We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly restaurant”
Review of Da Maria

Da Maria
Ranked #75 of 756 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $46
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Birmingham England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly restaurant”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We came across this pizzeria by sheer chance.
It is so nice to see a pizzeria using traditional methods to cook the pizza. We felt like we had stepped into a little corner of Italy. The pizzas were gorgeous. My husband and 2 children absolutely lived it. Also the Italian desserts were to die for.

The owners were so friendly and helpful giving us tips of things to do in the area.

This place is well worth a visit, you will not be disappointed. Food made just like Mamma!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funkyforans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    25
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hidden on Seabourne Road, is the most incredible Italian restaurant. It is family run, fronted by sister and brother Mima and Pinot. We are always made welcome and it is nice that Mima remembers our favourite menu items. The pizzas are the best in the area, nice and thin and not too crispy - we even have 2 halves of different ones when we struggle to chose! The house wine is excellent. We very much appreciate good service and we have never been let down. The menu has just been extended so even more choice. For a treat, try the fresh fish - very good indeed. Da Maria is reasonably priced.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shhh - don't tell everyone!”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We go to this restaurant every week - we are always guaranteed to have a warm welcome (they even remember our favourite pizzas!), fabulous food and a remarkably reasonable bill. Pizzas are made in traditional oven, and they are flexible about toppings (I always have rocket) which is a real bonus.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST FILLET STEAK IN BOURNEMOUTH”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Bournemouth best kept secret,family run business,we go every other week,nice atmosphere,great service, we have tried most of the steakhouses in Bournemouth and without doubt there fillet steak is the best around and for a honest price as-well.5 minutes walk from Pokesdown train station along seabourne rd, on the right hand side, on the corner of harcourt rd.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrismontague73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice of menu, traditional local Italian!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Very reasonably priced food, great pizzas and a large menu. Staff are attentive but not over-powering. Great for a romantic quiet meal or for a party on a reasonable budget. Unfortunately the area isnt great, but this is hardly the fault of the owners / management, but dont let this put you off.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rlevi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Maria also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Da Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing