We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie,vegan,gluten free options but still great for a meat eater”
Review of Amala Conscious Food - CLOSED

Amala Conscious Food
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Established as Zoukinis in 2008 as a vegetarian restaurant, this gem has recently undergone a major facelift and is now called amala. (2016) Amala is now a purely vegan restaurant offering a conscious eating experience with what some would call 'vegan gourmet cuisine' with delicate and robust flavour and texture combinations - all purely plant-based. Whatever it may be, we are committed to offering real food, prepared simply and with love, using organic and local ingredients where possible and practical. Many of our 5 star review mention the friendliness of the staff, the soothing and calming atmosphere (even when we're busy which is more and more!) of the environment and of course - many takes pictures and comment on the delicious food! Most important to us is how YOU FEEL at the end of the MEAL (or experience as we like to call it). That is our focus and our strive. Daniel & the team at amala
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a lovely cosy little restaurant. We all enjoyed our different meals including the meat eaters. The menu is short which is usually a good sign, and all seemed freshly prepared. The service was excellent. We had a great evening and will return. Definitely worth a try.
Booking would be sensible, it was full when we went.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alpacasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqueline k, General Manager at Amala Conscious Food, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. At Zoukinis we hope to appeal to everyone, from vegan to omnivore and anyone in search of delicious, fresh, home cooked meals. It is always great to hear when we have impressed a meat eater! We strive to cater for all sorts of dietary requirements, so that all our customers can enjoy coming here to eat. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 357 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Visited as a couple one veggie one not. Three courses with drinks for about sixty pounds all in. Food all top quality. Service attentive. No bitter on the menu though, only lager and cider. Would visit again. Try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank al6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqueline k, General Manager at Amala Conscious Food, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We are really happy you both enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I eat meat but I went for dinner here last night with my sister as she is a vegan. I was impressed with the menu choice, the atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely and the staff were all friendly and attentive. The food was very reasonably priced too. The thai polenta cake starter was DELICIOUS, as was my main of quiche and my sister's of meatball tagine. I also enjoyed mango sorbet and panacotta followed by fresh mint tea. If I could eat food of this quality every day I could happily be a vegetarian! We will definitely return here when next in Bournemouth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqueline k, General Manager at Amala Conscious Food, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. We love to hear about customers visits to Zoukinis and it makes us really happy to know when you have had an enjoyable visit. We are so pleased that you and your sister enjoyed your meal and it is great to hear that you didn't miss eating meat. It is good to hear that our menu appeals to both veggies and meat eaters as we would like everyone to come and try our delicious home cooked food! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent service & food - especially as even our fussy children (6 & 12) loved it.
Puddings to die for! Wife said "I didn't know I liked Baileys, it's gorgous!"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DomDeVitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqueline k, General Manager at Amala Conscious Food, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Zoukinis, it is great to hear that your children found our food delicious too! Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great food, Great selection on menu. Maybe more staff needed as was never asked for refills etc. But on the whole a great restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harjoat Ambi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala Conscious Food also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Westbourne, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing