We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for are honeymoon and it could not have been better the room was perfect We were meet at the door by John, after getting it to the room we were given a bottle of champagne which was lovely surprise and with little touches like dvd's to watch and homemade cookies and brownies. And than of course they serve the worlds best breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 476 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

These lovely people look after you like you are family. They are really wonderful hosts. John met us at the door, insisted on carrying our bags and even gave us a lift to our evening restaurant. The rooms are beautifully furnished and every possible convenience is ready and waiting for you. The bathroom was immaculate. The breakfast was an extensive spread of fresh fruit and a wide choice of cooked breakfasts and specialities. I wish we lived here! Thank you Chris and John.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pathfinder_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Another fantastic stay at Bed and Breakfast by the Beach. The weather was wild and windy but this sure is a homely cosy place to stay in Winter (I would say base but it's more than that). It was a struggle to get out of bed though as It was so comfortable
Keep up with the hard work John and Chris and thanks for the little touches that get better every time.
Andrew and Gary :-)

Room Tip: They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apwoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is an immaculate Bed and Breakfast and Chris and John are a great team who were welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived. The decor of the house is clean and fresh and room 2 was quiet and beautifully decorated. The little extra touches provided in the room such as bottled water, snacks and new magazines were an unexpected bonus.

The location is perfect for Southbourne Beach and the nearby shops and restaurants. The breakfast was memorable with quality ingredients, choices to suit everyone with lovely presentation and the added pleasure of watching the wildlife feeding in the garden. Chris's waffles just melt in the mouth and are the best I have ever had!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lettyharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hello Chris and John,have just been looking at the reviews on your website and noticed by your comments that you have won an award from Trip Advisor for being the 11 Th best B&B in the country.We are not at all surprised as you both thoroughly deserve that accolade , Congratulations ..
Well done.....
Hope to see you in the spring / summer of this year
Best regards
Pam & Allan Graham

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is my place to stay whenever I visit Bournemouth. Lovely accommodation, great hosts who make even a single traveller feel comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble. Everything you could want for breakfast all prepared fresh by Chris. I have now stayed in three of the rooms all delightful, plenty of 'extras' and always fresh flowers. A 5 star B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a great standard, quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank angelcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Chris and John, the owners, are cheerful and attentive hosts. The breakfasts have been mentioned previously, but they are worth mentioning again! The quality and range of food was excellent. We stayed in Room 2 which was very quiet, and although there were other guests we weren't disturbed at all. The quality of the bed, bedding and towels is top class, and the little
'extras' in the bedroom, such as biscuits and chocolates are very thoughtful touches. Robes are provided. There is a fridge on the landing for the guests to use. The furniture and carpets in our bedroom appeared to be new and the bathroom was very modern and clean. The only thing that I could criticize is the variable water temperature in the electric shower. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHarrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Owner at Bed & Breakfast by the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hello Glenys
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us. I am sorry the builders were here during your stay but all finished now and looking great !!! John has now put instructions on the dial of the shower to help other guests. We hope you have a safe journey home to South Africa, and hope to see you on your next visit to the outlaws!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
952 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 131 in Bournemouth
428 reviews
2.6 mi away
Derby Manor Boutique Guesthouse
Derby Manor Boutique Guesthouse
#5 of 131 in Bournemouth
514 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 131 in Bournemouth
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $95 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. Voted by Tripadvisor reviewers as 5th best B & B / Inn 2016 UK & 13th best in the world 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast by the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing