We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEW AND CLEAN !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Cliff Inn
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NEW AND CLEAN !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

wow, we have just got back from a 1 night stay in the westcliff inn, we wondered if it would be a typical smelly seaside hotel....WRONG!! it was great, cheap food and drinks offers,. really nice staff, and although being in the room next to the lift, we didnt really notice any noise.
Recently had a major refurb i would say, but if i could say anything negative, it would be the bathroom in our room was tiny... but thats it.... fab hotel, fab staff, we will be back soon..!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    97
    59
    44
    44
See reviews for
24
192
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Left to go to the west cliff in during early March for my birthday and ended up having a good time. Didnt realy plan in advance but happy to have chosen this hotel. The staff were polite and helpful and sorted us out with rooms straight away without any unnecessary problems. Soon enough we were unpacking and getting ready for a night out. Before we left we had a few drinks in the bar, a nice comfy area with inside and outside seating. We stayed inside and watched bit of tele. We came back and then had breakfast in the morning, and must admit it was the best breakfast ever. After being content with our breakfast we decided to have dinner there as well at the tapas and enjoyed that too.
The hotel was clean and the bathrooms were roomy with decent sized bedrooms, polite staff and good food. So we'll deffinatly be going there again.
Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseMay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Room Number 1
very noise with a generator under room coming on and off every 5 mins during day & night. so hardly any sleep
out of six lights in room 2 did not work, the bed side lights was very dim.
bathroom, shower run hot and cold, glass shelf & toilet roll holder were both loose.
Beds were very hard & uncomfortable, sheets not tucked in, no pillow cases on pillows.
Freeview cames & goes
2 cups dirty & 1 saucer

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leenorval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We booked a double room for two nights at the West Cliff Inn through Hotel.com, received confirmation and sent an email advising the time we would arrive. Hotel replied to email saying they looked forward to seeing us. On arrival in the evening, we were told that they could find no booking for us. After some searching they just told us that they had no booking and no spare rooms. The manager was called and apologised but said that there was no booking. We had a copy of the confirmation with us and he checked the dates, hotel name, phone number etc but repeated it was not on their system. We phoned the booking agent who phoned the hotel. Booking agent told us that the hotel had told them their computer had crashed and the booking must have been lost. The manager offered my wife a seat in the bar while I visited neighbouring hotels to find a room and then offered to phone around for us. We declined both suggestions and left. Evenyone was very polite and the reception area was clean and bright, but this did not help us! If you do book a room at this hotel, suggest you phone before you leave home to make sure they have your booking!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCCbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

we have stayed in many hotels around the world and this is the worse we have ever stayed in.
we were there for two nights inc breakfast the first morning we waited almost twenty minutes for a cup of tea and one cup was all you got. we ordered full English with toast only we never got the toast the waitress acted as though we were invisible and the couple on the table next to us got more tea and two lots of toast. the 2nd morning we didnt even stay for breakfast as we had a terrible night with no sleep because of the noise of banging doors and loudness from a bunch of young lads who came in at 2 in the morning but seemed to carry on partying in their room they were in and out the room on and off till 6 in the morning and every time the door was shut they banged it my husband went down at 3 am to reception to find the gentleman on duty locked in the bar and didnt want to know also one of the lads threatened my husband.
it calmed down for about a hour and half only to start all over again at 7.30 so we just packed our stuff and left and when we tried to talk to the manager about it as we left but he wasnt even interested and had nothing to say to us so we left very tired and stressed from the night before when it was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richandteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

I must say, what a wonderful experience we had the weekend we stayed here, The Staff is very kind and helpful and the place has had some very expensive equipment and new things installed, Flat Screen TVs and new bathrooms en suite!! It is very worth staying here if coming to Bournemouth!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bilal011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I had a weekend stay here, and was very pleased with it.
The people in the reception and in the restaurant were smiling and very friendly.
The room was clean and modern , very nice bathroom , and very cool to have a big flatscreen in front of the bed. I spent my whole day lazying in the bed !
I enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well ! good english breakfast and optional cereals , toast and jam. Only thing is I wish the opening hours for breakfast were more flexible , as closing 9.00 weekday , and 9.30 weekends....
If I was to get into nit-picking there are a few things that could be mentioned....: Beds are quite hard (I don`t mind , but my girlfriend did..) .
The lamps over the bed are very fancy , but not very functional, not enough light for reading.
The room is`nt enormous , but who cares , there`s everything you need there , even coffe and tea..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
#44 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#58 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn
Address: 15 West Cliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing