We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We are used to Five Star Hotels with first class service and attention to detail and Chris and John at Bed and Breakfast by the Beach supply just that. The rooms are delightful and spotlessly clean with everything you may need supplied. In fact I have always travelled with my own toiletries etc but here there really is no need as everything Chris and John supply is top quality. The beds and pillows are so comfortable that I asked what they were so that I can purchase the same for our home.
For us the breakfast is "a dream" as there is an array of fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast and lots of other speciality delights that just set you up for the day. We came away from our few days stay feeling throughly spoilt and how gorgeous is that? Our 14 year old thinks it is better than the Marriotts as there is hot chocolate in the room!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
244
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband recently returned from a 3 night stay at Bed and Breakfast by the Sea. Wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Their attention to detail is amazing. Everything you need is catered for. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast choice is excellent. We also ate at L'Assiette, located a few minutes away - great atmosphere and very good food. Would highly recommend this 1st class B&B and should we visit Dorset again, we would not hesitate to contact John and Chris

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed at this B&B 3 times now as love to visit Southbourne and surrounding areas. Fab bus service close by and a few minutes walk to beach area. Modern interior and well thought out rooms with everything you need - coffee/tea and other beverages, TV, plenty of drawer/cupboard space - comfy beds - good ensuite. Very clean and comfortable. Most of all owners John & Chris - lovely warm friendly owners who really care that you have a great stay. We have never experienced any problems but last time our shower was not working properly - advised them - next day they sorted it out and was perfect afterwards. Breakfasts wonderful - everything from fresh fruit, cereals, danish etc - then to top it off a fresh cooked breakfast - hardly need to eat for the rest of the day. Excellent value for money - going again December.

Room Tip: 4 rooms - all different - appropriate for number of people staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

John and Chris make you feel very welcome when you arrive. Excellent hospitality and plenty to choose from for Breakfast. Rooms are very clean and the beds very comfortable. The location of this B&B is 3 minutes walk from Southbourne beach. Bournemouth is only a bus ride away and the bus stop is at the end of their road. Definitely stay there again, in fact, I have another weekend booked in December to go Christmas shopping with the girls. If you looking for a weekend away, try this place. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a short stay having booked after reading their wonderful reviews and in a nutshell we can't see how anyone could rate this lovely B&B anything less than Excellent. Over the last 5 years we've enjoyed the hospitality of many upmarket B&B's spread around the country and Bed & Breakfast by the Beach has to up there at the very top. Their genuine warmth, hospitality and professionalism combined with an eye for detail, wonderful decor and the cleanest of clean finished-off with the heartiest of breakfasts in wonderful surroundings make for something that really has to be experienced to be believed.

Having enjoyed this wonderful place so much we now wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when visiting Bournemouth or the surrounding areas and plan to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 which has a Kingsize Bed and shower but we also managed to view a couple of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarlat
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent a night at this B&B in bedroom 2. We had an excellent sleep in a comfortable King size bed. The room was well fitted and with views onto the patio/garden. There were some sea glimpses. The comprehensive breakfast was wonderful with a selection to satisfy either vegetarians or those of a carniverous variety with a hearty English breakfast.

We have our own B&B (Les Trois Jardins in Dordogne) and can appreciate the service and standard of accommodation that has been achieved. It is probably the best B&B that we have stayed at in the UK.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are comfortable but bedroom 2 would suit a couple with a southerly aspect and sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephineM932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our first visit to this highly recommended B&B more than lived up to its excellent reputation, in which we totally agreed we will definitely come back again. Chris & John are very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, they made us so welcome. Our rooms were very modern, tastefully decorated and so clean. Breakfast was fabulous, with a different flavoured fruit smoothie each morning and excellent choice of cold and hot items for breakfast - definitely filled us up for the day. The extra touches were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine G, Owner at Bed & Breakfast by the Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for all your comments and taking the time to write them. It was so lovely to meet you and all your family. We look forward to seeing you all again one day. You are an inspiration and we hope all goes well X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
3.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
4.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Property: Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Channel 4 'Four in a bed,' We are superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing