We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Ranked #1 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely stay at this very special B & B in Bournemouth.My daughter and I spent 3 days enjoying every aspect of all John & Chris's hospitality, we both feel it will now be our annual event to look forward to.Our room was immaculate and welcoming, the breakfasts were outstanding, we cannot wait to go back. We spent two restful days at Boscombe Pier beach, we hired the Beach Hut linked to John & Chris's web site, it really was a splendid addition to our holiday, great fun and a real change from sitting on the beach with a towel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJV186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 452 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our stay at the Bed&Breakfast by the beach was fantastic. From our arrival to our departure we were made to feel very welcome there. The rooms were luxurious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely divine, offering us with a selection of fruit, juices and cereals from the starter buffet table and freshly made smoothies... leading us up to the mains which included, smoked salmon, full english,eggs benedict and homemade waffles! Located in a lovely area and close to the beach. Nothing was to much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed it,we shall be back again. Thankyou Chris and John. The Dening's.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My first stay with Chris and John in 2011 made me anticipate my 2012 trip to the Bournemouth area even more that last time! I knew I would be safe, happy and welcome! Wonderful hosts, they go out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are immaculate with every amenity. The dining conservatory and garden area is stunningly beautiful and the food - made to order and delicious! Shops, restaurants and the beach are within walking distance. The only negative comment is that our stay ended much too soon! See you next summer, Chris and John!
Nickie Olivier
Florida, USA

Room Tip: Each room has a charm of it's own, but all are perfect for the weary traveler.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a fab treat it was - discounting the bias of being the owners brother I really do rate the B and B - the rooms are a joy and have all good hotel facilities, the new breakfast room works and the cooked breakfast was a joy - thanks John and Chris

Room Tip: I've seen all the rooms and they are all of a great standard
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoff e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We don't normally write reviews but couldn't let our experience at this B & B pass without doing so. From the point of arrival to the point of departure this place oozed warmth and friendliness. John and Chris are the perfect hosts and their passion for what they do reflects in every inch of their beautiful establishment. There was literally nothing to fault. And to round off a perfect, peaceful night's sleep John and Chris served the most superb breakfast in their beautiful conservatory overlooking the garden including freshly made smoothies!

This B & B is amazing, it's like a boutique hotel but so much more personal. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Yet another great family visit to Chris & John's perfect B&B and such a warm welcome. We loved the beautiful new conservatory where we enjoyed our delicious breakfasts, so much fresh fruit, freshly made smoothies, etc and as much coffee and toast you could want. Thank you both for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked here to stay in June/July mainly from watching the tv series 4 in a bed and also the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by both John and Chris and found them really pleasant, friendly and helpful.

Our room was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, very comfortable bed and slept really well, plenty of tea, coffee, and biscuits with fresh milk in the shared fridge which you could also keep any food and drinks of your own. Spacious bathroom with plenty of soft luxury towels and numerous toiletries.

The lovely sandy beach is only a few minutes walk away and enjoyed relaxing taking in the view

Breakfasts were the best we have had anywhere and were served in delightful surroundings of the conservatory.During our stay we had delicious smoothies, fruit juice, fresh fruit, cereals, eggs benedict, full english, omelettes, home made preserves which were all fantastic. After such a delicious breakfast we didn't need anything at lunch time

We tried to book the local L'assiette restaurant which was recommended by Chris and John but was fully booked during our stay. However a 5 minute drive into Christchurch had an abundance of pubs, restaurants and a delightful harbour. John even offered us a lift to Christchurch which was really nice but we drove ourselves. Our favourite meal was at the Jetty restaurant which is part of the Christchurch Harbour Hotel at Mudeford. Best to book well in advance as we could only get a table on Sunday evening. Food was fantastic, very friendly staff and all tables had a harbour view

Chris and John are wonderful hosts and would recommend Bed and Breakfast by the Beach to anyone, we have already told friends who say they would like to visit. We will be going back as soon as we can

Thanks for making our stay grrrreat - David and Josie

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2thumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was lovely to met you and really hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.8 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,036 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,969 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
3.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Address: 7 Burtley Road | Burtley Manor, Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $105 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. Voted by Tripadvisor reviewers as 5th best B & B / Inn 2016 UK & 13th best in the world 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing