the customer spoken up and not waited over 4 months to complain on Trip Adviser, we would have offered a free weekend as our guests to rectify any problems he may have had. Claiming the owner was domineering and that he was obviously intimidated to complain is redundant and irresponsible behavior.

As a gay mens venue we get homophobic abuse and false reviews and hate male simply because we are 'out and proud' and because there are many people who resent, many who fear, and from a place on anonymity, feel they can damn and destroy.

Hamilton Hall is a NOT FOR PROFIT RETREAT and If you read our web site it plainly and clearly states exactly how different our venue is and how we encourage conversation on a deeper level of mind, body and soul. If this customer is in fact genuine and found this hard to accept, then this has little to do with Hamilton Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carlo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 67 in Bournemouth
934 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hall Men Only Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hall Men Only Hotel

Address: 1 Carysfort Road, Bournemouth BH1 4EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bournemouth
Price Range: $60 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen on national & international TV. Clothing Optional. Men Only. Retreat style hotel. Some room sharing. Private rooms also. Specializing in events for gay / bisexual men. Very informal & friendly. Like nowhere you have stayed at before. Huge repeat custom. As seen on Channel 4's '3 In A Bed' programme (April & August 2010) to huge acclaim. Open since March 2000 and going from strength to strength. Newly refurbished and decorated - newly double glazed - all for your comfort and enjoyment. Massive Diary of Events throughout the year offering workshops - seminars etc. on Sexual - Self and Spiritual development of mind, body and soul. The only venue like it in all of Europe. Women only events also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamilton Hall Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing