We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Room 28 is very nice, spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable, but only one towel per person and no toiletries!
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Bar has a really cheap prices.
A nice place for a weekend break if you don't like luxury things.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are larger than economy ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Micaela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
You help us to improve.
We're glad you have had a great time with us and hope to see you again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 407 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel and we got what we paid for, as it proved to be value for money. Firstly lets get the down sides out of the way. The room was small but had everything that you would need, including an ironing board and iron. We did not go to Bournemouth to stay in the room and so it met our needs. The walls aren't the thickest as we could hear the toilet flush next door but we had no noise from the road or other people. There is only one towel per person and I think that there should be two, which is pretty standard. The bedside lights are decorative, but really no use at all for reading.

There is an off putting smell of cooking oil when you come down the main staircase, but I suggest that all is needed is a cleaning of the cooker hood and the extraction.

The good side is that the rooms have been recently decorated and ours was clean and tidy. The TV had plenty of channels.

The location and parking were good, especially as some other hotels in the area were charging extra.

The staff were welcoming and helpful.

The bar is nice, although there weren't many people in it.

Overall for the money this is a good place to stay and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsNicolaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Nicola

Thank you very much for your kind and sincerely review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bournemouth with us.
We are looking for seeing you soon again.

Best regards
West Cliff Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had an amazing trip to Bournemouth while staying at the lovely West Cliff Inn.
Great hotel, nice decor very modern and very very clean. Lots of parking for free and free wifi. Our room was amazing decent size and had a great big flat screen tv on the wall with all the freeview channels.
Overall had a very nice stay thanks to the staff which were very friendly and will return soon to enjoy bournemouth again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elliott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We hope to see you soon.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed two nights whilst attending a conference in Town. I chose this place based on location which is excellent, a car park and cost. For what you pay it is a very good medium hotel with small but clean rooms. Not the Hilton but for what you pay, very good value for money indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We are glad you have enjoyed your days with us.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I am pleased to say that I have not actualy stayed at this Inn. I booked on line for a date in August, but the automatic booking system gave me a date in September which was not suitable. The company had already taken my payment and it was non refundable. I requested the 28th September, but unfortunately my husband, who works shift wok, was required to work an extra shift so we couldn't keep this booking and I requested that we cancel and change the booking to a weekend in October. I was met with a totally disagreeable man who informed me he was the manager, he refused to give me his name, he informed me they could not and would not change the booking, he was extremely rude, inconsiderate and patronising, surely not the type of person to be employed in a very social, client friendly industry? There was no empathy, sympathy, just extreme rudeness and beligerence. How do people of this nature become employed in what should be a very user friendly industry. On this experience alone I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Bournemouth is a beautiful area and I am sure there are many more hotels who can offer far more client friendly hotels than this.

Having checked my booking they still had not got it right and the booking they made was for 29th September, totally inaccurate.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Got home yesterday after 4 nights stay at the West Cliff Inn hotel Bournemouth, which is conveniently located near the top of Durley Chine and within easy reach of the centre of Bournemouth and its beaches. The room and en-suite we had was clean and pleasently furnished, as were the lounge bar and dining room, the bed was comfortable and we had no issues with disturbances that previous guests commented about. We opted for the breakfast each morning which was cooked to order and of a consistent quality making it an excellent start to the day. Throughout the hotel the staff were friendly and very helpful. All in all value for money and we will definately be going back again.

Room Tip: Our room type was Standard Double which was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ernie1234186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Recepcionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your days with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is well located for central Bournemouth but is located close to a busy roundabout. Car parking out the front is limited and watch out for a low wall surrounding a large tree in this car park as it is easy to not see it while manoeuvring and damage your car as I did! Bear in mind that afterwards we discovered there was extra parking at the rear of the hotel and its a shame we didn't know about it sooner.
First impression was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful and the lobby, lounge and bar areas were comfortable and clean.
Our bedroom and en-suite bathroom was compact, unfortunately the shower spray outlet was poorly positioned and unless you were very tall, the spray missed you!
Sound insulation both within the hotel and outside was very poor and the double glazing was ineffective if you tried to cut out the sound of the traffic. Due to the low cost, the hotel I suspect is popular with stag and hen parties and this has to be born in mind if you are expecting a good nights sleep. Indeed our second nights sleep was non existent due to rowdy and abusive guests.
The dining room was pleasant and comfortable, however the quality and lack of choice of breakfast was poor and better value can be obtained by saving your money and going into Town.

Room Tip: Ask for one out the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Rob

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay in West Cliff Inn. It is a shame we couldn't inform you about our car park at the back before the incident with your car. We have an additional car park with a spacious sizes.
Our hotel is usually quiet and calm at night, and it's very unfortunate some people were not concerned about our rules and disturbed other guests. The roundabout near us isn't always as busy, I suppose it would be a crowded weekend in Bournemouth and the traffic was noted.
Please accept our apologies, we take your comments seriously and we will use them to improve our service and take care about this kind of problems.
We hope you would come back for a new and better experience with us.

Best regards
Elena
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#45 of 67 in Bournemouth
505 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 67 in Bournemouth
510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $44 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing