We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”
Review of Devon Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devon Towers Hotel
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I went with Alfa in August the Hotel is a good 10 mins walk from the beach, going down is easy as there is a slope but coming back up is a bit steep if you are disabled, although there is seating at regular intervals to have a rest.There is a good bus service at the end of the street to town, or in the other direction through to Swanage.You can also get a bus on the main road up from the pier to town and then one out back to St Michaels Rd.
The hotel Staff are friendly and helpful I had a single room with a shower as requested,the bathroom was adequate although if you were on the large size it could be difficult to get into the shower as the door hits onto the sink so it does not fully open.The bedroom was a small single bedded room tiny wardrobe and as it was an 8 day holiday I literally lived out of a suitcase.Dressing table with 3 small draws,2 good mirrors, hairdryer,Television was a disapointment with the switch over looming, I would have thought all hotels had freeview by now.It wasn't working properly hard to tune! it into anything.
I never had a problem with the lift it always turned up in reasonable time.The dining room was lovely and the food was generally delicious except for the fish main courses I didn't enjoy any, and the Friday Dinner Menu has Fish and Chips on, don't be fooled this is not fish in batter it was horrible, so on the Saturday I went to Harry Ramsdens near the pier.
The evening entertainment was average to poor with Bingo thrown in, the bar prices were reasonable though.On the whole the hotel could do with updating but all areas were kept clean and tidy.The Theatre on the pier is worth a visit I went in the evening to a show and walked slowly back up the slope and along the road to the hotel.I felt completely safe and never had a problem with noise from the street and my room was at the front.The tour bus is good for getting around as you can get on and off as you please all day,so you won't miss any attractions,museum etc and going through the Chines is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank yorkshirelass009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

The manager,Carl, runs a very tight ship. Not a single member of staff was anything other than friendly,efficient, well trained, cheerful and gave the impression of being a willing member of a good team. On staff days off Carl would wait on tables. I have never seen a manager do that before. My wife and I have been the victims of some so called catering on coach holidays. Canned/frozen veg in minute portions, soups which were patently leftover veg,making a repeat visit.. Salads, curries,pies wiich coincidenty always seemed to have identical ingredients to the offerings of the previous day..lMy wife, on a
previous coach trip with a national competitor had an unscheduled trip to Bournemouth hospital along with two others with food poisoning. So we are very cautious. Not this time.
The food was varied, generous portions,excellent choice,fresh veg well prepared, hot and served quickly.

The bedroom was clean, good comfy bed, brilliant power shower and fresh towels daily. We experienced no problem with noise but we did hear the front rooms could be affected by traffic. Moans:- we do have two. The bedrooms are tight. The second could be rectified more easily. Throughout our stay we ran the gauntlet of the stench created by smokers sitting in the entrance to reception which drifted into the buildiing. Please move
the bench.To the low tide mark preferably!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Although my wife and I are great Alfa fans,our last trip to a Leisureplex hotel, the Devon Towers was a disappointment. Once in the hotel the Leisureplex organisation was, as usual, excellent. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was comfortable in its public areas and our bedroom was also satisfactory although the decor, overall, was tired and ready for a freshening up WHY THEN THE DISAPPOINTMENT? In contrast to all other Leisureplex hotels we have stayed in this hotel is not on the front. Devon Towers is tucked away down a side street. Although it was only a five to ten minutes from the front and the main pier, the street was dirty at all times with wall to wall cars which made transfers to and from our coach difficult, and quite a number of the buildings in the street were split up into flats which were at the "budget" end of the rental market. I will be traveling with Alfa again and staying in a Leisureplex hotel, in fact I have already booked for next year. I would, however, not consider Devon Towers again nor would I recommend it to others. Although I have rated sleep quality fairly high we were at the back of the building and did not have to suffer the noise from stag and hen nights at the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bigfoot1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I visited Devon Towers with my Mum on an Alfa tour. The Hotel is old but clean and cared for and the staff are all lovely - particularly our waitress who hugged us and asked us not to leave at the end of our stay!
Unfortunately Bournemouth is now plagued with hen and stag parties, they are not intimidating and we had no problems walking through the crowds in an evening but we had literally no sleep on Saturday night due to their continual shouting, laughing and screaming and car doors being slammed every few minutes. This was no fault of the hotel, I did not hear any noise from any adjoining rooms nor from the entertainment during the whole of our stay.
The following morning I spoke to the Manager (Carl) and asked if it would be possible to move to quieter rooms, he was most understanding, sympathetic and helpful and within minutes he had arranged for our things to be moved to quieter rooms while we were out on a day trip to Weymouth. I have never had to complain before, I felt awkward doing it but Carl made me feel at ease and was so kind about it all.
The food at the Hotel was excellent, there was a good choice at every meal, it was fresh, hot and tasty and served by cheerful staff.
Rooms were clean, there were plentiful supplies of tea, coffee, milk and sugar, towels were clean and fluffy and soap and shampoo were provided. Whilst the single rooms were not huge they were bigger than many I have stayed in and had a wardrobe, dressing able and bedside cabinet so there was plenty of storage. All rooms were ensuite and the bathrooms were small but adequate and very clean in both rooms I used during my stay. Mum's second room had a massive bathroom!
There are only things that could improve this hotel, they would be double glazing to all bedrooms and the other would be an additional lift as there is only 1 which gets very busy at mealtimes.
There were all ages from a teenager to a lady of nearly 90 in our party and this hotel seemed to suit them all.
Thank you Carl and staff for making us feel so welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shropshiretraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Trip with Alfa travel, Lovely coach driver called Adan.Nice hotel, friendly staff, good food, near to shops and sea, nice walks. Room clean, Overall Grea.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank elabeeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Really enjoyed our week here. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable. The food was very good, plenty of choices on the nightly menu. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Not too far from town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank medward273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable and the en suite was nice and roomy.
Food was good and the staff could not have been friendlier.
Enjoyed the evening entertainment.
Position of hotel suited us, and there was a bus service for those who did not enjoy the lovely walks.
As a budget holiday, all round good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catwomanBexhillOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trouville Hotel
The Trouville Hotel
#41 of 66 in Bournemouth
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ullswater Hotel
Ullswater Hotel
#46 of 66 in Bournemouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#55 of 66 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Towers Hotel

Address: 58-62 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $59 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devon Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devon Towers Hotel - Bournemouth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Ideally situated on the West Cliff, a short walk from the sea front, International Centre, shops and pier. All 60 bedrooms are either centrally heated or provided with electric heating and all have private bath or shower and WC, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is an attractive entrance lounge, delightful bar lounge with TV, restaurant and spacious entertainment room with dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. Lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Devon Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing