We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunhaven Guest House

Sunhaven Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunhaven Guest House
Ranked #70 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed in the large family room, myself my wife and my 3 children. The room was really modern and well furnished and the beds were probably the most comfortable beds we have slept in at any hotel. We were made very welcome by Mike and Sue from arrival up to departure. The breakfast was of very high quality a really nice full english. The guest house was only about 150 yards from the beach and a family pub. Would stay there again and would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just spent the weekend at the Sunhaven Guest House. Spotlessly clean, brilliant hosts and a wonderful breakfast - couldn't ask for more. Thank you.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room and it was warm and sunny and a very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 701wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Sunhaven Guest House meets the highest standards in all aspects of customer service from booking to send off. The outside appearance of the house on arrival was reassuring with bright fresh paintwork, smartly dressed windows, well swept frontage and baskets of well tended flowers. The whole made for a very good first impression which was to continue and grow as we experienced Sunhaven's sparklingly clean accommodation, comfortable beds (well sprung mattress and crisp white bed linen) and great breakfasts (special appreciation for Mike's creamy scrambled eggs)
Mike and Sue, the owners, gave us a warm, friendly welcome and throughout our stay they were always ready to assist us no matter how busy they were. Sunhaven is definitely a 'guests come first ' establishment and to top it all it is truly a stone's throw from the beach. This, our first visit, will certainly not be our last. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the house have a wider outlook and so probably catch more sun, however one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_king3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our stay at Sunhaven was absolutely wonderful. Our room was excellent, clean, well-appointed and spacious. The welcome from Mike and Sue, and the service which followed were first class. The whole stay could not have been better. A superb guest house in every respect. Thanks to Mike and Sue who deserve cintinued success!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Willington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked for four nights on June 14th, Mike and Sue were very helpful to us even before we had booked in, so we thank them both for that.
Sunhaven is in a lovely position just a few minutes walk from the beach and places to have dinner, the room we were offered (No.1) is at the front of the house and what a charming room it turned out to be, with a large square bay window, (you can see the sea from it) 'Art Deco' bedroom furniture and a lovely cosy kingsize bed, with crisp white bed linen and while the shower room is quite small, the shower is surprisingly large, we found that everything was kept spotlessly clean and tidy at all times.
Because we had to leave early on 3 of the mornings Sue gave us a 'take out' breakfast which was a mix of different things and more than enough to eat. On our last morning we were both looking forward to having what normally is a highlight of any B&B, 'the breakfast' and we were not disapointed, we had the cooked breakfast which was made that much better because it came out on hot plates.
Mike and Sue are very welcoming and friendly and treat you like they have known you for years and nothing is ever too much trouble, and if we can get booked in the same time next year then we look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Southern Road appears to be a quiet road except first thing on a Monday morning when the bin collect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petglynmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have just had a fabulous 4 night night stay at Sunhaven, infact I had stayed on my own for 2 nights a week previous. From the minute of our arrival until we left our experience was great and Mike and Sue are very welcoming, friendly hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well equipped and spotlessly clean, breakfast is excellent, we would not hesitate to return at sometime in the future. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiOrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was our second visit to the Sunhaven! There are good reasons for coming back. Mike and Sue provide a warm, friendly and comfortable environment. Their hosting is superb and they treat everyone like a special guest. The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are spotless. Looking forward to returning next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#6 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#25 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge Guest House
Beach Lodge Guest House
#2 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#13 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#44 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Guest House

Property: Sunhaven Guest House
Address: 39 Southern Road, Bournemouth BH6 3SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing