We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is my place to stay whenever I visit Bournemouth. Lovely accommodation, great hosts who make even a single traveller feel comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble. Everything you could want for breakfast all prepared fresh by Chris. I have now stayed in three of the rooms all delightful, plenty of 'extras' and always fresh flowers. A 5 star B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a great standard, quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank angelcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 459 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Chris and John, the owners, are cheerful and attentive hosts. The breakfasts have been mentioned previously, but they are worth mentioning again! The quality and range of food was excellent. We stayed in Room 2 which was very quiet, and although there were other guests we weren't disturbed at all. The quality of the bed, bedding and towels is top class, and the little
'extras' in the bedroom, such as biscuits and chocolates are very thoughtful touches. Robes are provided. There is a fridge on the landing for the guests to use. The furniture and carpets in our bedroom appeared to be new and the bathroom was very modern and clean. The only thing that I could criticize is the variable water temperature in the electric shower. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHarrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Owner at Bed & Breakfast by the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hello Glenys
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us. I am sorry the builders were here during your stay but all finished now and looking great !!! John has now put instructions on the dial of the shower to help other guests. We hope you have a safe journey home to South Africa, and hope to see you on your next visit to the outlaws!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have stayed at quite a few hotels and B&B's in Bournemouth over the last few years and while Bed & Breakfast By The Beach has come up in our goggle searches before we had never taken the plunge until December this year. I'm so glad we did. Our hosts were so wonderful and accommodating, the accommodation was clean and comfortable. Chris and John were a delight and so was their B&B. Definately our first choice when staying in Bournemouth. Thank you for going the extra mile for us. I trust and pray that your B&B will go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Owner at Bed & Breakfast by the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

We are glad you arrived home safely after your long journey back to South Africa. It was really great to meet you both and have you here for two weeks over Christmas. Sorry our British weather was sooo terrible !!!!. Thank you for taking the time in your very busy lives to write such a good review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent B&B, good food and welcoming hosts. Very clean and comfortable. We have stayed a couple of times and must say that we would have stayed more often if it were not for the fact it was fully booked and on some occasions we wanted to book only one night and there is a two night minimum stay

Room Tip: Book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Top of our lists whilst staying in a B&B are cleanliness, an en-suite bathroom and a good bed, and a breakfast to remember. This establishment never fails on any level. It is clean to such an extent that one feels as if they are the first ever occupant in the room. The high quality of the breakfast ingredients is very apparent, with a variety to satisfy the most fussy of eaters. There is even delicious home-made bread, yogurt and smoothies.
Home furnishing can be a matter of personal taste, but John and Christine have created a contemporary haven that certainly appeals to us. Everything has been so well considered. The extra touches are much appreciated, and the daily bakes are another special treat, left in your room.
Having experienced many rooms that don't 'work' for the traveller, it is a joy to experience this home-from-home.
This is a happy and welcoming, clean and comfortable house, and we consider ourselves fortunate to have stayed on a number of occasions. We have not found anywhere that is better than B&B by the Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

When we stay in a B & B we want a friendly welcome, a comfortable bed, a relaxing and quiet room, hot water, good lighting, a delicious breakfast and service with a smile. Chris and John provided us with all of these and much much more. They made us feel so welcome and within minutes of arriving, we were relaxing in their lovely home. At present, I need to follow a gluten and dairy free diet so I was thrilled to discover a gluten and dairy free cake had been placed in our room plus special milk in the fridge. The breakfast, which is one of the best I've ever seen in any Bed and Breakfast, is served in their beautiful conservatory. For me, however, it was extra special as for the very first time, I was able to truly enjoy a breakfast away from home. Not only were fruit smoothies available plus delicious RIPE fruit, Chris had cooked a wonderful gluten free loaf of bread for me and provided me with scrambled egg which I could actually eat. In fact, I probably ate far too much breakfast as it was so delicious. You cannot fault Bed and Breakfast by the Beach and we do say a huge thank you to Chris and John for their wonderful hospitality and care. This is a very special place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funchaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

All the praise given to this B&B is well deserved. We stayed 3 nights and could easily have stayed longer. Chris and John work really hard to make it a first class experience. They are friendly and cheerful without being intrusive which is a very hard balance to achieve. The room was very comfortable and there was a daily treat to look forward to on our return. The breakfast was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. I hope we can return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $99 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. Voted by Tripadvisor reviewers as 5th best B & B / Inn 2016 UK & 13th best in the world 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast by the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing