We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy room, great breakfast, friendly owners, nice place to stay.”
Review of The Carlton Lodge

The Carlton Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Lodge
Ranked #70 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for one night and the room was very nice and quiet and a decent size, comfy bed, good shower. Breakfast was very good and the owners were friendly and accommodating and made us feel very welcome, would recommend a stay here. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolamo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 days & had an amazing time. Gill & Norman are so friendly & they were so good with our autistic son Zach who is 16, he thoroughly enjoyed himself & especially Gill's lovely breakfast & home-made jam !! Our room was lovely & very clean & lots of little extra touches. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel & will be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We Stayed here in the summer during the air festival....this was our third time here ...This is a great place to stay when in bournemouth ...
all the shops are local and the beach is only a few mins walk down the road...
The breakfast is out of this world...and above all the hosts jill and Norman are the best you can ask for....hopefully see you soon..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohsin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Just a quick review to say that we normally book Premier Inns but due to it being the Bank Holiday weekend there was limited availability. But we shall never do this again as our employee phoned me to ask me to add this review as he had been so well cared for and fed (most importantly). He really appreciated the hospitality and was impressed by the accommodation. Many thanks we will book again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

The room was spacious and extremely clean. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The owners were away but the 'stand ins' were a credit. Very friendly and hospitable. Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I have stayed larger budget hotels in the area,but did not enjoy the experience, too many corners have been cut to achieve the price.
The housekeeping here is excellent, I had a great nights sleep and an good breakfast with home made Jams & Marmalade on offer.
Keep up the good work Norman & Gill, you deserve to be very busy
I will return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastenerman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Gill and Normans lovely B&B.
The bed and room was extremely comfy and I don't think you could find a tastier breakfast . Would definitely recommend highly to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Lodge

Address: 12 Westby Road, Bournemouth BH5 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $67 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run AA 3 Star Highly Commended Guest House just 5 minutes from the golden sandy beaches and Europe's 1st surf reef. A short car ride away you can explore the New Forest National Park or the Jurassic coast. Whether on holiday or business come and let us spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing