We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphins Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$111
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$208
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$116
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$107
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green House(Bournemouth)
$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$157
$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
50
29
9
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
29
9
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic hostsfull english breakfasthotel is situatedtea and coffee making facilitiesclean roomsparking spacelocation is greatfew minutes walktown centreshower
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 100 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I found Miles and Elena very accommodating ,friendly and helpful in all aspects,Rooms are clean and comfortable,all recently refurbished,food is excellent,you are not very far from the center or the amusements and of course what did you go to Bournemouth for? of course the Beach...just down the road,beautiful clean sandy beaches,there's lots to do also in the surrounding towns,lots of trips and ferry excursions...All this and much,much more,with the help of Miles and Elena. So if you want good company and friendly advise, good nights sleep (take a peg because you're sure to snore), tasty food to set you up tor the day and much much more, then don't hesitate...Book your stay TODAY !!!!....lots of love from Richard, Irina and not to forget the adorable Megija xxxx '' Keep up the good work Miles and Elena''

Room Tip: Just ask Miles and Elena, that's what they are there for,to make your stay something to remember <3
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 301Richard301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A very nice hotel that offers all we need: good location close to the beach, very good breakfast, a clean and comfortable family room and a great hospitality (with good advise given by the owner) ...many thanks to Miles and Elena!
We stayed with our 2 children six nights in this lovely house and enjoyed our stay very much. We will for sure stay at The Dolphins Hotel again when we travel to the Bournemouth area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vandelfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hi there

Id highly recommend staying with the Dolphins! I totally enjoyed my stay!

This hotel was very clean, the breakfast was excellent and the atmosphere very lovely and cosy.

Miles and Elena were very helpful and welcoming when I arrived. The bed was very comfy. I woke up feeling very happy and slept extremely well.

Very good value for money to stay in such a lovely atmospheric hotel


Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Avoid like the plague. unless, of course, you fancy experiencing 1970s condemned slum housing conditions. If that's the case, book away and enjoy.

We booked two rooms here over the Rugby Seven's weekend. A room for three and a room for 2. The room decors were grim, with furniture that seemed to be recovered and assembled from other people's fly-tipping.

There was no wardrobe inthe room for three. Not even hooks to hang stuff off, so nowhere to dry your towels. And while towels are provided don't expect to get fresh ones. Oh no, you get what you're given on day 1 and keep them in a continual damp state for the length of your stay, as you can't hang them anywhere!!

In the room for two we explained that there would be a change over during the stay: some friends were leaving, and others arriving in the same room. Fresh towels? No, they were expected to keep using the same damp towels.

In our room the "ensuite" bathroom was a tiny walled off corner with barely enough room to turn between the shower and the toilet. Also there was a beautifully presented electrical junction box above the shower. With wires sticking out.

The only good thing about this place was that it was cheap, in a good location, and also the breakfast sausage was nice, and the cooked breakfast was not meagre. Everything else was dire beyond belief.

But remember this is just our opinion. Other reviewers seem to say its great. I don't understand why, but that's half the fun.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wngstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinm, Owner at Dolphins Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

I am sorry that you feel this way.
We were not informed which room the new guests were arriving into, and nor were fresh towels requested by anyone.
There was I must admit no wardrobe in that room at the time, as a "stag" had been placed in it earlier in the week and it had been turned to face the wall. He had quite understandably forced his way out when he awoke. A new wardrobe had been ordered but not yet arrived. It is now installed. Some of the furniture is marginally shabby, mostly due to crown caps being opened on the edges, and it does get replaced with new on a regular basis. The problem with staying so cheap (from our point of view), is that it means that the furniture has to be cheaper and last longer.
The showers are indeed a 1970s addition to the rooms, and we are gradually upgrading them at a rate of one a year, since it usually requires structural alterations within the rooms. Upgrading the shower/toilets requires their enlargement which makes the bedroom naturally smaller, and in some rooms we are reluctant to do this.
I am pleased to note that there were no complaints about the cleanliness - Thank-you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

reasonable b and b in the centre of bournemouth.The couple are very friendly and helpfull.You can easily walk into town or beach in 5 minutes.They give you the option of breakfast or no breakfast,seeing as though I was out till late at a wedding I declined the first night.They said the charge was 5 pound for a breakfast and then when I ate there the next day I was charged 7 pound?one sausage one rasher etc?Maybe breakfast outside would be a better deal?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews