We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Superrrbbb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Superrrbbb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel offers extremely good value for money and can't fault any off it given the price that we paid ( £44 for a twin room a night on a weekend!!!) The room boasted a massive flat screen tv and comfortable beds. The best part of the room had to be the shower which was warm and powerful, by the time i came out i felt as smooth as a baby. would definitely stay again, made our dirty weekend in bournemouth even better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again.
Best wishes.
Yaiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    97
    60
    44
    45
See reviews for
25
193
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Good size room, clean, make sure you don't mind a hike as it's a bit of a walk up the hill from the town. We turned up at 11 and check in wasn't until 3 but they let us have our room. Staff we're really friendly!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluepoppybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, dear guest.
We hope to see you again.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

No WiFi signal in my room plus the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly. The bathroom fixtures were tired and tiles were chipped. The Venetian blinds d control rod came off as I was twisting it. The bedding was clean and the TV worked.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest, firstly, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry you have not enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately Wi-Fi signal was weak but it was working perfectly on the ground floor, as I informed you. I wish you had reported about the bathroom and the blind, both things have an easy solution. We hope these things do not dissuade you from staying with us in future. Thanking your review again.
Regards.
Yaiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chafford hundred
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stay at the hotel as part of my 40th birthday, it's the 2nd time we have been here and not been disappointed at all. Wi-fi works on phones and ipad where u are in hotel, towels changed daily and tea and coffee refill. Manager and staff -especially the female on reception are very welcoming and friendly. Stay before in room 17 and this time room 29 and both rooms could not be faulted, we had a problem with sofa in our room and it was changed straight away. Bed was comfy, seeing as we were on main road side we did not hear any traffic during the night, a wonderful and welcoming hotel and close in Bournemouth beach and town centre, will see you again later in the year

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauldee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guests, we are very happy for reading that you have enjoyed our hotel again.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards.
Yaiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bour
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

In staying here on our honeymoon in 2010, I rebooked a short break Monday - Thursday of w/c 10.03.2014, for my partners big birthday as part of a treat. I did have anxiety that the experience may not be equal to the first stay., well It was! Suite was good quality, well maintained, there was an unforeseen issue which was speedily resolved. The manager, Malik was very welcoming and chatty, and made us feel very welcome. I will certainly be returning as the location of the hotel to town is a short walking distance to some great restaurants and bars, along with being able to easily get to fantastic towns along the coast, and for me a 5min walk to the beach. Thanks again, and see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your second stay in our hotel and we are glad you have had a good time with us.
We hope to see you a third time.
Regards.
Yaiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from our second stay and it was as good as the first time. The rooms are very small but it was advertised as an economy room so we expected that and it caused us no problems. The shower varies in temperature from very hot to cold so we wary. Internet access worked fine and when it didnt work in the bar area the owner sorted it for me straight away. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and always on hand should you need any help.
I noticed a couple of comments about the locking of the doors, I to was concerned at first but if you put the catch down to the bottom it locks just fine..problem sorted !.
If you are on a tight budget and want an excellent hotel with a bar to relax in this place will fit the bill just fine. Will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dissotheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it.
We hope to see you a third time.
Regards.

Yaiza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The shower was definitely one of the best parts of the stay. It was strong, with hot water. The room itself was fine, very compact but with a comfortable bed and good television. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. I agree with a previous commentator, though, that I felt unsafe in the room because there was no deadbolt. Additionally walls are paper thin and the floor very creaky! Two things that really let the stay down though were the WiFi and breakfast. The website says that free wifi is available in the rooms. I was staying on the third floor however and got no signal. I brought this up with the manager and he said that I could access it from downstairs and it worked fine on his phone. That wasn't really the point though as I was working during my stay and needed the privacy of my room. I was offered to change rooms, but actually couldn't get the wifi to work in any of the other rooms either. It got to be very frustrating running round the hotel and at one point I was sat on the staircase as it was the only place I could get any signal. Breakfast was the other problem. The lady who made the breakfast was absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for you, however the quality of the food was really poor and choice was very limited. There are plenty of cafes in the area that offer breakfast though so if you do book a stay definitely go elsewhere in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noraboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptiionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Madam. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We really appreciate your review and we will keep in mind the things we must improve.
We apologize for the weak internet signal on the top floor during your stay. It's already fixed.
We hope these things do not dissuade you from staying with us in the future.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn
Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing