We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommneded...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Living Room Bournemouth
Ranked #18 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for only one night on a brief trip to the area, but were made to feel very welcome by Andy who opened the door to us and made us a well needed pot of tea. The interior of the sitting / dining room is very tasteful and different to many dated B & Bs that you find. Our room was small, but immaculate and again nicely furnished. The shower was good and we had everything we needed. The breakfast was lovely - we both opted for the full English, but had we been staying longer would have liked to try the other tempting offers! If we return to the area we would deinately book again and will highly recommend. Thank you for a lovely if brief stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenrescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andycham, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi, Thank you for your review!! We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon to try something else from the menu! I'd definitely recommend trying the Ham Hock Hash!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 372 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and i and our son were in this hotel for 2 nights,what a lovely place to stay.On our arrival we were greeted by Andy the owner and his lovely staff ,who were superb throughout our stay.The place is so relaxing and the breakfast was lovely.The cleanliness of the whole place is 10 out of 10,the hotel is right in prime location for walk to beach ,or walk along the seafront to bournemouth.We will be back soon ,cant wait.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertd751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andycham, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review. It really was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we are so glad you enjoyed The Livingroom experience!!!
Hopefully see you in the summer (when it arrives!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I were in this hotel during the Easter holidays (4 days) and we were very happy for choosing this B&B. Everybody is very friendly, the space is nice and warm, the bed is comfortable and the breakfast is yummy. The hot breakfast is cooked after you order, so expect to spend a while waiting, but it's worth it.
The soundproofing isn't great between rooms, but I didn't have any problems with this - no noise during the night (the hotel was full).
We had a car, so the location was perfect - a very quite area with free parking, but still close to the city center, the sea, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianaS826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andycham, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the first ever review I have left on tripadvisor and was moved to do so by the wonderful experience I had staying at The Living Room. I have stayed for around 15 nights over the last 2 months as i relocating for work and have found the quality, cleanliness and homeliness of the rooms fantastic, the food delicious, location really convenient but the real selling point for me is the service - Andy and Anna are so friendly and couldnt do enough for me when I was there. A fab place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andycham, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi, thanks so much for your lovely review!! We really hope you call by and say hello when you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This review is for the restaurant not the B&B
This is a great place. Quirky and with real charm, the character of the owner really shines through. It's welcoming and easy going, very relaxed (so don't go if you're in a rush!). Food is delicious and unusual with a Stateside feel (the chef worked in Canada) - amazing pancakes and cornbread, corned beef hash, lots of veggie choices. Coffee is the best in the area. Outside seating great after a beach walk too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andycham, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Hey, thanks for the review! Hopefully the weather will get better soon and then everyone can enjoy the front patio even more!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here at the weekend with our three little ones (8, 3 and 18 months). We stayed in the Living Room's family suite which has a main bedroom and then a conjoining room for the kids. The room was brilliant value for money, was very comfortable and perfect for a family stay. We loved the feel of the place from the friendly welcome to the quirky, interesting details in the style of the place. Our love of the place was cemented when we sat down for breakfast in the coffee lounge - espresso coffee, pancakes with bacon and maple syrup and the Living Room full breakfast to name but a few of the treats awaiting you every morning! We will have to go back at least 12 times to have each of the menu choices for breakfast! I cannot recommend this fab place highly enough - discover it for yourself! Also, as if that isnt enough, the location is great for the beach, shopping and a convenient distance of Bournemouth town center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andycham, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, come and see us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Large friendly B&B with boutique-like hotel atmosphere. £45 for single use of twin en-suite on second floor. Hard to fault. Gave the impression of being newly refurbished and very clean and comfortable. Only minor point was that room was a bit chilly in the morning during a very cold spell and hot water took some time to come through but this is nit-picking. Parking is a little tight in this part of Bournemouth. Best poached eggs and bacon for some time, far superior to standard hotel fare. Excellent value at this price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andycham, Owner at The Living Room Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Hi, Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
923 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chine Hotel
Chine Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
#1 of 132 in Bournemouth
467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bamboo Guesthouse
Bamboo Guesthouse
#17 of 132 in Bournemouth
241 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Living Room Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Living Room Bournemouth

Address: 2 Drury Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HA, England (Formerly Thanet House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $97 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Living Room Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique vintage boutique award winning Bed and Breakfast and Vintage Cafe in Alum Chine, Bournemouth. The B&B has seven individually styled rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms. As a family run business we specialise in providing a friendly, informal service tailored to requirements. Chef cooked breakfasts offer both a creative and traditional menu including vegetarian, gluten free and vegan options. We promise you, you will not find anywhere else like The Living Room in Bournemouth for value for money, quality food, its unpretentious quirky environment or the pleasurable experience. We are situated in undoubtedly the best part of Bournemouth - ten minutes' walk in between the glorious Alum Chine beach (accessed by the peaceful chines) as well as the boutique and independently run restaurants of Westbourne. As Bournemouth has been voted one of the happiest places to live in the UK we feel that we have no option but to pass on the infectious and rejuvenating vibes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Living Room Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing