We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Living Room
Nearby Hotels
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$208
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$107
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$116
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Green House(Bournemouth)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$157
$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
294
74
10
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
74
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalum chinecorn fritterschilli jambreakfast was deliciousnon residentsgood quality ingredientswelcoming hostsbed and breakfastminute strollbournemouth town centrecomfortable rooma wonderful staysingle roomsmall hotelnothing too much troublestayed for two nightsshort walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 382 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I came to Bournemouth to visit my son who's studying at Uni and stayed at the Living Room after getting recommendations from friends on Twitter. Warm welcome, great food, right round the corner from Alum Chine - we walked through the gorgeous woods there which took us straight to the beach. Our twin room had everything we needed and the breakfast was gorgeous. Only bugbear ... poor wifi, but the owners assured me they were addressing this. Definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zak118, Owner at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

You were our first guest recommendation through Twitter so the pressure was on that we met your tweeted expectations!! Your review will be really helpful to potential guests so thank you. We look forward to you and your charming toast loving son's next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the second time we have been to the living room in Bournemouth. We enjoyed our stay this time just as much as the first time. Our room was slightly smaller this time, but it was a really cosy and comfortable room. My wife loved the wall paper! The bathroom was modern with a large walk in shower. Really friendly and welcoming staff. The breakfasts are amazing, we loved them! Definitely recommend this as a place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_east_sussrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zak118, Owner at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We feel really privileged that you have taken the time to write us a second review. It is important to us that we consistently maintain and improve our service so it is great to hear you enjoyed your second recent visit as well as the wallpaper! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've stayed here on three separate occasions now and each one has been fantastic. Teresa is a great host and always makes me feel very welcome. Her vegetarian breakfasts are to die for, as are her brownies (She not only runs the B & B but also has a coffee lounge with some amazing cakes, which is well worth a visit in itself). The rooms are cosy and clean and the location of this guest house is great, being in a quiet part of Alum Chine with an easy 40 minute walk along the sea front into Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

It was a lovely surprise to read your review as we know how busy you are. So thank you for taking the time to write it. Also thanks for your intellectual conversations at 8am on a Sunday morning - it keeps us on our toes! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent one night at The Living Room In November and can highly recommend it to anyone! The only downside to our stay was that we couldn't stay for longer! The bedroom was really comfortable, really nice decoration and had a luxury feel about it. The bathroom was new and modern. We loved the homemade brownies left in the room! There is obviously an extra effort kind of ethos at The living room where the all round experience of the guests matters. Finally, the breakfast was amazing.....it had clearly been freshly cooked, using fresh and good quality ingredients. I would say I've paid more than double the price of the living room for something which was no where near as good. An absolute bargain, for a great experience. We will be back for a longer stay next time and have already recommended it to a few people!!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_east_sussrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for writing such an amazing review - we would love to offer you a job as our marketing agent! We will be doubling our room prices thanks to your review (only joking) and look forward to you staying again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have been to the Living Room when it was Thanet House, but I actually prefer it under the new management.

The veggie breakfasts are imaginative and a refreshing change from the tired Quorn Sausage. Also loved the little touch of the homemade brownies in our room on arrival.

The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming, we will be returning , it was a lovely break away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02040508BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We are happy that you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the veggie breakfast and brownies. We will have extra brownies ready for your next visit to thank you for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews