We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Living Room Bournemouth
Ranked #13 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great stay, really comfotable beds, well appointed rooms. Loved the quirkiness of the dining room and the breakfast was divine. We really liked the american themed breakfast but with a twist. Cinnamon pancakes with maple syrup and streaky bacon were just heavenly
Will definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MmeWorthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write about your 'heavenly' breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you again sometime...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for The Living Room Bournemouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 369 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Living Room in October for one night. We found the owners very friendly and welcoming and the rooms were of very good quality, especially for the price paid.
One point I would raise is that an information pack in the room would have been nice, advising what's in and around the area but as the owners are quite new, maybe this is something they have in hand.
Rooms were exceptionally clean and of good size, including tea and coffee and brownies!!
Breakfast was good, with the menu being American / Canadian style.
The location was very good, next to a lovely walk down to the beach (approx 10 minutes) with the pier a further 20 minutes walk along the beautiful sea front.
Westbourne was also within 10 minutes walk with its different shops and tea rooms.
All in all, excellent base and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Attews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thanks for your positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, we always like to verbally recommend local places and hopefully will soon have time to write an information pack too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have been here for 8 nights with my fiancée and my mum doing some organization and sightseeing. From the first welcome, trough the delicious breakfast to the evenings when coming back from a long day, we always had this 'coming home' feeling. Theresa and Zak are very friendly and attentive giving you the best experience for your stay, even if just started their business in this house. Always there for a friendly and humorous small talk and giving best service at the same time. The rooms are very nice and the bathrooms are modern and clean. The breakfast menu gives a lot of choices and vegetarians are welcome, too.
The location of the B&B is right in the middle between Westbourne and the beach and gives you many shops, markets, cafes and pubs and a park at Alum Chine leading you to the beach.
I've been to other B&Bs here and this one is the one really outstanding from the mass. As I was also looking for accommodation for my guests for a wedding, this one is the recommendation not only for my friends, but for my good friends ;-)
Thank you Theresa and Zak for a wonderful time, wishing you all the best for the future.

Mic

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extraordinary and brilliant review. Hopefully we will be meeting your friends too in the future (as long as they don't finish off all of the marmalade like you!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed as two couples for CSN concert at the BIC - B&B is ideally placed for for Westbourne, short walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. Bournemouth town centre easily accessed by public transport or lovely walk via Alum Chine and beach. Good rooms and breakfasts very friendly staff - we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for being such lovely and humorous guests and taking the time to write a review. Such positive visitors makes the early mornings more bearable!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Reserved this lovely B&B as a last minute destination on our trip to England. We stayed only one night, but we could have stayed weeks. Very homey feel. Spotless. We reserved through an agency. We recommend reserving directly through Theresa and Zak. Spoke at lengths with Theresa over a fantastic breakfast. She is a wonderful host. There is about a ten minute walk through the beautiful Alum Chine to the waterfront. Also a ten minute walk to a great pub/restaurant called the Libertine.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, Theresa and Zak.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We would have let you stay for weeks but now you are back at work at least you will be earning money to come back again!! We enjoyed your company and hearing about your adventurous travels. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay here this weekend. Theresa and her staff were friendly and very accommodating.

The breakfast was delicious with lots of good options! Our room was spacious, quiet and modern. The bathroom was spotless, the only downside was low water pressure in the shower which seems to be a common problem in the local area. There was free and reliable wireless internet.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review and support our business. Thank you and hopefully we will see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked the Living Room as they offered a suitable room for my husband and I along with our adult daughter at a great price. We were welcomed by Theresa, who was lovely and couldn't do any more for us, getting us settled etc. There were little apple buns to have with our tea, delicious. The room, bathroom, beds were all spotless, both beds really comfortable. The breakfasts were great, well cooked and good choice. The staff were attentive and very friendly. There was a lovely walk we could have taken down to the beach but due to attending a wedding we didn't have the time. If we are ever staying in Bournemouth again we would be keen to stay at the Living Room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingRoom_Mngmnt, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, you were lovely guests and we are pleased you made such a long journey to us even if it was a bit tiring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#9 of 67 in Bournemouth
653 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
920 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 133 in Bournemouth
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Living Room Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Living Room Bournemouth

Address: 2 Drury Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HA, England (Formerly Thanet House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $107 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Living Room Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique vintage boutique award winning Bed and Breakfast and Vintage Cafe in Alum Chine, Bournemouth. The B&B has seven individually styled rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms. As a family run business we specialise in providing a friendly, informal service tailored to requirements. Chef cooked breakfasts offer both a creative and traditional menu including vegetarian, gluten free and vegan options. We promise you, you will not find anywhere else like The Living Room in Bournemouth for value for money, quality food, its unpretentious quirky environment or the pleasurable experience. We are situated in undoubtedly the best part of Bournemouth - ten minutes' walk in between the glorious Alum Chine beach (accessed by the peaceful chines) as well as the boutique and independently run restaurants of Westbourne. As Bournemouth has been voted one of the happiest places to live in the UK we feel that we have no option but to pass on the infectious and rejuvenating vibes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Living Room Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing